A “low-cost” LIDAR for the autonomous car of tomorrow

lidar-autoThe pieces are being put in place for large-scale commercialization. In the wide range of technologies needed to launch an autonomous car on the roads, is the LIDAR. This laser detector allows the car to map its environment in 3D and in real time. If the technology is controlled for many years, it was still inconsistent with the price of a car. Germany’s Osram Opto Semiconductors has unveiled a component that’s going to blow this technological lock.

The cost of the LIDAR soon divided by… 1,800

It’s at the Electronica 2016 show that Osram Opto Semiconductors unveiled a LIDAR project at very low price. The LIDAR for “light detection and ranging” uses laser diodes in order to measure the distance between the objects surrounding the sensor. Installed on the roof of a car, it allows the map its environment. The sensor is therefore virtually indispensable to get a stand-alone vehicle, in addition to cameras and radars. The problem is that a LIDAR as can be seen on the roof of the Google Cars was charged between $ 70,000 and $80,000 a piece. Incompatible with autonomous cars series.

osram-opto-semiconductors-lidar

The LIDAR project unveiled by Osram Opto Semiconductors at the lounge Electronica 2016.

Velodyne, the LIDAR specialist, recently received an investment from Ford and Baidu to create a LIDAR that may be developed on a large scale. Already Velodyne has revised its copy and launched the HDL-64E, a LIDAR proposed $ 8,000 ‘only’, but automakers expect progress much more consequent on the part of their suppliers so that the extra cost of an autonomous car is not fatal to their prospective buyers. What Osram Opto Semiconductors up, it’s a LIDAR that which should be marketed at 40 euros only. This component is built on components of new generations, MEMS. To create its LIDAR, Osram Opto Semiconductors has joined forces with Innoluce, a startup that provides laser mirrors and that recently acquired by Infineon Technologies.
With 4 laser diodes, this new LIDAR is less powerful than the HDL-64E Velodyne which has 64, but it is much faster. Its laser, the agenda of 5ns impulses are two times shorter than those of his rival and its scope is much better. Industry is estimated to be able to deliver the first components to OEMs from summer 2017, while mass production could be launched in 2018. Therefore, more and more cars completely autonomous or semi-autonomous can be marketed.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“A milestone for laser sensors in self-driving cars”, Osram Opto Semiconductors release, November 7, 2016
“Osram Opto Semiconductors”, TechCrunch, August 16, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique, Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Un LIDAR « low-cost » pour la voiture autonome de demain

lidar-autoLes pièces sont en train de se mettre en place pour la commercialisation à grande échelle. Dans le vaste éventail de technologies nécessaires pour lancer une voiture autonome sur les routes, figure le LIDAR. Ce détecteur laser permet à la voiture de cartographier en 3D et en temps réel son environnement. Si la technologie est maîtrisée depuis de nombreuses années, celle-ci était encore incompatible avec le prix d’une automobile. L’allemand Osram Opto Semiconductors vient de dévoiler un composant qui va faire sauter ce verrou technologique.

Le coût du LIDAR bientôt divisé par… 1.800

C’est lors du salon Electronica 2016 qu’Osram Opto Semiconductors a dévoilé un projet de LIDAR a très bas prix. Le LIDAR pour « light detection and ranging » utilise des diodes laser afin de mesurer la distance qui sépare les objets environnant le capteur. Installé sur le toit d’une voiture, il permet a celle-ci de cartographier son environnement. Le capteur est donc pratiquement indispensable pour faire rouler un véhicule autonome, en complément des caméras et radars. Le problème, c’est qu’un LIDAR tel qu’on peut en voir sur le toit des Google Cars était facturé ente 70.000 et 80.000 $ pièce. Un coût incompatible avec la construction en série de voitures autonomes.

osram-opto-semiconductors-lidar

Le projet de LIDAR dévoilé par Osram Opto Semiconductors lors du salon Electronica 2016.

Velodyne, le spécialiste du LIDAR, a récemment reçu un investissement de Ford et de Baïdu pour créer des LIDAR pouvant être industrialisés à grande échelle. Déjà Velodyne a revu sa copie et lancé le HDL-64E, un LIDAR proposé à 8.000 $ « seulement », mais les constructeurs automobiles attendent des progrès bien plus conséquents de la part de leurs équipementiers pour que le surcoût d’une voiture autonome ne soit pas rédhibitoire pour leurs futurs acheteurs. Ce qu’Osram Opto Semiconductors prépare, c’est un LIDAR qui qui devrait être commercialisé à 40 euros seulement. Ce composant est bâti sur des composants de nouvelles générations, les MEMS. Pour créer son LIDAR, Osram Opto Semiconductors s’est allié avec Innoluce, une startup qui lui fournit les miroirs laser et qui vient d’être rachetée par Infineon Technologies.
Avec 4 diodes lasers, ce nouveau LIDAR est moins puissant que le HDL-64E de Velodyne qui en compte 64, mais il est beaucoup plus rapide. Ses impulsions laser, de l’ordre de 5ns sont deux fois plus courtes que celles de son rival et sa portée est bien plus grande. L’industriel estime pouvoir livrer les premier composants aux équipementiers à partir de l’été 2017, tandis que la production en série pourrait être lancée en 2018. Dès lors, de plus en plus de voitures semi-autonomes ou totalement autonomes pourront être commercialisées.
Sources :

« A milestone for laser sensors in self-driving cars », Communicaué de presse Osram Opto Semiconductors, 7 novembre 2016
« Osram Opto Semiconductors », TechCrunch, 16 août 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.