New step towards the Bionic lenses

Lentille-bioniqueSeveral research teams are working to develop the first lenses bionic, capable of displaying an image directly before the eye of the wearer. Michael McAlpine of Princeton team seems to have achieved a major step forward towards the realization of these lenses screens. Researchers have developed a 3D printer that can print nanoscopic LEDs. One technology that opens the way for the production such Bionic lenses. The US Air Force, which funds this research could well equip one day its pilots of such lenses.

A LED screen composed of nanoscopic quantum dots

The 3D printer at Princeton University

The 3D printer at Princeton University.

Specialised in the printing of nanomaterials, Michael McAlpine research group at Princeton has managed to print LED nanoscopic “quantum dots”. It is therefore one of the Bionic lenses key technologies which seems to be acquired by these same researchers if, as pointed out in the New Scientist article notes, “quantum dots” printed by the Princeton team contains potentially hazardous materials for health.

The 3D print of quantum dots.

L’impression 3D des points quantiques.

Many obstacles still to overcome before even screen lenses marketed. While it is recognised that food will be carried out by the radio antenna, yet the problem of heating of components which must of course be very limited. In addition, the lens must be made custom. It is therefore an application type of 3D printing.

The University of the State of Washington (at Seattle) also worked on the development of such lenses. Babak Parviz, the researcher who had unveiled the first results in 2009 was immediately hired by Google to develop the Google Glass then the Google Contact Lens that will be shortly marketed by Novartis. Nevertheless these first lens do that to wear a sensor to transmit glucose levels in diabetic bearer smartphone. Since then, Babak Parviz was recruited by Amazon for a project so far still secret.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Contact lenses with built-in video could be 3D printed”, New Scientist, November 19, 2014

“Princeton Builds Quantum Dot LED 3D Printer”, RapidReady Tech., November 6, 2014

“Princeton Researchers Create First Ever Completely 3D Printed Quantum Dot LEDs”, 3DPrint, November 5, 2014

“3D Printed Quantum Dot Light-Emitting Diodes”, NanoLetters, October 31, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Nouvelle avancée vers les lentilles bioniques

Lentille-bioniquePlusieurs équipes de recherches travaillent à mettre au point les premières lentilles bioniques, capable d’afficher une image directement devant l’œil du porteur. L’équipe de Michael McAlpine de Princeton semble avoir réalisé une avancée majeure vers la réalisation de ces lentilles écrans. Les chercheurs ont mis au point une imprimante 3D capable d’imprimer des LED nanoscopiques. Une technologique qui ouvre la voie à la production de telles lentilles bioniques. L’US Air Force qui finance cette recherche pourrait bien équiper un jour ses pilotes de telles lentilles.

Un écran LED composé de points quantiques nanoscopiques

Imprimante 3D nanomateriaux

L’imprimante 3D nanoscopique de l’université de Princeton.

Spécialisé dans l’impression de nanomatériaux, le groupe de recherche  de Michael McAlpine à Princeton est parvenue à imprimer des LED nanoscopiques, des « points quantiques ». C’est donc l’une des technologies clé des lentilles bioniques qui  semble être acquise par ces chercheurs même si, comme le souligne l’article du New Scientist le souligne, les « points quantiques » imprimés par l’équipe de Princeton contient des matériaux potentiellement dangereux pour la santé.

L'impression 3D des points quantiques.

L’impression 3D des points quantiques.

De nombreux obstacles reste encore à franchir avant de voire des lentilles écran commercialisées. S’il est acquis que l’alimentation sera réalisée par l’antenne radio, se pose encore le problème de l’échauffement des composants qui doit bien évidemment être très limité. En outre, la lentille doit être réalisée sur-mesure. C’est donc une application type de l’impression 3D.

 

L’Université de l’état de Washington (à Seattle) travaille aussi sur la mise au point de telles lentilles. Babak Parviz, le chercheur qui avait dévoilé les premiers résultats en 2009 avait été immédiatement embauché par Google pour mettre au point les Google Glass puis les Google Contact Lens qui vont être prochainement commercialisées par Novartis. Néanmoins ces premières lentille ne font que porter un capteur pour transmettre le taux de glucose au smartphone du porteur diabétique. Depuis, Babak Parviz a été recruté par Amazon pour un projet à ce jour encore secret.

Sources :

« Contact lenses with built-in video could be 3D printed », New Scientist, 19 novembre 2014

« Princeton Builds Quantum Dot LED 3D Printer », RapidReady Tech., 6 novembre 2014

« Princeton Researchers Create First Ever Completely 3D Printed Quantum Dot LEDs », 3DPrint, 5 novembre 2014

« 3D Printed Quantum Dot Light-Emitting Diodes », NanoLetters, 31 octobre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.