Artificial intelligence in the service of Gmail users

GMailA post on the Google Research Blog comes to reveal. Engineers will propose a new feature to GMail users. The Google email should offer a function of automatic response emails. The researchers declined to Gmail “Deep Learning” already algorithms used by Google voice search or auto-generation of thumbnails of Youtube. Based on the analysis of the message, the mobile application by GMail Inbox will propose 3 possible answers. With a click, the user will send the response which seemed the most appropriate.
Google reads your email… and answers. Isn’t life wonderful?

Deep Learning applied to messaging

The approach is called the Sequence to Sequence Learning. In the same way that Google translation algorithms analyze the meaning of a sentence in a language to generate its translation in a language, the algorithm for Gmail will analyze the message in order to generate a response sentence.
Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 10.54.34 AMIf the principle of operation is simple, generating consistent and relevant responses to the user is otherwise more complex that simply paraphrase the message of departure. Cannot create simple rules to create responses automatically both scenarios are endless. To provide the 3 most plausible answers, Ilya Sutskever, Oriol Vinyals and Quoc v. The, three researchers at the origin of this innovation have appealed to the artificial intelligence, neural networks to create responses based on the original message. Difficulty encountered by researchers, the three proposed responses must truly represent 3 different possibilities and not three different formulations of the same idea. The example presented in the post seems to demonstrate that the algorithm can be relevant even if the researchers note mentions a funny anecdote. Their algorithm was propensity to offer the reply “I love you” a little too frequently. Therefore, researchers have added their models to make slightly more… formal responses. The function should be activated this week on enforcement “by Gmail Inbox” later this week.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Computer, respond to this email.“, Google Research Blog, November 3, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’intelligence artificielle au service des utilisateurs de Gmail

GMailUn billet sur le Blog de Google Research vient de le révéler. Les ingénieurs vont proposer une nouvelle fonctionnalité aux utilisateurs de GMail. La messagerie Google devrait offrir une fonction de réponse automatique aux eMails. Les chercheurs déclinent pour Gmail les algorithmes de « Deep Learning » déjà utilisés par la recherche vocale Google ou encore la génération automatique de vignettes de Youtube. En fonction de l’analyse du message, l’application mobile Inbox by GMail va proposer 3 réponses possibles. D’un clic, l’utilisateur enverra la réponse qui lui semble la plus appropriée. Google lit vos emails… et y répond, elle est pas belle la vie ?

Le Deep Learning appliqué à la messagerie

L’approche s’appelle le Sequence to Sequence Learning. De la même manière que les algorithmes de traduction de Google analysent le sens d’une phrase dans une langue pour générer sa traduction dans une langue cible, l’algorithme pour Gmail va analyser le message afin de générer une phrase de réponse.

Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 10.54.34 AMSi le principe de fonctionnement est simple, générer des réponses cohérentes et pertinentes pour l’utilisateur est autrement plus complexe que simplement paraphraser le message de départ. Impossible de créer des règles simples pour créer les réponses automatiquement tant les cas de figure sont innombrables. Pour fournir les 3 réponses les plus plausibles, Ilya Sutskever, Oriol Vinyals et Quoc V. Le, les trois chercheurs à l’origine de cette innovation ont fait appel à l’intelligence artificielle, aux réseaux neuronaux pour créer les réponses en fonction du message initial. Difficulté rencontrée par les chercheurs, les trois réponses proposées doivent véritablement représenter 3 possibilités différentes et non pas trois formulations différentes de la même idée. L’exemple présenté dans le billet  semble démontrer que l’algorithme peut se montrer pertinent même si le billet des chercheurs mentionne une anecdote amusante. Leur algorithme avait propension à proposer la réponse “I love you” un peu trop fréquemment. Les chercheurs ont donc ajouté leurs modèles pour rendre les réponses quelque peu plus… formelles. La fonction devrait être activée cette semaine sur l’application « Inbox by Gmail » dans le courant de cette semaine.

Source : « Computer, respond to this email.« , Google Research Blog, 3 novembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.