Local Motors obtains a $1 billion line of credit for its Olli Autonomous Shuttle

The adoption of the first 100% autonomous vehicles is slow and deployments are still drip-free. Some transport services are trying the adventure, in particular by deploying a few autonomous Navya shuttles on limited routes protected from traffic. The American Local Motors, which unveiled its Olli shuttle in 2016, wants to accelerate the movement in 2018. This champion of 3D printing and Open Innovation has just raised $1 billion from several partners to help municipalities and businesses take the plunge.

A step towards the autonomous “as a service” vehicle?

Whether it is the ARMA of Navya, Easymile’s ez10 or the Dutch 2getthere shuttles, it has to be said that the 100% autonomous fleet of vehicles actually deployed in the cities remains very modest.

These autonomous shuttles of less than 10 seats are struggling to impose themselves in front of the buses, subways and various means of transport made available to the inhabitants by the municipalities and the first deployments are more of a demonstration than a public service.

Local Motors, which is looking for the first customers for its Olli shuttle, has joined forces with ETS (Elite Transportation Services), a subsidiary of Elite Parking Services. This company provides valet services throughout the United States and the objective of the partners is to offer a turnkey service to cities or companies that will want to provide a transport service with the U. S. Autonomous Vehicle. They will provide a complete transportation service but also the financing of Olli with a credit line of about a billion dollars! Added to these partners was the Xcelerate company in Texas, a leasing company that is adding $20 million to the pool.
Will this approach of the autonomous vehicle “as a Service” allow the autonomous shuttles to take off?
 

Source: “Local Motors Secures Over $1 Billion In Financing For Olli Customers”, Local Motors press release, 2 January 2018

 

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Local Motors obtient une ligne de crédit de 1 milliard de dollars pour sa navette autonome Olli

L’adoption des premiers véhicules 100% autonomes est lente et les déploiements se font encore au goutte à goutte. Quelques services de transport tentent l’aventure, notamment en déployant quelques navettes autonomes Navya sur des parcours limités et protégés de la circulation. L’américain Local Motors, qui a dévoilé sa navette Olli en 2016 veut accélérer le mouvement en 2018. Ce champion de l’impression 3D et de l’Open Innovation vient de dégager 1 milliard de dollars auprès de plusieurs partenaires afin d’aider les municipalités et les entreprises à franchir le pas.

Un pas vers le véhicule autonome « as a service » ?

Qu’il s’agisse de l’ARMA de Navya, de l’ez10 d’Easymile ou des navettes du néerlandais 2getthere, force est de constater que le parc de véhicules 100% autonome réellement déployées dans les villes reste très modeste.

Ces navettes autonomes de moins de 10 places peinent à s’imposer face aux bus, métros et divers moyens de transport mis à la disposition des habitants par les municipalités et les premiers déploiements tiennent plus de la démonstration que du service public.

Local Motors, qui cherche les premiers clients pour sa navette Olli, s’est allié à ETS (Elite Transportation Services), filiale d’Elite Parking Services. Cette entreprise fournit des services de voituriers dans tous les Etats-Unis et l’objectif des partenaires est de proposer un service clé en main aux villes ou entreprises qui voudront fournir un service de transport avec le véhicule autonome américain. Ceux-ci vont fournir un service de transport complet mais aussi le financement des Olli avec une ligne de crédit de l’ordre du milliard de dollars ! A ces partenaires est venu s’ajouter l’entreprise texane Xcelerate, une entreprise de leasing qui ajoute  20 millions de dollars à cette cagnotte.

Cette approche du véhicule autonome « as a Service » permettra-t-elle aux navettes autonomes de décoller ?
 

Source : « Local Motors Secures Over $1 Billion In Financing For Olli Customers » , communiqué de presse Local Motors, 2 janvier 2018

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.