ISS 3D printer produces its first downloaded object

Commander Barry Wilmore (Photo: NASA)What to do when you are missing a simple key socket to repair a device. Easy, just go to the DIY of the corner store. But when you’re like Barry “Butch” Wilmore, Commander of the international space station… you need to arm yourself with patience and wait a few weeks the arrival of the next supply vessel. That was until the first 3D printer to be installed on the space station. For the first time, a tool is designed tailored on Earth then downloaded and printed in the station. A demonstration of what 3D printing will change in space… and on Earth.

The Zero-G Printer, in orbit since September 21, 2014

The key to snuggle with ratchet such as that was printed in orbit.

The key to snuggle with ratchet such as that was printed in orbit.

So it’s the first time that an object has been “downloaded in space. In response to a request from the crew of the international station, a socket and ratchet wrench is designed tailored by Noah Paul-Gin, Made engineer in Space, the constructor of the 3D “Zero-G Printer” printer that was sent to the ISS on September 21, 2014.
The engineer used Autodesk Inventor to create a ratchet functional printable 3D and requiring no editing. After several tests realized on the ground, on an identical printer, the G-code corresponding to the “Zero-G Printer” file was sent to the Commander of the space station… by email.
printing 4 hours later, our “Butch” Commander had his tool in hand. It was the 21st object printed in space on this “Zero-G Printer”, but the first file was downloaded from the Earth, on request.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “The First Uplink Tool Made In Space is…”, Made in Space, December 17, 2014

Made-in-Space-3DP

3D Zero-G Printer’ printer required 4 years of development by Made in Space, a startup based on the NASA Ames Research Park in Mountain View.

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’imprimante 3D de l’ISS a produit son premier objet téléchargé

Commander Barry Wilmore (Photo: NASA)Que faire quand il vous manque une simple clé à douille pour réparer un appareil. Facile, il suffit d’aller au magasin de bricolage du coin. Mais quand vous êtes, comme Barry “Butch” Wilmore, commandant de la station spatiale internationale… vous devez vous armer de patience et attendre quelques semaines l’arrivée du prochain vaisseau de ravitaillement. Ça, c’était jusqu’à ce que la première imprimante 3D soit installée dans la station spatiale. Pour la toute première fois, un outil a été conçu sur mesure sur terre puis téléchargé et imprimé dans la station. Une démonstration de ce que l’impression 3D va changer dans l’espace… et sur terre.

La Zero-G Printer, en orbite depuis le 21 septembre 2014

La clé à douillet à cliquet telle que celle qui a été imprimée en orbite.

La clé à douillet à cliquet telle que celle qui a été imprimée en orbite.

C’est donc la première fois qu’un objet a été « téléchargé dans l’espace ». Pour répondre à une demande de l’équipage de la station internationale, une clé à douille et à cliquet a été conçue sur mesure par Noah Paul-Gin, un ingénieur de Made in Space, le constructeur de l’imprimante 3D « Zero-G Printer » qui a été envoyée dans l’ISS le 21 septembre 2014.

L’ingénieur a utilisé Autodesk Inventor pour créer une clé à cliquet fonctionnelle imprimable en 3D et ne nécessitant pas de montage. Après plusieurs essais réalisé au sol, sur une imprimante identique, le fichier G-code correspondant à la « Zero-G Printer » a été envoyé au commandant de la station spatiale… par email.

4 heures d’impression plus tard, notre commandant « Butch » avait son outil en main. C’était le 21e objet imprimé dans l’espace sur cette « Zero-G Printer », mais le tout premier dont le fichier a été téléchargé depuis la terre, sur demande.

Source : « The First Uplink Tool Made In Space is… », Made in Space, 17 décembre 2014

Made-in-Space-3DP

L’imprimante 3D « Zero-G Printer » a nécessité 4 années de mise au point par Made in Space, une startup basée sur le NASA Ames Research Park, à Mountain View.

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.