The 3 laws of Robotics of Asimov, soon a reality ?

Stop-Killer-RobotsHow not to think the laws of robotics, written in 1942 by Isaac Asimov? British researchers from the universities of Sheffield, Liverpool and Bristol come to launch new research projects. Their objective is to give the robots of the future of ethics.
Funded to the tune of 1.4 million from £ by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, it is a project everything that there is serious. At a time where robots are increasingly present in the energy, transportation, they are going to drive our cars, researchers want to develop methods of controls to ensure that the robots that will be developed by the researchers, industrialists, is absolutely safe, but also have an ethical relation to human behavior.

At what laws will obey the robots of the future?

Sandor Veres, from the University of Sheffield Professor wants to learn ethics to robots.

Sandor Veres, from the University of Sheffield Professor wants to learn ethics to robots.

An automatic car which, in case of imminent accident chooses to throw against a Mini rather than hit a big SUV Volvo to better protect its occupants, it is referred to in a recent article in Wired. Replace the Mini by a group of pedestrians on the sidewalk and the question of the ethics of this algorithm of laying. Have the right to prefer sacrificing these pedestrians or the driver of a Mini to avoid its own occupant was injured in the accident? “” A decision which undermines the first of the three laws of robotics to Asimov that says that ‘ ‘ a robot cannot harm a human being, nor in remaining passive, allow a human being to be exposed to the hazard. Less dramatic, we know that the autonomous cars Google can, in some cases, breaking the highway code. Are they the right, even in the event of danger?
These are some of the questions the researchers will work very seriously during the next few years. It is the ethical component of English research program which is also interested in the reliability of these algorithms. Professor Sandor Veres from the University of Sheffield will particularly focus on the validate the reliability of the embedded code of the robots through formal methods, mathematical proofs that prove that software is not bug. These are techniques today applied to the code embedded in the field of Aeronautics and aerospace, but who might well be applied in many other embedded applications. The British research program to be completed in 2018, it means roughly at the time when the first autonomous cars will be in the offices of manufacturers. Perhaps they will be the first to apply the laws of Robotics Professor Veres.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources : “New research will help robots know their limits”, University of Sheffield press release, December 8, 2014
“Google’s driverless cars ‘will be allowed to speed'”, The Telegraph, August 19, 2014
“The Robot Car of Tomorrow May Just Be Programmed to Hit You”, Wired, May 6, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Les 3 lois de la robotique d’Asimov, bientôt une réalité ?

Stop-Killer-RobotsComment ne pas penser aux lois de la robotique écrites dès 1942 par Isaac Asimov ? Des chercheurs britanniques des universités de Sheffield, Liverpool et de Bristol viennent de lancer des nouveaux projets de recherche. Leur objectif est de doter les robots du futur d’une éthique.

Financé à hauteur de 1,4 million de £ par l’Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, il s’agit d’un projet tout ce qu’il y a de sérieux. A l’heure où les robots sont de plus en plus présents dans l’énergie, les transports, qu’ils vont conduire nos voitures, les chercheurs veulent mettre au point des méthodes de contrôles pour s’assurer que les robots qui seront mis au point par les chercheurs, les industriels, soit absolument sûrs, mais aussi aient un comportement éthique vis-à-vis des humains.

A quelles lois obéiront les robots du futur ?

Le professeur Sandor Veres, de l'université de Sheffieldveut apprendre l'éthique aux robots.

Le professeur Sandor Veres, de l’université de Sheffield veut apprendre l’éthique aux robots.


Une voiture automatique qui, en cas d’accident imminent choisit de se jeter contre une Mini plutôt que de percuter un gros SUV Volvo pour mieux protéger ses occupants, c’est le cas évoqué dans un récent article de Wired. Remplacez la Mini par un groupe de piétons sur le trottoir et la question de l’éthique de cet algorithme de pose. A-t-il le droit de préférer sacrifier ces piétons ou le conducteur d’une Mini pour éviter que son propre occupant ne soit blessé dans l’accident ? Voila qui met à mal la première des trois lois de la robotique d’Asimov qui dit que' »un robot ne peut porter atteinte à un être humain, ni, en restant passif, permettre qu’un être humain soit exposé au danger ». Moins dramatique, on sait que les Google cars autonomes peuvent, dans certains cas, enfreindre le code de la route. En ont elles le droit, même en cas de danger ?
Ce sont quelques-unes des questions auxquelles les chercheurs vont travailler très sérieusement lors de ces prochaines années. C’est le volet éthique du programme de recherche anglais qui s’intéresse aussi à la fiabilité de ces algorithmes. Le professeur Sandor Veres de l’université de Sheffield va notamment s’intéresser à la valider la fiabilité du code embarqué des robots via des méthodes formelles, des démonstrations mathématiques qui prouvent qu’un logiciel n’a pas de bug. Ce sont des techniques aujourd’hui appliquées au code embarqué dans le domaine de l’aéronautique et de l’aérospatial, mais qui pourraient bien se voir appliquées à bien d’autres applications embarquées. Le programme de recherche britannique doit s’achever en 2018, c’est à dire à peu près au moment où les premières voitures autonomes seront dans les bureaux d’études des constructeurs. Peut-être seront elles les premières à devoir appliquer les lois de la robotique du professeur Veres.

Sources : « New research will help robots know their limits », Communiqué de presse de l’Université de Sheffield, 8 décembre 2014
« Google’s driverless cars ‘will be allowed to speed' », The Telegraph, 19 août 2014
« The Robot Car of Tomorrow May Just Be Programmed to Hit You », Wired, 6 mai 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.