The amazing projects to destroy the asteroid Apophis

Astéroïde a stupefying dispatch was published a few days ago by the Russian TASS News Agency. Sabit Saitgarayev, research Chief of the Makeyev Rocket Design Bureau proposes to launch a nuclear missile at the asteroid 99942 Apophis. According to initial calculations by NASA, which measure about the same 270 m in height must pass near Earth in 2029 and 2036. The Russian researchers proposes to destroy this asteroid with a refurbished nuclear missile. If trajectory calculations have been ripened by NASA and the risk of Armageddon for 2029 seems excluded, researchers from several countries break the head on how to destroy an asteroid that could threaten Earth.

Deflect Apophis, unable to destroy it

HAIV

nuclear weapons developed by the Asteroid Deflection Research Center at the University of Iowa to counter Apophis. [/ caption]

Discovered in 2004, asteroid 99942 then made the headlines because calculations of NASA set to 2.7% the chances that this asteroid named Apophis would impact the Earth in 2029. A small but very real a major since disaster probability asteroid weighs between 40 to 50 million tons. Since then, new observations made with the large telescope at Kitt Peak in Arizona and the Arecibo Observatory have enabled researchers to refine their calculations. Apophis is expected to increase to about 30,000 km of the Earth, the probability of an impact falling 4 chances in a million. The asteroid might carry with it a few satellites but it should not be victims.
Nevertheless, the risk of impact of an asteroid on Earth is far from being zero and researchers are working on ways otherwise destroy at least to influence the trajectory of a celestial object that would have taken the land for target. The idea of a raid of astronauts taking foot on the asteroid to make it jump was very seriously taken by the Americans nor to make explode the asteroid, but simply to study it. The “ Asteroid Deflection Research Center” at the University of Iowa found that a manned mission was possible with the technologies currently controlled by NASA. An Orion vessel must take 4 to 6 astronauts of the Apophis into a 180-day mission. Furthermore researchers have explored a more radical solution with a hypervelocity projectile that will collide with the asteroid to push a nuclear bomb. These researchers have also studied the possibility of sending Minuteman III ballistic missiles and SM-3 Block IIA to intercept last use the asteroid before it struck the United States.

[caption id="attachment_10902" align = "alignright" width = "324"] Among the solutions studied by ESA, the Don Quijote probe must hit the asteroid Apophis to get him to leave its trajectory. Among the solutions studied by ESA, the Don Quijote probe must hit the asteroid Apophis to get him to leave its trajectory.

The Russians, who believe that the asteroid could hit Earth in 2036, have them investigated methods to neutralize the threat before it Apophis to scope of nuclear missile. The mentioned strategy is to divert the asteroid’s trajectory. Interviewed in 2009 Anatoly Perminov head of Rosaviakosmos evoked the remedy, not a nuclear bomb, but the laws of physics. Europe was thus studied Don Quijote, a vessel space “striker” who should come knocking Apophis to alter its trajectory. More original, the solution put forward by Claudio Bombardelli, researcher of the ESA advanced concepts team, the European Space Agency. He proposes to attach an electric motor on the asteroid with two weight attached by cables.) This “engine” will allow to accelerate the speed of rotation to its critical rotation speed which will lead to its disintegration.

The Sun, an ally to counter asteroids

A swarm of mirrors focusing the sunlight could melt Apophis.

A swarm of mirrors focusing the sunlight could melt Apophis.


The approach purely based on the laws of physics is not without elegance. Other researchers have gone to look for another ally: the Sun. Massimiliano Vasile and Christie Alisa Maddock offer for their part to deflect the potentially threatening asteroids through mirrors. By focusing sunlight on one side of the asteroid, it will melt and change of trajectory. Just as “zen”, the solution put forward by China aims to use a solar sail to literally pull Apophis out of its path. Calculations of researchers demonstrated that a veil of 10 kg could only remove Apophis from its course in 1 year.

Still purely theoretical, these techniques will save maybe one day humanity to a killer asteroid. Whether Apophis, an asteroid that has yet to discover.

 

 

 

 

 

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources:
“Russia’s improved ballistic missiles to be tested as asteroid killers”, hurry to the Tass news agency, February 11, 2016

“Proposed Missions Could Deflect Space Rocks Like Asteroid Apophis”, Space.com, 30 October 2011

“China Reveals Solar Sail Plan To Prevent Apophis Hitting Earth in 2036”, MIT Technology Review, August 18, 2011

“Russia’s Armageddon plan to save Earth from collision with asteroid”, The Guardian, December 30; 2009

“NASA Refines Asteroid Apophis’ Path Toward Earth”, NASA press release, October 7, 2009

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique. Bookmark the permalink.

Les incroyables projets pour détruire l’astéroïde Apophis

AstéroïdeUne dépêche stupéfiante a été publiée voici quelques jours par l’agence russe d’information TASS. Sabit Saitgarayev, chercheur en chef du Makeyev Rocket Design Bureau propose de lancer un missile nucléaire sur l’astéroïde 99942 Apophis. D’après les calculs initiaux de la NASA, celui-ci qui mesure tout de même 270 m de hauteur doit passer à proximité de la terre en 2029, puis en 2036. Le chercheurs russes propose de détruire cette astéroïde avec un missile nucléaire reconditionné. Si les calculs de trajectoire ont été affinés par la NASA et le risque d’Armageddon pour 2029 semble écarté, les chercheurs de plusieurs pays se cassent la tête sur la façon dont on pourrait détruire un astéroïde qui pourrait menacer la terre.

