Def Con 2016 will shelter the first hacking contest between… IA

Annonce-Defcon-2015As each year will be held in Las Vegas the Def Con, conference of reference in the field of hacking. Security professionals will present their offers but, as each edition are the revelation of the hacker (white hat of course!) that will make the media. Security vulnerabilities cars and various objects connected to our daily lives will be probably revealed ors of the 2016 edition. In parallel to the conference itself will take place a hacking contest unique in its kind, it will oppose artificial intelligences!

7 artificial intelligences will compete in Las Vegas

CRS

The CRS (for Cyber Reasonning System) is the machine made available to teams by DARPA to operate their AI.

ugust 4, 2016 will be held the first “Capture the Flag” type competition that will oppose artificial intelligences. Usually, in this type of test, a hacker must fit into a system, the first one that succeeds won the title of best hacker. This year, they are 7 IA who will attempt to break into a system and thwart its defences but also thwart the attacks of other RNs.

This competition, the Cyber Grand Challenge is richly endowed. The winning team received $ 2 million, the second 1 million and finally $750,000 for the third. It is DARPA, the body leading the research programs of the American defense, which organizes the challenge. The objective is to develop an autonomous AI that can detect the vulnerabilities of a system and therefore to secure systems. A virtual hacker somehow.

DARPA wants an AI capable of competing with the best hackers

The 7 teams qualified at the Cyber Grand Challenge will confront their IA August 4 in Las Vegas.

The 7 teams qualified at the Cyber Grand Challenge will confront their IA August 4 in Las Vegas.


The contest rules were published on October 22, 2014 and 104 teams registered to participate in this challenge. After 3 rounds of qualifying, there is more than 7, all American. CodeJitsu, CSDS, Deep Red, Disekt, For All Secure, Shellphish and TechX, the large American universities are represented. These teams will meet at the Paris hotel in Las Vegas August 4 not to show their talents as hackers, but only to launch their IA to the onslaught of the Cyber Grand Challenge.

Sources :

“Top Teams’ Automated Cybersecurity Systems Preparing for Final Face-off”, July 13, 2016

“Seven Teams Hack Their Way to the 2016 DARPA Cyber Grand Challenge Final Competition”, DARPA release, July 8, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Intelligence artificiellle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Le Def Con 2016 va abriter le premier concours de hacking entre… IA

Annonce-Defcon-2015Comme chaque année va se tenir à Las Vegas la Def Con, conférence de référence dans le domaine du hacking. Les professionnels de la sécurité vont y présenter leurs offres mais, comme à chaque édition ce sont les révélation des hacker (white hat bien sûr !) qui vont faire la une des médias. Des failles de sécurité des voitures et divers objets connectées de notre quotidien seront probablement révélées ors de cette édition 2016. En parallèle à la conférence elle-même se tiendra un concours de hacking unique en son genre, il opposera des intelligences artificielles !

7 intelligences artificielles vont s’affronter à Las Vegas

CRS

Le CRS (pour Cyber Reasonning System) est la machine mise à disposition des équipes par la DARPA afin de faire fonctionner leurs IA.

Le 4 août 2016 va se tenir la première compétition de type « Capture the Flag » qui va opposer des intelligences artificielles. Habituellement,dans ce type d’épreuve, un hacker doit s’introduire dans un système, le premier qui y parvient décroche le titre de meilleur hacker. Cette année, ce sont 7 IA qui vont tenter de s’introduire dans un système et déjouer ses défenses mais aussi déjouer les attaques des autres IA.

Ce concours, le Cyber Grand Challenge est richement doté. L’équipe gagnante décrochera 2 millions de dollars, la seconde 1 million et enfin 750.000 $ pour la troisième. C’est la DARPA, l’organisme qui mène les programmes de recherche de la défense américaine qui organise ce challenge. L’objectif est de développer une IA autonome qui puissent détecter les failles d’un système et donc sécuriser des systèmes. Un hacker virtuel en quelque sorte.

La DARPA veut une IA capable de rivaliser avec les meilleurs hackers

Les 7 équipes qualifiées au Cyber Grand Challenge vont confronter leurs IA le 4 août prochain, à Las Vegas.

Les 7 équipes qualifiées au Cyber Grand Challenge vont confronter leurs IA le 4 août prochain, à Las Vegas.

Les règles du concours ont été publiée le 22 octobre 2014 et 104 équipes se sont inscrites pour participer à ce challenge. A l’issue de 3 tours de qualification, il n’en reste plus que 7, toutes américaines. CodeJitsu, CSDS, Deep Red, Disekt, For All Secure, Shellphish et TechX, les grandes universités américaines sont représentées. Ces équipes se retrouveront à l’hôtel Paris de Las Vegas le 4 août non pas pour montrer leurs talents de hackers, mais seulement pour lancer leurs IA à l’assaut du Cyber Grand Challenge.

Sources :

« Top Teams’ Automated Cybersecurity Systems Preparing for Final Face-off », 13 juillet 2016

« Seven Teams Hack Their Way to the 2016 DARPA Cyber Grand Challenge Final Competition », communiqué DARPA, 8 juillet 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Intelligence artificielle, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.