The weather forecast, next sector to be “uberised” ?

INRIXStartup America, INRIX offers motorists a crowdsource traffic information service. Nothing very new formula has made the fortune of the designers of Waze. On the same niche, INRIX offers its service since 2004. In addition to traffic, parking spaces, a new service has enriched its offer yesterday: a weather service. The service is capable of displaying the state of the road chosen by the driver, as well as forecasts. Contrary to national weather services, challenger has no less supercomputer to calculate its forecasts. His secret? APIs.

The connected car, a set of sensors at thousands of millions of copies

With light sensors, rain, and even his thermometer vehicle behavior on the road, any connected drive has become a valuable tool to have a pretty good idea of the weather over a large area.Connected-Driver-Network_4Big Data technologies are used to store data collected by millions of vehicles and process this mass of information to display on each dashboard the state of the road a few kilometers away. But now INRIX wants to go further by providing weather forecasts.

How a mobile application publisher could hope to do better than the weather service all developed countries? They have the supercomputers among the most powerful, observation satellite networks and especially forecasting algorithms that represent dozens of years of research to achieve the current level of reliability. INRIX can compete but found an alternative, the APIs provided by a specialist, GWC. The Global Weather Corp. provides a weather forecast service as Web services ready to be called by different applications, for example, operate wind farms and now applying INRIX Road Weather.
Translation : Google Translate
Source : “INRIX Warns Drivers Of Potentially Dangerous Road Conditions With INRIX Road Weather”, INRIX press release, Septembre 1st, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

La météo, prochain secteur à être uberisé ?

INRIXStartup américaine, INRIX propose aux automobilistes un service d’information trafic crowdsourcé. Rien de très nouveau la formule a fait la fortune des concepteurs de Waze. Sur le même créneau, INRIX offre son service depuis 2004. Outre le trafic, les places de parking, un nouveau service est venue enrichir son offre hier : un service météo. Le service est capable d’afficher l’état de la route choisie par le conducteur, mais aussi des prévisions. Contrairement aux services météo nationaux, ce challenger n’a pas le moins supercalculateur pour calculer ses prévisions. Son secret ? Les API.

La voiture connectée, un ensemble de milliers de capteurs disponibles à des millions d’exemplaires

Avec ses capteurs de luminosité, de pluie, son thermomètre et même le comportement du véhicule sur la route, n’importe quelle voiture connectée est devenu un outil précieux pour avoir une idée assez précise de la météo sur un vaste territoire. Connected-Driver-Network_4Les technologies Big Data permettent de stocker les données collectées par des millions de véhicules et traiter cette masse d’informations pour afficher sur chaque tableau de bord l’état de la route quelques kilomètres plus loin. Mais désormais INRIX veut aller plus loin en proposant des prévisions météo.

Comment un éditeur d’application mobile pourrait espérer faire mieux que les services météo de tous les pays développés ? Ceux-ci disposent des supercalculateurs parmi les plus puissants, de réseaux de satellites d’observation et surtout d’algorithmes de prévision qui représentent plusieurs dizaines d’années de recherche pour atteindre le niveau de fiabilité actuel. INRIX ne peut rivaliser mais à trouvé une alternative, les APIs fournies par un spécialiste, GWC. La Global Weather Corp fournit un service de prévision météo sous forme de services Web prêts à être appelé par les applications les plus diverses, pour, par exemple, exploiter des parcs d’éoliennes et désormais, l’application INRIX Road Weather.

Source : « INRIX Warns Drivers Of Potentially Dangerous Road Conditions With INRIX Road Weather », Communiqué de presse INRIX, 1er septembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.