Dévier Apophis, faute de pouvoir le détruire

HAIV

L’arme nucléaire mise au point par l’Asteroid Deflection Research Center de l’université de l’Iowa pour contrer Apophis.

Découverte en 2004, l’astéroïde 99942 a alors fait la une des médias car les calculs de la NASA fixait à 2,7% les chances que cette astéroïde alors baptisé Apophis ne fasse impact sur la Terre en 2029. Une probabilité faible, mais bien réelle d’une catastrophe majeure puisque l’astéroïde pèse entre 40 à 50 millions de tonnes. Depuis, de nouvelles observations réalisées avec le grand télescope de Kitt Peak en Arizona et l’observatoire d’Arecibo ont permis aux chercheurs d’affiner leurs calculs. Apophis devrait passer à environ 30.000 km de la terre, la probabilité d’un impact tombant à 4 chances sur un million. L’astéroïde pourrait bien emporter avec elle quelques satellites mais elle ne devrait pas faire de victimes.
Néanmoins, le risque d’impact d’un astéroïde sur la terre est loin d’être nul et les chercheurs travaillent sur les moyens sinon de détruire, au moins d’infléchir la trajectoire d’un objet céleste qui aurait pris la terre pour cible. L’idée d’un raid d’astronautes prenant pied sur l’astéroïde pour la faire sauter a très sérieusement été reprise par les américains non plus pour faire exploser l’astéroïde, mais simplement l’étudier. Le « Asteroid Deflection Research Center » de l’université de l’Iowa a estimé qu’une mission habité était possible avec les technologies actuellement maîtrisées par la NASA. Un vaisseau  Orion doit pouvoir emmener 4 à 6 astronautes du Apophis dans une mission de 180 jours . Par ailleurs les chercheurs ont étudié une solution plus radicale avec un projectile hypervéloce qui va percuter l’astéroïde pour y enfoncer une bombe nucléaire. Ces chercheurs ont aussi étudié la possibilité d’envoyer des missiles balistiques Minuteman III et  SM-3 Block IIA pour intercepter en dernier recours l’astéroïde avant qu’il ne percute les Etats-Unis.

Parmi les solutions étudiées par l'ESA, la sonde Don Quijote doit frapper l'astéroïde Apophis pour lui faire quitter sa trajectoire.

Parmi les solutions étudiées par l’ESA, la sonde Don Quijote doit frapper l’astéroïde Apophis pour lui faire quitter sa trajectoire.

Les russes, qui estiment que l’astéroïde pourrait bien percuter la terre en 2036, ont eux aussi étudié des méthodes pour neutraliser la menace avant qu’Apophis ne soit à portée de missile nucléaire. La stratégie évoquée est de détourner l’astéroïde de sa trajectoire. Interviewé en 2009 Anatoly Perminov à la tête de Rosaviakosmos évoquait le recours, non pas à une bombe nucléaire, mais aux lois de la physique. L’Europe a ainsi étudié Don Quijote, un vaisseau spatial « percuteur » qui doit venir frapper Apophis pour infléchir sa trajectoire. Plus originale, la solution avancée par Claudio Bombardelli, chercheur de l’équipe de concepts avancés de l’ESA, l’agence spatiale européenne. Celui-ci propose de fixer un moteur électrique sur l’astéroïde et deux poids attachés par des câbles. Ce moteur va permettre d’accélérer la rotation de l’astéroïde jusqu’à une vitesse de rotation critique qui va entraîner sa désagrégation.

Le soleil, un allié pour contrer les astéroïdes

Une nuée de miroirs concentrant la lumière du soleil pourrait faire fondre Apophis.

Une nuée de miroirs concentrant la lumière du soleil pourrait bien faire fondre Apophis.

L’approche, purement basée sur les lois de la physique n’est pas sans élégance. D’autres chercheurs sont allés chercher un autre allié : le soleil. Massimiliano Vasile et Christie Alisa Maddock proposent pour leur part de dévier les astéroïdes potentiellement menaçantes grâce à des miroirs. En concentrant la lumière solaire sur une face de l’astéroïde, celle-ci va fondre et changer de trajectoire. Tout aussi « zen », la solution avancée par la Chine vise à utiliser une voile solaire pour littéralement tirer Apophis hors de sa trajectoire. Les calculs des chercheurs ont démontré qu’une voile de 10 kg seulement pourrait éloigner Apophis de sa trajectoire en 1 an.

Encore purement théoriques, ces techniques sauveront peut-être un jour l’humanité d’une astéroïde tueuse. Que ce soit Apophis ou une astéroïde qui reste encore à découvrir.

 

 

 

 

 

Sources :
« Russia’s improved ballistic missiles to be tested as asteroid killers », dépêche de l’agence TASS, 11 février 2016

« Proposed Missions Could Deflect Space Rocks Like Asteroid Apophis », Space.com,  30 octobre 2011

« China Reveals Solar Sail Plan To Prevent Apophis Hitting Earth in 2036 », MIT Technology Review, 18 août 2011

« Russia’s Armageddon plan to save Earth from collision with asteroid », The Guardian, 30 décembre 2009

« NASA Refines Asteroid Apophis’ Path Toward Earth », Communiqué de presse NASA, 7 octobre 2009

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique. Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.