How IOP strengthens the interoperability of US military robots

Remotec, Northrop Grumman’s robotics subsidiary, has just unveiled a new robot for the security market, the Nomad. The UGV, which appears to be responsible for various missions in the U. S. military and various government agencies, including mine clearance. In addition to the impressive moving capabilities of this robotic platform, this robot stands out for its compatibility with the UGV Interoperability Profile (UGV IOP), a true standard of interoperability of American military robots.

With 74 kg on the scale, 90 cm in length, 58 cm wide and a load capacity of 15 kg on slopes up to 60°, the newest member of Remotec’s Andros robotics range seems to be relatively conventional, but its manufacturer, the robotics subsidiary of the military-industrial giant Northrop Grumman, has to prove its versatility. By displaying its compatibility with the IOP (Interoperability Profile), Nomad users will be able to exchange the robot’s payload and sensors for other missions.

IOP standardizes the U. S. Army UGV payload interfaces,
here on a Roboteam Probot.


Launched in early 2010, the IOP standardises the robot’s hardware interfaces in order to be able to change the payload, it also standardises data exchanges between the robot software and the payload, between the platform and the robot arm it is equipped with, for example. Over the years a version 2 of IOP has been released and a version 3 should follow and the main suppliers of mine-clearing robots such as Remotec but also RE2 Robotics (spin-off of iRobot) and Endeavor Robotics have joined, as well as the designers of transport robots such as Roboteam and its Probot.

Translation : Deepl.com/translator

Sources:

“Army Awards Unmanned Ground Robot Contract”, National Defense, 19 October 2017

“Company’s mid-sized Interoperability Profile-compliant unmanned ground vehicle offers affordability and versatility with extraordinary mobility”, Northrop-Grumman press release, 25 September 2017

“Military Robots Use Interoperability Profile for Mobile Arms”, Robotic Business Review, 14 July 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment IOP renforce l’interopérabilité des robots de l’armée US

Remotec, filiale robotique de Northrop Grumman, vient de dévoiler un nouveau robot destiné au marché de la sécurité, le Nomad. Cet UGV qui semble devra assurer diverses missions dans les rangs de l’armée américaines et diverses agences gouvernementales, notamment le déminage. Outre les capacités de déplacement impressionnantes de cette plateforme robotique, ce robot se distingue par sa compatibilité avec l’UGV Interoperability Profile (UGV IOP), un véritable standard d’interopérabilité des robots militaires américains.

Avec 74 kg sur la balance, 90 cm de longueur, 58 cm de large et une capacité de charge de  15 kg sur des pentes qui peuvent atteindre jusqu’à 60°, le nouveau membre de la gamme robotique Andros de Remotec semble relativement conventionnel, il faut pourtant preuve d’une grande polyvalence si on en croit son constructeur, la filiale robotique du géant militaro-industriel Northrop Grumman. En effet, en affichant sa compatibilité avec l’IOP (Interoperability Profile), les utilisateur du Nomad auront la capacité d’échanger la charge utile et les capteurs du robot afin de lui faire effectuer d’autres missions.

IOP standardise les interface des charges utiles
des UGV de l’armée américaine,
ici sur un Probot de Roboteam.

Lancé dès le début des années 2010, le IOP standardise les interfaces matérielles du robot afin de pouvoir changer la charge utile, il standardise aussi les échanges de données entre le logiciel du robot et la charge utile, entre la plateforme et le bras robot dont elle est équipée, par exemple. Au fil des années une version 2 d’IOP a été publiée et une version 3 devrait suivre et les principaux fournisseurs de robots de déminage comme Remotec mais aussi RE2 Robotics (spin-off d’iRobot) et Endeavor Robotics s’y sont rallié, de même que les concepteurs de robots de transport comme Roboteam et son Probot.

Sources :

« Army Awards Unmanned Ground Robot Contract », National Defense, 19 octobre 2017

« Company’s mid-sized Interoperability Profile-compliant unmanned ground vehicle offers affordability and versatility with extraordinary mobility », Communiqué de presse Northrop-Grumman, 25 septembre 2017

« Military Robots Use Interoperability Profile for Mobile Arms », Robotic Business Review, 14 juillet 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.