Fatal accident of Tesla: the autopilot mode on the spot

Tesla-AutopilotThe first fatal accident of a Tesla Model S in Autopilot mode triggered a hail of criticism on the system created by the constructor. Unlike many systems such as those created by Google or automotive suppliers, this system is essentially based on cameras and radar. The absence of laser sensor, the costly Lidar. The Autopilot is not infallible and researchers are even fun to lure it. The Tesla system is certainly still immature but, despite expectations of the public, the algorithms will not prevent all accidents.

The Tesla Model S sensors failed to detect the fatal obstacle

Tesla-autopilotThe absence of a LIDAR (an acronym for “laser detection and ranging” or laser sensor) on the Tesla Model S is responsible for the death of Joshua Brown? It is the assumption made by many experts who point out that the sensors available to the rugged Model S could not detect the trailer of the truck that crossed its path. It, too high to be detected by radar, could be spotted by the front camera of the car due to a strong backlight, so the car continued its path, causing its occupant in death.

In these circumstances, a LIDAR would have definitely helped the car to identify the deadly obstacle and caused an avoidance manoeuvre or stop of the vehicle. By a macabre coincidence, a Tesla surmounted by a LIDAR was reported a few days later in Palo Alto, not far from the headquarters of Tesla Motors, evidence that the manufacturer was already working effectively on the installation of one or more LIDAR on its future cars.

This tragic accident would have also led Elon Musk to terminate its partnership with Mobieye, the company that provides image analysis algorithms that equips the current Tesla. A blow to the Israeli company, also partner of the french Valeo, and which was thus indirectly pointed to by the founder of Tesla Motors as responsible for the accident.

Interference of the sensors accidental or voluntary, a real risk

press01_autopilotIn addition to the limitations of each sensor, researchers from the universities of South Carolina and Zhejiang in China showed that it is relatively easy to lure a Tesla Model S sensors. Their study, unveiled at the Black Hat conference, dismounts with adequate facilities have can literally do appear in the eyes of a fictitious barriers Tesla on a road or even conceal real obstacles. Small pranksters can, with a laptop computer and $40 equipment induce automatic parking of the car in error and prevent it from Park at a location yet wide enough to accommodate the car. Worse, with more complex radio equipment it is possible to erase other vehicles on the road, with the consequences that we imagine. This interference of the sensors can potentially be used for other types of vehicles.

Elon Musk promises a total automation of vehicles in the short term

Level-of-driving-automation-NHTSATo counter these threats and avoid than an accident such as that known driver misfortune of the Tesla, manufacturers will have to multiply still different and complementary sensors: optical, laser, radar and ultrasonic. They will also be able to feed their algorithms with data generated by the infrastructure and other vehicles, but then still new problems will arise. With computer and mobile, the public is accustomed to the fast evolution of technology but with the autonomous cars it will take many years before industrialists hold the promise of a robot car where you can really do without a steering wheel. Experts estimate that fully autonomous cars will appear only in 2025. A roadmap that Elon Musk wants to shake up considering that the time of autonomous cars of level 4, it means completely robotic, nearby.

 
Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Elon Musk Hints That Tesla Updates Will Soon Lead To Level 4 Autonomy”, Futurism, August 7, 2016

“Hackers Fool Tesla S’s Autopilot to Hide and Spoof Obstacles”, Wired, Augsut 4, 2016

“Tesla Divorces Mobileye, or Vice Versa”, IEEESpectrum, July 26, 2016

“A Tesla Model S with Lidar spotted on the road around Palo Alto”, TechCrunch, July 7, 2016

“Tesla Autopilot Fatality Shows Why Lidar And V2V Will Be Necessary For Autonomous Cars”, Forbes, July 1st, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Accident mortel de Tesla : La conduite autonome sur la sellette

Tesla-AutopilotLe premier accident mortel d’une Tesla Model S en mode Autopilot a déclenché une pluie de critique sur le système de conduite créé par le constructeur. A l’opposé de nombreux systèmes tels que ceux créés par Google ou les équipementiers automobiles, ce système s’appuie essentiellement sur des caméras et des radars. L’absence de capteur laser, le coûteux Lidar. L’Autopilot n’est pas infaillible et des chercheurs se sont même amusés à le leurrer. Le système Tesla est certainement encore immature mais, en dépit des attentes du public, les algorithmes ne pourront éviter tous les accidents.

