Kodak to launch its Blockchain:”Blockchain washing” or genius move?

A desperate brand following the collapse of the film industry in the photo market, Kodak had become the symbol of the company unable to face the digitalization of the market, the symbol of the company used before the hour. Since then, the policy of licencing à tout va de ses dirigeants had enough to leave doubt on the durability of one of the most famous American brands. Eureka, they found an unstoppable way out, creating a blockshine. Kodak has partnered with WENN Digital to create a blockchain dedicated to photographic rights management, create the KodakCoin and launch an ICO in the process.

The immediate effect of a Blockchain announcement on a stock market price.

Will we ever call that”blockchain-washing”? For a brand, however, to evoke the block chain in a conference or press release, to integrate it into its strategy in one way or another, is synonymous with an instant boost to the stock market price. The announcements made by Kodak at the ESC are no exception to this rule, since the share price simply doubled as soon as the idea of creating a Kodakcoin was revealed.

In addition to the much sought-after announcement effect at the start of CES, the KodakOne platform makes much more sense than the mound of licensed Kodak products as seen on the American stand. When online, this platform will allow photographers to record their images in this dedicated blockblock. The platform will manage their rights (it’s the activity of WENN Media), a market place to sell these productions and will even crawl the Web to check that the images bought on KodakOne are not unduly replicated. To attract miners to its block chine and, as an accessory, launch its ICO, the platform will beat its currency, the KodakCoin. In a second stage, this cryptomoney will also be used as a means of payment for photographers.

Kodak wants to attract miners with a revenue sharing business model

Kodak Kashminer’s economic model is debatied on social networks.

To attract miners to this future blockchain, the founders of KodakOne thought of everything, even providing a rig (a specialized calculator) to mine the KodakCoin. Again, this is a licensing with a specialist manufacturer, Spotlite. The economic model proposed by kodak is debated because this rig is proposed at $3,400 and then on the basis of a 2-year revenue sharing of KodakCoin mined. With revenues estimated by Kodak at $375 per month, this amounts to $9,000 in total. Given the current craze for cryptomonnaies, Kodak should have no difficulty in finding thousands of miners to generate KodakCoint. It remains to convince photographers to get on board the blockchain train. See you on February 1,2018 for the launch of the service.

Sources:

“KODAK and WENN Digital Partner to Launch Major Blockchain Initiative and Cryptocurrency”, Press Release Kodak, 9 January 2018

“Eastman Kodak unveils cryptocurrency, stock doubles”, Reuters, 9 January 2018

“You can now rent a Kodak-branded bitcoin-mining rig – but you’ll have to hand over half of the profits you make”, BusinessInsider, 10 January 2018

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Kodak se lance dans la Blockchain : « Blockchain washing » ou idée de génie ?

Marque aux abois suite à l’effondrement de l’argentique sur le marché photo, Kodak était devenu le symbole de l’entreprise incapable de faire face à la digitalisation du marché, le symbole de l’entreprise uberisée avant l’heure. Depuis, la politique de licencing à tout va de ses dirigeants avait de quoi laisser planer le doute sur la pérennité de l’une des plus célèbres marques américaines. Eureka, ceux-ci ont trouvé une issue imparable, créer une blockchain. Kodak s’est allié avec WENN Digital pour créer une blockchain dédiée à la gestion des droits photographiques, créer le KodakCoin et lancer une ICO dans la foulée.

Le cours de Kodak double à l’annonce d’un KodakCoin

L’effet immédiat d’une annonce Blockchain sur un cours de bourse.

Appellera-t-on un jour cela du « blockchain-washing » ? Toujours est-il que pour une marque, évoquer la blockchain dans une conférence ou dans un communiqué de presse, l’intégrer d’une manière ou d’une autre à sa stratégie, est synonyme un coup de pouce instantané au cours de bourse. Les annonces réalisées par Kodak lors du CES ne dérogent pas à cette règle puisque le cours de l’action a tout simplement doublée dès que cette idée de création d’un Kodakcoin a été révélée.
Outre l’effet d’annonce pleinement recherché en ce début de CES, la plateforme KodakOne fait beaucoup plus de sens que le monceau de produits licencié Kodak tels qu’on peut en voir sur le stand de l’américain. Lorsqu’elle sera mise en ligne, cette plateforme permettra aux photographes d’enregistrer leurs images dans cette blockchain dédiée. La plateforme assurera une gestion de leurs droits (c’est l’activité de WENN Media), une place de marché pour vendre ces productions et ira même jusqu’à crawler le Web afin de vérifier que les images achetée sur KodakOne ne sont pas indûment répliquées. Pour attirer les mineurs sur sa blockchain et, accessoirement lancer son ICO, la plateforme va battre sa monnaie, le KodakCoin. Dans un deuxième temps, cette cryptomonnaie servira aussi de moyen de paiement pour les photographe.

Kodak veut attirer les mineurs avec un business model basé sur le partage de revenus

Le modèle économique du Kodak Kashminer fait débat sur les réseaux sociaux.

Pour attirer les mineurs sur cette future blockchain, les fondateurs de KodakOne ont pensé à tout, même fournir un rig, (un calculateur spécialisé) destiné à miner le KodakCoin. Là encore, il s’agit d’un licencing avec un constructeur spécialisé, Spotlite. Le modèle économique proposé par kodak fait débat car ce rig est proposé à 3.400 $ puis sur la base d’un partage de revenu des KodakCoin miné sur 2 ans. Avec des revenus estimé par Kodak à 375 $ par mois, cela représente 9,000 $ au total. Etant donné l’engouement actuel sur les cryptomonnaies, Kodak ne devrait pas avoir de mal à trouver des milliers de mineurs pour générer des KodakCoint. Reste à convaincre les photographes à monter dans le train de la blockchain. Rendez-vous le 1er février 2018 pour le lancement du service.

Sources :

« KODAK and WENN Digital Partner to Launch Major Blockchain Initiative and Cryptocurrency », Communiqué de presse Kodak, 9 janvier 2018

« Eastman Kodak unveils cryptocurrency, stock doubles », Reuters, 9 janvier 2018

« You can now rent a Kodak-branded bitcoin-mining rig — but you’ll have to hand over half of the profits you make », BusinessInsider, 10 janvier 2018

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Blockchain, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.