Digital Innovations in cars: Drivers not convinced!

Concept-carCar manufacturers, or rather their marketing divisions builders are they doing wrong? While all vying for increasingly sophisticated options such as connected services, the audience at the parking lot, head-up display and future autonomous driving, electronics and computer reigns supreme in modern cars. Attractive to purchases, these options are yet little used by drivers as revealed in the JD Power Drive 2015 survey.

16 of 33 innovative features are never used by 20% of drivers

Price prohibitive options, plummeting reliability, electronics vaunted by the manufacturers and the geeks that we are not necessarily good news for drivers. The survey conducted by JD Power from 4200 American owners of a vehicle less than 90 days shows that innovations developed with billions of dollars by the manufacturers and their equipment suppliers are not always well received by motorists.
Mercedes Park AssistOf the 33 innovations mentioned in the study, 20% of owners of new vehicles have never used 16 of them. The least popular is the concierge function, completely unused by 43% of buyers. Then comes the mobile router function never used by 38% of them, the automatic parking system by 35%, the HUD 33% and finally embedded applications by 32%. Worse, 20% of 4,200 buyers even reject 14 of the 33 technologies offered by manufacturers. They refuse to have both Apple and Google Android carplay Auto in their next car as well as a concierge service or even SMS dictation. The study showed that if a driver does not adopt an innovative feature within 30 days of purchase, it never will. Nobody reads from cars operating instructions and analysts JD Power estimates that the role of the dealer is the key in the adoption of the new features of the vehicle. It is the dealer to explain their operation to the buyer or risk seeing them hopelessly behind by the driver.

As for autonomous driving, it still potentially interested that 21% of drivers in 2013. A share which increased to 24% in 2014 probably under the influence of the media buzz created by Google.

 

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“New car technologies often unused by drivers, J.D. Power finds”, Automotive News, August 25, 2015

“Automakers Spending Billions on Technologies That Many Consumers Don’t Use”, Communiqué JD Power, August 25, 2015

“Study Says Minority of Drivers Want Autonomous Cars”, Communiqué JD Power, November 13, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Innovations digitales dans les voitures : Les automobilistes pas convaincus !

Concept-carLes constructeurs automobiles, ou plutôt leurs divisions marketing des constructeurs font-ils fausse route ? Alors que tous rivalisent d’options toujours plus sophistiquées comme les services connectés, les assistances au parking, affichage tête haute et prochainement la conduite autonome, l’électronique et l’informatique règne en maître dans les voitures modernes. Séduisantes à l’achats, ces options sont pourtant bien peu utilisées par les conducteurs comme le révèle l’enquête DrIVE 2015 de J.D. Power.

16 fonctions innovantes sur 33 ne sont jamais utilisées par 20% des conducteurs

Prix des options prohibitifs, fiabilité en chute libre, l’électronique tant vantée par les constructeurs et les geeks que nous sommes n’a pas forcement bonne presse chez les conducteurs. L’enquête menée par J.D. Power auprès de 4.200 propriétaires américains d’un véhicule de moins de 90 jours montre que les innovations développées à coup de milliards de dollars par les constructeurs et leurs équipementiers ne sont pas toujours bien accueillies par les automobilistes.

Mercedes Park AssistSur les 33 innovations évoquées dans l’étude, 20% des possesseurs de nouveaux véhicules n’en ont jamais utilisé 16 d’entres elles. La moins populaire est la fonction conciergerie, totalement inutilisée par 43% des acheteurs. Vient ensuite la fonction de routeur mobile jamais utilisée par 38% d’entre eux, le système de parking automatique par 35%, l’affichage tête haute par 33% et enfin les applications embarquées par 32%. Pire, 20% des 4.200 acheteurs rejettent même 14 des 33 technologies proposées par les constructeurs.  Ceux-ci refuseront tant d’avoir Apple CarPlay et Google Android Auto dans leur prochaine voiture de même qu’un service de conciergerie ou même de dictée de SMS. L’étude a fait apparaître que si un conducteur n’adopte pas une fonction innovante dans les 30 jours après son achat,il ne le fera jamais. Personne ne lit les notices d’utilisation des voitures et les analystes de J.D. Power estime que le rôle des concessionnaire est la clé dans l’adoption des fonctions nouvelles des véhicule. C’est au concessionnaire d’expliquer à l’acheteur leur fonctionnement sous peine de voir celles-ci irrémédiablement délaissées par le conducteur.

Quant à la conduire autonome, elle n’intéressait encore potentiellement que 21% des conducteurs en 2013. Une part qui est passée à 24% en 2014 sans doute sous l’influence du buzz médiatique créé par Google.

 

Sources :

« New car technologies often unused by drivers, J.D. Power finds », Automotive News, 25 août 2015

« Automakers Spending Billions on Technologies That Many Consumers Don’t Use », Communiqué JD Power, 25 août 2015

« Study Says Minority of Drivers Want Autonomous Cars », Communiqué JD Power, 13 novembre 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.