Hubo, the Korean robot wins the DARPA Robotics Challenge

KAIST-Hubo-RobotSurprise! This is not an American or a Japanese robot robot that won the DARPA Robotics Challenge. The humanoid “Hubo” the KAIST team (Higher Institute of the South Korean Science and Technology) has passed the 8 events of what has been the biggest challenge ever robotics organized internationally. He was faster than the robot IHMC (Institute of Human and Machine Cognition) of Pensacola and the very odd CHIMP Carnegie Mellon University.

Atlas robots beaten by faster than them

IHMC-chute

The Atlas robot IHMC finishes in second position despite some spectacular falls …

Armada of Atlas robots Atlas Boston Dynamics has been struck down by the frail “Hubo”, a robot “all electric” designed in South Korea which measures 1 m 80 and still weighs 80 kg. This has made the rounds of the 8 challenge DARPA in 44 minutes 28 seconds, 50 minutes 26 seconds against the robot to the IHMC, one of Atlas designed and made by Boston Robotics (Google) engaged in competition then the CHIMP. The KAIST team leaves with the premium of $ 2 million, with the IHMC 1 million and finally the Tartan Rescue Team (Carnegie Mellon) with $ 500,000 for third place. Evidence of the complexity of the tests, only these three robots have passed the 8 events. 4 teams are divided Pomona without having passed any test.
No less than seven teams had the choice of Atlas robot developed by Boston Dynamimcs proposed by the organizers of the Challenge. The Atlas team of the IHMC was the only one to pass the 8 events, the MIT finishing in 6th place after failing one of the tests. In contrast, Atlas HKU team finished in last place. His robot could successfully absolutely no proof and he ullustré by a magnificent waterfall from the first test. The MIT team, undoubtedly one of the favorites of the race, was not spared with a fall during the obstacle course and a beautiful figure on the stairs of the last event.

Robot-Tartan-Rescue

TheE CHIMP (CMU Highly Intelligent Mobile Platform) Tartan Rescue Team (Carnegie Mellon University) is one of the few non-humanoid robots engaged in the competition. He finished in third place.

Finally, note that the first European team, the German team Tema Momaro of the University of Bonn got a fourth place after a busy time the top spot at the first day. It was one of the few non-humanoid robots have been engaged in the competition. The nature of the tests, very “human” like driving a car, climbing stairs or opening a door explains that. The German team may have one regret, for if he missed a test on 8, it proved much faster than the winner, with a time of 34 minutes.

Translation : Google Translation

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Hubo, le robot coréen, remporte le Darpa Robotics Challenge

KAIST-Hubo-RobotSurprise! Ce n’est ni un robot américain ni un robot japonais qui a emporté le Darpa Robotics Challenge. L’humanoïde « Hubo » de l’équipe du KAIST (L’Institut supérieur des sciences et technologies de Corée du Sud) a réussi les 8 épreuves de ce qui a été le plus grand challenge robotique jamais organisé au niveau international. Il s’est montré plus rapide que le robot de l’IHMC (Institute of Human and Machine Cognition) de Pensacola et que le très bizarre CHIMP de l’université Carnegie Mellon.

Les robots Atlas battus par plus rapide qu’eux

IHMC-chute

Le robot Atlas de l’IHMC finit en seconde position en dépit de quelques chutes spectaculaires…

L’armada des robots Atlas de Boston Dynamics a donc été terrassée par le frêle « Hubo », un robot « tout électrique » conçu en Corée du Sud qui mesure 1 m 80 et pèse tout de même 80 kg. Celui-ci a réalisé les 8 épreuves du challenge de la DARPA en 44 mn 28 secondes, contre 50 mn 26 secondes pour le robot de l’IHMC, l’un des Atlas conçus et réalisés par Boston Robotics (Google) engagé dans la compétition, puis le CHIMP. L’équipe du KAIST repart avec la prime de 2 millions de dollars, l’IHMC avec 1 million de dollars et enfin la Rescue Tartan Team (Carnegie Mellon) avec les 500.000 $ de la troisième place. Preuve de la complexité des épreuves, seuls ces trois robots ont réussi les 8 épreuves. 4 équipes sont reparties de Pomona sans avoir réussi la moindre épreuve.
Pas moins de 7 équipes avaient fait le choix du robot Atlas, développé par Boston Dynamimcs proposé par les organisateurs du Challenge. L’Atlas de l’équipe de l’IHMC a été le seul a réussir les 8 épreuves, celui du MIT finissant à la 6ième place après avoir échoué à l’une des épreuves. A l’opposé, l’Atlas de l’équipe HKU a fini à la dernière place. Son robot n’a pu réussir absoluement aucune épreuve et il s’est ullustré par une magnifique chute dès la première épreuve. L’équipe du MIT, sans doute l’une de des favorites de l’épreuve, n’a pas épargnée avec une chute lors du parcours d’obstacle et une belle figure dans les escaliers de la dernière épreuve.

Robot-Tartan-Rescue

Le CHIMP (CMU Highly Intelligent Mobile Platform) de l’équipe Tartan Rescue (Université Carnegie Mellon) est l’un des rares robots non-humanoïdes engagés dans la compétition. Il finit en troisième place.

A noter enfin que la première équipe européenne, l’équipe allemande Tema Momaro de l’Université de Bonn a obtenu une belle quatrième place après avoir occupé un temps la tête du classement lors du première jour. C’était l’un des rares robots non humanoïde à avoir été engagé dans la compétition. La nature des épreuves, très « humaines »  comme la conduite d’une voiture, monter un escalier ou ouvrir une porte explique cela. L’équipe allemande peut avoir un regret, car s’il a raté une épreuve sur les 8, il s’est montré bien plus rapide que le gagnant, avec un temps de 34 mn.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.