Zephyr, a new Linux for the Internet of things

Zephyr there are already several Linux distributions real-time initially adapted for the Internet of things. Nevertheless, their requirements in terms of memory, processing power and therefore power consumption excluded de facto property of objects connected. Sous-under the aegis of the Linux Foundation, this new project is carried by Intel, NXP Semiconductors, and Synopsys. It will be officially presented at the Embedded World 2016 in a few days. Nuremberg, the project sponsors will throw a call to developers so that they align themselves with Zephyr.

A real-time OS (more) for objects connected

Run on the cheaper connected objects, it is the ambition of this new embedded OS time real Zephyr. To achieve this, its core has made modular, which means that it can be divided into two parts. The lower part, known as nanokernel, which grouped together the essential functions of the OS may work only. it then just only 10 KB of memory on a 32-bit microcontroller.
Various communication channels are already supported, including Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy as well as the IEEE standard 802.15.4 (including IPv6 and ZigBee protocols and the 6LoWPAN).

Linux-Zephyr-microkernel

The Zephyr core can be alleviated until confined to the “nanokernel” only to run on the lightest hardware.

Rick Lehrbaum, founder of LinuxGizmos notes the similarities between Zephyr and Rocket, the real-time OS edited since 2015 by Wind River, now a subsidiary of Intel. We know probably more accurate genealogy of this Zephyr following Embedded World 2016.

For now, Zephyr is available on several hardware platforms, including the Arduino 101 based on Intel Curie, which with x 86 cores and Synopsys ARC EM, the Arduino Due (Atmel SAM3X8E ARM Cortex – M3 CPU), the card Intel Galileo Gen 2 as well as NXP FRDM – K64F Freedom board of NXP.
Version 1.0 of the kernel is broadcast license Apache License, version 2.0. The SDK, still in version 0.7.2 consists of the minimum for the on-board system: Gcc compiler for x 86, ARM, MIPS, IAMCU and ARC. Side of development, engineers will have Gcc, Python 2.7 and various emulators QEMU (ARM/MIPS/i386).
Zephyr is an ultra-light real time more in a market already well congested OS. The surety of the Foundation Linux will be sufficient to make the Ubuntu of the IoT?

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources:

“The Linux Foundation Announces Project to Build Real-Time Operating System for Internet of Things Devices”, Linux foundation press release, 17 février 2016

Meet Linux’s little brother: Zephyr, a tiny open-source IoT RTOS“, LinuxGizmos

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Zephyr, un nouveau Linux pour l’Internet des objets

ZephyrIl existe déjà plusieurs distributions Linux temps réel a priori adaptée pour l’Internet des objets. Néanmoins, leurs exigences en termes de mémoire, puissance de traitement et donc consommation électrique les exclu de facto de bien des objets connectés. Placé sous sous l’égide de la Linux Foundation, ce nouveau projet est porté par Intel, NXP Semiconductors et Synopsys. Celui-ci sera officiellement présenté lors du salon Embedded World 2016 dans quelques jours. A Nuremberg, les promoteurs du projet vont un lancer  un appel aux développeurs pour qu’ils se rallient à Zephyr.

Un OS temps réel (de plus) pour les objets connectés

Fonctionner sur les objets connectés les moins coûteux, c’est l’ambition de ce nouvel OS embarqué temps réel Zephyr. Pour y parvenir, son noyau a été rendu modulaire, ce qui veut dire qu’il peut être scindé en deux partie. La partie basse, baptisée nanokernel, où sont regroupées les fonctions essentielles de l’OS peut fonctionner seule.
Elle se contenterai alors de seulement 10 Ko de mémoire sur un microcontrôleur 32 bits.
Divers moyens de communication sont déjà supportés, dont le Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy ainsi que le standard IEEE 802.15.4 (dont IPv6 et les protocoles ZigBee et le 6LoWPAN).

Rick Lehrbaum, fondateur de LinuxGizmos note les similitudes entre Zephyr et Rocket, l’OS temps réel édité depuis 2015 par Wind River, aujourd’hui filiale d’Intel. On en saura probablement plus sur la généalogie précise de ce Zephyr à la suite d’Embedded World 2016.

Linux-Zephyr-microkernel

Le noyau Zephyr peut être allégé jusqu’à se limiter au « nanokernel » seul afin de fonctionner sur les hardware les plus légers.

Pour l’instant, Zephyr est disponible sur plusieurs plateformes matérielles, dont l’Arduino 101 à base d’Intel Curie, dont avec des coeurs x86 et Synopsys ARC EM, l’Arduino Due (Atmel SAM3X8E ARM Cortex-M3 CPU), la carte Intel Galileo Gen 2 ainsi que la NXP FRDM-K64F Freedom board de NXP.
La version 1.0 du noyau est diffusée en licence Apache License, version 2.0. Le SDK, encore en version 0.7.2, se compose du minimum pour le système embarqué : compilateur Gcc pour x86, ARM, MIPS, IAMCU et ARC. Côté poste de développement,les ingénieurs disposeront de Gcc, Python 2.7 et de divers émulateurs QEMU (ARM/MIPS/i386).
Zephyr n’est qu’un OS temps réel ultra-léger de plus sur un marché déjà bien encombré. La caution de la fondation Linux sera-t-elle suffisante pour en faire l’Ubuntu de l’IoT ?

Sources :

« The Linux Foundation Announces Project to Build Real-Time Operating System for Internet of Things Devices », Communiqué de presse de la fondation Linux, 17 février 2016

« Meet Linux’s little brother: Zephyr, a tiny open-source IoT RTOS« , LinuxGizmos

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.