Les capteurs de la Tesla Model S n’ont pu détecter l’obstacle fatal

Tesla-autopilotL’absence d’un LIDAR (acronyme de « laser detection and ranging » ou capteur laser) sur la Tesla Model S est-elle à l’origine de la mort de Joshua Brown ? C’est l’hypothèse émise par de nombreux experts qui soulignent que les capteurs dont dispose la Model S accidentée n’ont pu détecter la remorque du camion qui croisait sa trajectoire. Celle-ci, trop haute pour être détectée par les radars, n’a pu être repérée par la caméra avant de la voiture à cause d’un fort contre-jour, si bien que la voiture a poursuivi son chemin, entraînant ainsi son occupant dans la mort.

Dans ces circonstances précises, un LIDAR aurait certainement permis à la voiture de repérer l’obstacle mortel et provoqué une manœuvre d’évitement ou l’arrêt du véhicule. Par un macabre hasard, une Tesla surmontée d’un LIDAR a été signalée quelques jours plus tard à Palo Alto, non loin du siège de Tesla Motors, preuve que le constructeur travaillait déjà effectivement sur l’installation d’un ou plusieurs LIDAR sur ses futures voitures.

Ce tragique accident aurait aussi conduit Elon Musk à mettre fin à son partenariat avec Mobieye, l’entreprise qui fournit les algorithmes d’analyse d’image qui équipe les Tesla actuelles. Un coup dur pour l’entreprise israélienne, par ailleurs partenaire du français Valeo, et qui se voit ainsi indirectement pointée par le fondateur de Tesla Motors comme responsable de l’accident.

Le brouillage des capteurs accidentel ou volontaire, un risque bien réel

press01_autopilotOutre les limites de chaque capteur, des chercheurs des universités de Caroline du Sud et de Zhejiang en Chine ont démontré qu’il est relativement facile de leurrer les capteurs d’une Tesla Model S. Leur étude, dévoilée lors de la conférence Black Hat, démonte qu’avec des équipements adéquats ont peut littéralement faire apparaître aux yeux d’une Tesla des obstacles fictifs sur une route ou même dissimuler de véritables obstacles. Des petits plaisantins peuvent, avec un ordinateur portable et 40 $ d’équipement induire le parking automatique de la voiture en erreur et l’empêcher de se garer à un emplacement pourtant suffisamment large pour accueillir la voiture. Pire, avec des équipements radios plus complexes il est possible d’effacer d’autres véhicules sur la route, avec les conséquences que l’on imagine. Ce brouillage des capteurs peut potentiellement être utilisé à d’autres types de véhicules.

Elon Musk promet une automatisation totale des véhicules à courte échéance

Level-of-driving-automation-NHTSAPour contrer ces menaces et éviter qu’un accident tel que celui qu’à connu l’infortuné conducteur de la Tesla, les constructeurs vont devoir multiplier les capteurs de natures différentes et complémentaires : optiques, laser, radar et ultrasons. Ils vont aussi pouvoir alimenter leurs algorithmes avec des données générer par les infrastructures et les autres véhicules, mais là encore de nouveaux problèmes vont surgir. Avec l’informatique et le mobile, le public s’est habitué à une évolution rapide des technologies mais avec la voitures autonome il faudra encore de nombreuses années avant que les industriels ne tiennent la promesse d’une voiture robot où l’on pourra véritablement se passer d’un volant. Les experts estiment que les voitures pleinement autonomes n’apparaîtront qu’à l’horizon 2025. Une roadmap qu’Elon Musk veut bousculer estimant que l’heure des voitures autonomes de niveau 4, c’est à dire totalement robotisées, est proche.

 

Sources :

« Elon Musk Hints That Tesla Updates Will Soon Lead To Level 4 Autonomy », Futurism, 7 août 2016

« Hackers Fool Tesla S’s Autopilot to Hide and Spoof Obstacles », Wired, 4 août 2016

« Tesla Divorces Mobileye, or Vice Versa », IEEESpectrum, 26 juillet 2016

« A Tesla Model S with Lidar spotted on the road around Palo Alto », TechCrunch, 7 juillet 2016

« Tesla Autopilot Fatality Shows Why Lidar And V2V Will Be Necessary For Autonomous Cars », Forbes, 1 juillet 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.