Jeff Bezos vs Elon Musk, clash of the titans

Jeff Bezos - Blue OriginOn November 23, Blue Origin has undoubtedly succeeded a historic flight. The New Shepard rocket designed by the American startup took off at 11:21 a.m. from its Texas base, to launched launched his capsule beyond the 100 km altitude before returning to land vertically on its launch base. A real success for Jeff Bezos, founder of Blue Origin.

Blue Origin has succeeded where SpaceX has always failed, which resulted in some bitter tweets on the part of Elon Musk.

Blue Origin broke SpaceX in a reusable rocket

The official release from Blue Origin is somewhat bombastic: “Rockets have always been expendable. “Not anymore.” Nevertheless, the success of Blue Origin is real: its New Shepard rocket actually returned to port. Jezz Bezos actually beat Elon Musk which the Grasshopper rocket succeeded chip breaks but two attempts to return from space on a barge resulted in crashes.

Blue Origin New Shepard launch.

Monday, November 23, 2015, 11 h 21: the New Shepard of Blue Origin rocket lifts off.

Well obviously Blue Origin is a dwarf compared with SpaceX, which is already an actor’s weight on the market for satellite launches, however the symbol is there and Elon Musk was stung to the quick by the success of the New Shepard.

After a congratulatory tweet, the founder of SpaceX was able to hide a certain despite. A minute later, Elon Musk noted there is a difference between reaching space and place a load in orbit, that the Blue Origin rocket failed during this flight. It then adds in a third tweet that, to put a load in orbit, it is not Mach 3 to reach (Blue Origin has reached Mach 3.72 during this flight), but Mach 30…

Blue Origin New Shepard posée

Blue Origin New Shepard after his flight on 23 November.

No doubt after having digested the news, a few hours later Elon Musk published a new tweet much funnier. The founder of SpaceX pointed out, video in support, SpaceX achieves returns on Earth since 2013 or rather returns… in the water!

In a latest tweet Elon Musk again showed the hooks by recalling that the first devices to have reached space and to have been able to return to Earth and landing their own means were the mythical space plane X-15 which flew in the 1950s and the SpaceShipOne created by Burt Rutan in the early 2000s. One final note rather acerbic and a bad faith quite jubilant as to be able to take off the X – 15 was in need of a Boeing B – 52 and the same way, Burt Rutan had the draw a carrier Jet, the “White Knight”, in order to launch its space plane.

Jeff Bezos celebrates the first return managed Blue Origin rocket.

Jeff Bezos celebrates the first return managed Blue Origin rocket.

Although may say Blue Origin competitors, the video of the return of the Blue Origin on Earth is impressive. The rocket descends quickly controlled with small aerodynamic panels at the top of the rocket. The vertical rate is particularly high so the crash seems inevitable until the moment when the single BE-3 rocket enters into action. Seconds before a likely impact, its 50 tonnes of thrust are able to slow the rocket to a vertical speed less than 8 km/h, sufficient to make the rocket legs absorb the contact with the ground. Jeff Bezos can celebrate his victory although says Elon Musk!

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Historic Rocket Landing”, Blue Origin release, November 24, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Jeff Bezos contre Elon Musk, le choc des titans

Jeff Bezos - Blue OriginLe 23 novembre dernier, Blue Origin a incontestablement réussi un vol historique. La fusée New Shepard conçue par la startup américaine a décollé à 11h21 du matin de sa base texane, à lancé lancé sa capsule au-delà des 100 km d’altitude avant de revenir se poser verticalement sur sa base de lancement. Un vrai succès pour Jeff Bezos, fondateur de Blue Origin.

Blue Origin a réussi là où SpaceX a toujours échoué, ce qui a provoqué quelques tweets acerbes de la part d’Elon Musk.

Blue Origin a battu SpaceX dans la mise au point d’une fusée réutilisable

Le communiqué officiel de Blue Origin est quelque peu grandiloquent : « Rockets have always been expendable. Not anymore. » Néanmoins, le succès de Blue Origin est bien réel : Sa fusée New Shepard est effectivement revenu à bon port. Jezz Bezos a bel et bien battu Elon Musk dont la fusée Grasshopper a certes réussi des sauts de puce mais dont les deux tentatives de retour de l’espace sur une barge se sont soldées par des crashs.

Lancement de la fusée Blue Origin New Shepard.

Lundi 23 novembre 2015, 11h21 : la fusée New Shepard de Blue Origin décolle.

Si on compare les projets spatiaux de Jeff Bezos et d’Elon Musk, Blue Origin reste un nain par rapport à SpaceX qui est déjà un acteur de poids sur le marché des lancements de satellites, néanmoins le symbole est là et Elon Musk a été piqué au vif par la réussite de la New Shepard.

Après un tweet de félicitation, le fondateur de SpaceX n’a pu cacher un certain dépit. Une minute plus tard, Elon Musk soulignait qu’il existe une différence entre atteindre l’espace et placer une charge en orbite, ce que la fusée Blue Origin n’a pas fait lors de ce vol. Il ajoute alors dans un troisième tweet que, pour placer une charge en orbite, ce n’est pas Mach 3 qu’il faut atteindre (Blue Origin a atteint Mach 3,72 lors de ce vol), mais Mach 30…

Blue Origin New Shepard posée

Blue Origin New Shepard posée après son vol du 23 novembre.

Sans doute après avoir digéré la nouvelle, quelques heures plus tard Elon Musk publiait un nouveau tweet beaucoup plus drôle. Le fondateur de SpaceX soulignait, vidéo à l’appui, que SpaceX réalise des retours sur terre depuis 2013 ou plutôt des retours… dans l’eau !

Dans un dernier tweet Elon Musk montrait à nouveau les crocs en rappelant que les premiers appareils à avoir atteint l’espace et à avoir pu revenir sur terre et se poser de leurs propres moyens ont été le mythique avion spatial X-15 qui vola dans les années 50 et le SpaceShipOne créé par Burt Rutan au début des années 2000. Une remarque finale plutôt acerbe et d’une mauvaise foi assez jubilatoire puisque pour pouvoir décoller le X-15 avait besoin d’un Boeing B-52 et que, de la même façon, Burt Rutan avait du dessiner un biréacteur porteur, le « White Knight », afin de lancer son avion spatial.

Jezz Bezos célèbre le premier retour réussi de la fusée de Blue Origin.

Jeff Bezos célèbre le premier retour réussi de la fusée de Blue Origin.

Quoiqu’en disent les concurrents de Blue Origin, la vidéo du retour de la Blue Origin sur terre est impressionnante. La fusée redescend rapidement, contrôlée avec les petits panneaux aérodynamiques en haut de la fusée. La vitesse verticale est particulièrement élevée si bien que le crash semble inéluctable jusqu’au moment où l’unique fusée BE-3 entre en action. Quelques secondes avant un impact plus que probable, ses 50 tonnes de poussée parviennent à ralentir la fusée à une vitesse verticale inférieure à 8 km/h, suffisante pour que les pattes de la fusée absorbent le contact avec le sol. Jeff Bezos peut fêter sa victoire quoiqu’en dise Elon Musk !

Source : « Historic Rocket Landing », communiqué Blue Origin, 24 novembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.