Lilium Aviation raises 10 million € for his flying car

lilium-aviation-voiture-volanteThe race for the development of the first flying car is coming a new stage. German Lilium Aviation has indeed announced 10 million euros.
A fundraiser that will allow the startup to develop the prototype of his Jet Lilium and start the test from the beginning of the year 2017.

The Lilium Jet, a next-generation electric VTOL

It is the event of TechCrunch Disrupt London that the announcement was made. Investment Fund Atomico injects 10 million euros in Lilium Aviation so that the startup is carrying out its flying car project. Atomico is a British Fund that has made a name by focusing on companies such as Last.fm, Seesmic, Skype, Fab or Jawbone. Niklas Zennström, founder of Atomico joined the Board of Directors of Lilium which, thanks to this major investment will be able to hire engineers and technicians to complete its prototype.

lilium-jet-takeoff

36 tilting propellers of the Lilium Jet should allow take-offs and vertical landings.

His plane, the Lilium Jet is electric-powered. It features 36 electric motors which keeled propellers tilt to allow the device to land vertically making the Lilium Jet a VTOL (vertical take-off and landing). Engineers designed a speed of 300 km/h for a range of 300 km.

Electric propulsion which seems to have the favor of engineers in recent years while the Aeromobil of Juraj Vaculik seems more “classic” with its folding wings and its combustion engine. A (bad) compromise between car and airplane, who has never won in the past. Aeromobil remains the most advanced of the “flying car” yet nonexistent market since Juraj Vaculik announced the marketing of its Aeromobil for 2017.

Many competitors on a still virtual market

airbus-vahanaThe most serious of Lilium Aviation rivals include Terrafugia. The American also wants to develop a flying car electric with tilt motors, the TF – X, but to achieve it will market a less ambitious, comparable to the Aeromobil model. Terrafugia has opened the pre-order of this unit quite rightly called “The Transition” period.

Closer to drones, Chinese eHang 184, presented to the CES 2016 and the German Volocopter VC200, S2 of Joby Aviation and especially the hypothetical Airbus Vahana may be some serious competitors Lilium Jet when the regulation will allow truly the emergence of a market for this type of devices.

Translation : Bing Translator
Sources :

“Lilium Aviation raises €10m Series A funding round with Atomico”, Lilium Aviation release, December 5, 2016

“Finally! A Flying Car Could Go On Sale In 2017”, Forbes, March 16, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Lilium Aviation lève 10 M€ pour sa voiture volante

lilium-aviation-voiture-volanteLa course à la mise au point de la première voiture volante vient de connaître une nouvelle étape. L’allemand Lilium Aviation vient en effet d’annoncer avoir levé 10 millions d’euros.
Une levée de fonds qui va permettre à la startup de développer le prototype de son Lilium Jet et de commencer les essais à partir du début de l’année 2017.

Le Lilium Jet, un VTOL électrique de la prochaine génération

C’est lors de l’événement TechCrunch Disrupt London que l’annonce a été réalisée. Le fond d’investissement Atomico injecte 10 millions d’euros dans Lilium Aviation pour que la startup mène à bien son projet de voiture volante. Atomico est un fond britannique qui s’est fait un nom en misant sur des entreprises telles que Last.fm, Seesmic, Skype, Fab ou Jawbone. Niklas Zennström, fondateur d’Atomico rejoint le conseil d’administration de Lilium qui, grâce à cet investissement majeur va pouvoir embaucher des ingénieurs et techniciens pour finaliser son prototype.

lilium-jet-takeoff

Les 36 hélices basculantes du Lilium Jet devront lui permettre des décollages et atterrissages verticaux.

Son appareil, le Lilium Jet est à propulsion électrique. Il est doté de 36 moteurs électriques dont les hélices carénées basculent pour permettre à l’appareil de se poser  à la verticale faisant du Lilium Jet un VTOL (vertical take-off and landing). Les ingénieurs visent une vitesse de 300 km/h pour une autonomie de 300 km.

La propulsion électrique qui semble avoir la faveur des ingénieurs ces dernières années alors que l’Aeromobil de Juraj Vaculik semble plus « classique » avec ses ailes repliables et son moteur à explosion. Un (mauvais) compromis entre voiture et avion de tourisme qui ne s’est jamais imposé par le passé. Aeromobil reste néanmoins le plus avancé sur ce marché encore inexistant de la « voiture volante » puisque  Juraj Vaculik a annoncé la commercialisation de son Aeromobil pour 2017.

De nombreux prétendants à un marché du drone de transport encore virtuel

airbus-vahanaParmi les rivaux le plus sérieux de Lilium Aviation figure Terrafugia. L’américain veut aussi mettre au point une voiture volante à propulsion électrique avec moteurs basculants, la TF-X, mais avant d’y parvenir celle-ci va commercialiser un modèle moins ambitieux, comparable à l’Aeromobil. Terrafugia a ouvert la phase de pré-commande de ce appareil fort justement baptisé « The Transition ».

Plus proches des drones, le chinois eHang 184, présenté au CES 2016 et le Volocopter VC200 allemand, le S2 de Joby Aviation et surtout l’hypothétique Airbus Vahana risquent d’être des concurrents sérieux au Lilium Jet lorsque la réglementation permettra véritablement l’émergence d’un marché pour ce type d’appareils.

 

Sources :

« Lilium Aviation raises €10m Series A funding round with Atomico », Communiqué Lilium Aviation, 5 décembre 2016

« Finally! A Flying Car Could Go On Sale In 2017 », Forbes, 16 mars 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.