Restart of the LHC, the data deluge is coming!

LHC-AtlasThe LHC resumed service. After 2 years of work, the shots will be able to resume in the 27-km particle accelerator. After this update, the large Hadron Collider at CERN will be able to accelerate protons up to 13 KeV. Six detectors are placed on this ring and go drink data more than 150 data centers in the world.
With this evolution 2 of the LHC, the pace accelerates and the volumes of data generated by this unique facility will reach heights.

The LHC v2 will generate 15-inch data each year

Capteurs-LHCWith its new superconducting magnets, its sensors, the LHC version 2 will bring a major evolution for researchers by providing a better ‘brightness’, i.e. greater sensitivity. A significant evolution since las sensors will generate much more data. The frequency of sampling of experiences will be much higher. The particle Atlas detector will see his speed go 550 Hz to 1000 Hz and the stream go 440 Mbit.s at 1,000 Mbps. In total the LHC will generate 15-inch data each year, or 15 million gigabytes.
With Beaver (for CERN Advance Storage Manager), CERN has set up a storage infrastructure of these streams of data generated by experiments placed all around the ring. Beaver consists of 12,000 hard drives, 30,000 cartridges stockage.soit a 50 inch disk capacity and 100 in. on cartridges.

Data from the LHC will irrigate 157 computing centres in 40 countries

If currently Beaver hosts 300 million files, the vocation of the LHC is not to analyze these data. A network of supercomputers are literally irrigated data generated by the LHC experiments. 157 centres of calculation in 40 different countries participate in level 1 of this planetary computing grid. In total, 130,000 are computing cores that will be mobilized to analyze LHC data, on average more than 1,000 million hearts/hour each year.
ParticulesAmong supercomputers solicited in this vast scientific mobilization, Titan the second most powerful supercomputer in the world. 10 million hours have been allocated to process the data of the LHC. In addition to the great centres of public computing, Amazon Web Services and Google gave computing for the project resources. Google, for example, gave 1,000 hearts of calculation to the project. A contribution that the American then brought to 4,000 hearts on 2 months, or 5 million CPU hours.
While the “Run 2é has just begun, by 2030, the LHC is going to know 2 new updates to major days and Run 3 and 4 will see the data volumes soar.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Large Hadron Collider: The big reboot”, Nature, October 8, 2014

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Redémarrage du LHC, le déluge de données va commencer !

LHC-AtlasLe LHC reprend du service. Après 2 année de travaux, les tirs vont pouvoir reprendre dans l’accélérateur de particules de près de 27 km. Après cette mise à jour, le grand collisionneur de hadrons du CERN va pouvoir accélérer les protons jusqu’à 13 KeV. Six détecteurs sont placés sur cet anneau et vont abreuver de données plus de 150 datacenters dans le monde.

Avec cette évolution 2 du LHC, le rythme s’accélère et les volumes de données générés par cette installation unique au monde vont atteindre des sommets.

Le LHC v2 va générer 15 Po de données chaque année

Capteurs-LHC

Les débits de données générés par les capteurs du LHC augmente significativement pour ce « Run 2 ».

Avec ses nouveaux aimants supraconducteurs, ses nouveaux capteurs, Le LHC version 2 va apporter une évolution majeure pour les chercheurs en apportant une meilleure « luminosité », c’est à dire une plus grande sensibilité. Une évolution significative puisque las capteurs vont générer beaucoup plus de données. Les fréquences d’échantillonage des expériences vont être beaucoup plus élevées. Le détecteur de particules Atlas va voir sa vitesse passer de 550 Hz à 1.000 Hz et le flux de données passer de 440 Mbit.s à 1.000 Mbit/s. Au total le LHC va générer 15 Po de données chaque année, soit 15 millions de Gigaoctets.

Avec CASTOR (pour CERN Advance Storage Manager), le CERN a mis en place une infrastructure de stockage de ces flots de données générées par les expériences placées tout autour de l’anneau. CASTOR se compose de 12.000 disques durs, de 30.000 cartouches de stockage.soit une capacité de 50 Po sur disque et 100 Po sur cartouches.

Les données du LHC vont irriguer 157 centres de calcul dans 40 pays

Si actuellement Castor héberge 300 millions de fichiers, la vocation du LHC n’est pas d’analyser ces données. Tout un réseau de supercalculateurs sont littéralement irrigués des données générés par les expériences du LHC. 157 centres de calcul dans 40 pays différents participent au niveau 1 de cette grille de calcul planétaire. Au total, ce sont 130.000 cœurs de calcul qui seront mobilisés pour analyser les données du LHC, en moyenne plus de 1.000 millions de cœurs/heure chaque années.

ParticulesParmi les supercalculateurs sollicités dans cette vaste mobilisation scientifique, Titan le second supercalculateur le plus puissant au monde. 10 millions d’heures de calcul ont été allouées pour traiter les données du LHC. Outre les grands centres de calcul publics, Amazon Web Services et Google ont accordé des ressources de calcul pour le projet. Google, par exemple, avait accordé 1.000 cœurs de calcul au projet. Une contribution que l’américain a ensuite porté à 4.000 cœurs sur 2 mois, soit 5 millions de CPU/h.

Alors que le « Run 2 » vient de commencer, d’ici 2030, le LHC va connaitre 2 nouvelles mises à jours majeures et les Run 3 et 4 vont voir les volumétries de données s’envoler.

Sources :

« Large Hadron Collider: The big reboot », Nature, 8 octobre 2014

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.