The Smart Cities of tomorrow in need of standards

Smart City$ 341 billion, are what will cost the lack of standards in the town connected over the next years. Additional costs, but also brake for global deployments and adoption, the market slowdown is to run against the fragmentation of standards implemented for countless connected objects that fall under the name of “Smart City”. Deployment costs will reach 1.120 billion dollars by 2025 including a third that could be saved with better standardisation.

Analysts estimate the market for Smart City between 1,100 and 1,500 billion

For equipment suppliers, the Smart Cities market is a real eldorado. More than 1,000 billion dollars to be shared between providers lighting solutions, equipment HVAC (heating, ventilation and air conditioning”), management of energy of buildings, parking and of course security. A way for cities to lower the costs of this mutation would be to push vendors to agree on common standards, and promote solutions compatible with these standards in their purchases.

Frost & Sullivan estime le marché Smart City à 1 500 milliards de dollars à l'horizon. Un marché éclaté en de multiples niches.

Frost & Sullivan estimates the Smart City market at 1 500 billion dollars on the horizon. A market split into multiple niches.

Machina Research analysts that the generalization of such an approach would reduce by a third the amount of the invoice, bringing the total to $ 781 billion. The advantages of the development of standards in a market are now well known: better interoperability of equipment, more freedom of choice of suppliers, lower costs and faster growth of the market. Always in the case of successful standardization, experts estimate that the number of objects connected will be 27% higher than a scenario without standards.

However, what is called Smart City is a vast area encompassing many areas very distinct from the other and if standardization around large networks of communications IoT and a few standards exchange market well defined as the Smart Water, Smart Grid in many niche areas it will take several years before that standards are needed.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Open standards in IoT deployments would accelerate growth by 27% and reduce deployment costs by 30%”, White Paper InterDigital, may 2016

“Smart cities could waste USD341 billion by 2025 on non-standardized IoT deployments”, IoT news, May 5, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Les Smart Cities du futur en mal de standards

Smart City341 milliards de dollars, c’es ce que coûtera le manque de standards à la ville connectée au cours des prochaines années. Surcoûts, mais aussi frein aux grands déploiements et ralentissement de l’adoption, le marché va se heurter à la fragmentation des standards mis en oeuvre pour les innombrables objets connectés qui entrent sous cette dénomination de « Smart City ». Les coûts de déploiement atteindront 1.120 milliards de dollars d’ici 2025 dont le tiers qui pourrait être économisé grâce à une meilleure standardisation.

Les analystes estiment le marché des solutions Smart City entre 1.100 et 1.500 milliards de dollars

Pour les fournisseurs d’équipement, le marché des Smart Cities est un véritable eldorado. Plus de 1.000 milliards de dollars à se partager entre les fournisseurs de solutions d’éclairage, d’équipements HVAC (« heating, ventilation and air-conditioning ») , de gestion d’énergie des bâtiments, de parking et bien évidemment de sécurité. Un moyen pour les villes de faire baisser les coûts de cette mutation serait de pousser les fournisseurs de solutions à s’entendre sur des standards commun et privilégier les solutions compatibles avec ces standards dans leurs achats.

Frost & Sullivan estime le marché Smart City à 1 500 milliards de dollars à l'horizon. Un marché éclaté en de multiples niches.

Frost & Sullivan estime le marché Smart City à 1 500 milliards de dollars à l’horizon. Un marché éclaté en de multiples niches.

Les analystes de Machina Research estiment que la généralisation d’une telle démarche permettrait de réduire d’un tiers le montant de la facture, amenant le total à 781 milliards de dollars. Les atouts de l’essor de standards sur un marché sont désormais bien connus : meilleure interopérabilité des équipements, plus grande liberté de choix des fournisseurs, abaissement des coûts et accroissement plus rapide du marché. Toujours dans cette hypothèse de standardisation réussie, les experts estiment que le nombre d’objets connectée sera supérieur de 27% à celui d’un scénario sans standards.

Pour autant, ce que l’on nomme Smart City est un vaste domaine qui englobe de nombreux domaines très distincts les uns des autres et si la standardisation autour de grands réseaux de communications IoT et quelques standards d’échanges sur des marché bien définis comme le Smart Water, le Smart Grid, dans beaucoup de secteurs de niche il faudra plusieurs années avant que des standards ne s’imposent.

Sources :

« Open standards in IoT deployments would accelerate growth by 27% and reduce deployment costs by 30% », White Paper InterDigital, mai 2016

« Smart cities could waste USD341 billion by 2025 on non-standardized IoT deployments », IoT news, 5 mai 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.