Will 3D printing lower the cost of access to space?

Rocket-LabLess than 5 million dollars per launch, is the bet of the New Zealanders Rocket Lab which has unveiled the technical specifications of its Electron rocket. With a diameter of 1 m and a height of 20 m, it is theoretically capable of sending 100 kg in orbit, up to 500 km altitude. A 2-stage rocket much more mild and modest as an Ariane 5 or a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket. A rocket that breaks new ground in various sectors with a goal: reduce drastically the costs of a launch.

Rocket Lab is the niche for small-lift launchers

Created in 2007 by New Zealand Peter Beck, Rocket Lab has just unveiled the largest rocket ever designed by the company. Funded by a background of venture capital Silicon Valley, Khosla Ventures, the company is positioned on the market commercial launchers. with this Electron, a rocket two-storey recognizable among all. It is entirely built in carbon fiber so that its structure does not weigh more than a Mini. The lightness is because the onboard, designed based on FPGA chips, computer weighs only 8.6 kg.

Peter Beck before his multiple creations, including the Electron rocket.

Peter Beck before his multiple creations, including the Electron rocket.

But it is probably in its engines that Rocket Lab brings the most innovation. The startup has designed a rocket engine of a new type, engine Rutherford, named after the physicist and chemist New Zealand Ernest Rutherford. All the main components of this engine will be made in 3D printing. He will have to deliver a thrust of 4,600 pounds 327 seconds. The first floor into account in atmospheric version 9, the second floor is considering one, in its version ‘space ‘. The total maximum power of the rocket reached 41,500 pounds of thrust.
Unlike the conventional rocket engines, these engines Rutherford use turbo-electric pumps powered by Lithium polymer batteries. What to do save a few percent boost compared with the turbo traditional pumps. Marketing of Rocket Lab States that we need as much fuel high-density Hybrid 90a to the Electron to go into space that kerosene for a Boeing 737 to make a flight San Francisco / Los Angeles.
The first flight of an Electron rocket is intended for 2015 while commercial flights must start as early as 2016. The startup provides already have commitments for the first 30 flights, knowing that Peter Beck ambition is to achieve 100 launches a year. An very optimistic ambition.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

L’impression 3D va-t-elle abaisser le coût de l’accès à l’espace ?

Rocket-LabMoins de 5 millions de dollars par lancement, c’est le pari du néo zélandais Rocket Lab qui vient de dévoiler les spécifications techniques de sa fusée Electron. D’un diamètre de 1 m et d’une hauteur de 20 m, celle-ci est théoriquement capable d’envoyer 100 kg en orbite basse, jusqu’à 500 km d’altitude. Une fusée à 2 étages bien plus légère et modeste qu’une Falcon 9 de SpaceX ou qu’une Ariane 5. Une fusée qui innove dans divers secteurs avec un but : abaisser de manière drastique les coûts d’un lancement.

Rocket Lab vise le créneau des lanceurs légers

Créé en 2007 par le néo-zélandais Peter Beck, Rocket Lab vient de dévoiler la plus grande fusée jamais conçue par l’entreprise, l’Electron. Financée par un fond de capital risque de la Silicon Valley, Khosla Ventures, l’entreprise se positionne sur le marché des lanceurs commerciaux. avec cette petite fusée à deux étages reconnaissables entre toutes. Celle-ci est entièrement construite en fibre de carbone si bien que sa structure ne pèse pas plus qu’une Mini. La légèreté est de mise puisque le calculateur de bord, conçu à base de puces FPGA, ne pèse que 8,6 kg.

Peter Beck devant ses multiples créations, dont la fusée Electron.

Peter Beck devant ses multiples créations, dont la fusée Electron.

Mais c’est sans doute dans ses moteurs que Rocket Lab apporte le plus d’innovations. La startup a conçu un moteur fusée d’un nouveau type, le moteur Rutherford, du nom du physicien et chimiste néo-zélandais Ernest Rutherford. Tous les composants principaux de ce moteur seront produits en impression 3D. Il devra délivrer une poussée de 4.600 livres pendant 327 secondes. Le premier étage en compte 9 dans leur version atmosphérique, le deuxième étage n’en compte qu’un, dans sa version « espace ». La puissance maximale totale de la fusée atteint 41,500 livres de poussée.

Contrairement aux moteurs fusées classiques, ces moteurs Rutherford utilisent des turbopompes électriques alimentées par batteries Lithium Polymère. De quoi faire économiser quelques pourcents de poussée par rapport aux turbopompes traditionnelles alimenté par les gaz du moteur. Le marketing de Rocket Lab affirme qu’il ne faudra pas plus de carburant haute-densité Hybrid 90A à l’Electron pour aller dans l’espace que de kérosène pour un Boeing 737 pour faire un vol San Francisco / Los Angeles.

Le premier vol d’une fusée Electron est prévu pour 2015 tandis que les vols commerciaux doivent démarrer dès 2016. La startup assure avoir déjà des engagements pour les 30 premiers vols, sachant que l’ambition de Peter Beck est d’atteindre 100 lancements par an. Une ambition pour le moins élevée.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.