Lotus F1 Team and Boeing partners on 3D printing carbon

Lotus E223D printing is a process now widespread in Formula 1, for printing prototype parts and models blower. Lotus F1 is no exception to the rule and already has an impressive fleet of high-end 3D printers. Today F1 team proceeds to the next step: print parts to compete in races. Boeing team partner for several years, it brings a new 3D printing technology that will allow Lotus F1 print carbon parts. Will they at Enstone team to fight again for the victory?

3D printing to accelerate the manufacture of composite parts

The mechanical strength of a composite part is a function of the fiber orientation in the material directly. It is a challenge for 3D printing.

The mechanical strength of a composite part is a function of the fiber orientation in the material directly. It is a challenge for 3D printing.

The embodiment of carbon parts is in the stable F1 real science artisans where real position the fibers according to the strength required by the parts. A central positioning in the mechanical strength of the items, the carbon fibers having an anisotropic material, that is, whose resistance varies according to the orientation of the fibers. 
A job that requires a lot of manpower and especially manufacturing delays unacceptable in the world of F1 where you have to test on the track of new parts every weekend of great price. 
The aviation industry also very fond of carbon fiber has different constraints. Production cycles are longer, but automation aspect was much more extensive, including the design of robots to lay the fibers.

Boeing was able to control the orientation of the carbon fibers during 3D printing

Extract from Boeing patent on 3D printing of carbon fiber reinforced materials: fibers are aligned in the desired direction, according to a Gaussian distribution.

Extract from Boeing patent on 3D printing of carbon fiber reinforced materials: fibers are aligned in the desired direction, according to a Gaussian distribution.

As Boeing, Lotus F1 uses Fibersim software from Siemens PLM Software to manufacture its composite parts but the team will also be able to enjoy an advanced powerful partner: 3D printing parts reinforced carbon fiber. The technology has been patented by Boeing. It is based on a 3D laser printing “classic”, the SLS process (Selective Laser System), which prints the part layer by layer. The secret of the method of manufacture that Boeing has developed to produce aircraft parts, is to manage the orientation of the carbon fibers in the polymer. Boeing, by varying the size and diameter of the carbon fibers seem to be able to manage their orientation. Depending on the temperature of the polymer and fiber mixture, its researchers are able to obtain the desired and therefore produce 3D printing pieces that approximate the strength of traditional composite parts orientation.
The Boeing 787 is made of 50% composite materials (against 20% aluminum), but it is not certain that he could benefit from this process, the patent was filed in 2012. The F1 will be a good test bed to see if the items via 3D printing to their promises in terms of performance.

Sources : “Boeing and Lotus Team up to Create Super Strong Carbon Fiber Reinforced 3D Printing Method”, 3DPrint.com, 15 juillet 2014
“Method of reinforcement for addiive manufacturing”, Brevet US 2014/0050921 A1, The Boeing Company, 20 février 2014

[Note : this text is a translation from french made by Google Translate]

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique, Automobile, Impression 3D and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Lotus F1 et Boeing partenaires sur l’impression 3D carbone

Lotus E22L’impression 3D est un procédé aujourd’hui généralisé en Formule 1, pour l’impression des pièces prototypes et des maquettes de soufflerie. Lotus F1 ne fait pas exception à la règle et entretient déjà un impressionnant parc d’imprimantes 3D haut de gamme. Aujourd’hui l’écurie de F1 passe à l’étape suivante : imprimer des pièces pour disputer des courses. Boeing, partenaire de l’équipe depuis plusieurs années, lui apporte une nouvelle technologie d’impression 3D qui va permettre à Lotus F1 d’imprimer les pièces en carbone. Permettront-elles à l’équipe de Enstone de se battre à nouveau pour la victoire ?

L’impression 3D pour accélérer la fabrication des pièces composites

La résistance mécanique d'une pièce composite est directement fonction de l'orientation des fibres dans le matériaux. C'est un défi pour l'impression 3D.

La résistance mécanique d’une pièce composite est directement fonction de l’orientation des fibres dans le matériaux. C’est un défi pour l’impression 3D.

La réalisation de pièces carbone est, dans les écurie de F1 une véritable sciences où de vrais artisans positionnent les fibres en fonction de la résistance demandée par les pièces. Un positionnement capital dans la résistance mécanique des pièces produites, les fibres de carbone étant un matériaux anisotrope, c’est à dire dont la résistance varie selon l’orientation des fibres.
Un travail qui nécessite beaucoup de main d’oeuvre et surtout des délais de fabrication rédhibitoires dans l’univers de la F1 où il faut pouvoir tester sur la piste de nouvelles pièces à chaque week-end de grand prix.
Le secteur aéronautique, lui aussi très friand de fibres carbone, a des contraintes différentes. Les cycles de production sont plus long, mais l’aspect automatisation a été beaucoup plus poussé, avec notamment la conception de robots pour poser les fibres.

Boeing est parvenu à maîtriser l’orientation des fibres carbone lors de l’impression

Extrait du brevet Boeing sur l'impression 3D de matériaux renforcés de fibres de carbone.

Extrait du brevet Boeing sur l’impression 3D de matériaux renforcés de fibres de carbone : les fibres s’alignent dans la direction voulue, selon une répartition gaussienne.

Tout comme Boeing, Lotus F1 utilise le logiciel Fibersim de Siemens PLM Software pour fabriquer ses pièces composites mais l’équipe va pouvoir aussi profiter d’une avancée de son puissant partenaire : l’impression 3D de pièces renforcée de fibres carbone. La technologie a fait l’objet d’un brevet de la part de Boeing. Elle s’appuie sur une impression 3D laser « classique », le procédé SLS (Selective Laser System), qui imprime la pièce couche après couche. Tout le secret de la méthode de fabrication que Boeing a mise au point pour produire des pièces aéronautique, c’est de gérer l’orientation des fibres de carbones dans le polymère. Boeing, en jouant sur la taille et le diamètre des fibres de carbone semble être capable de gérer leur orientation. Selon la température du mélange polymère et fibre, ses chercheurs parviennent à obtenir l’orientation voulue et donc produire en impression 3D des pièces qui se rapprochent de la résistance de pièces composites traditionnelles.

Le Boeing 787 est composé de 50% de matériaux composites (contre 20% d’aluminium), mais il n’est pas certain qu’il ait pu bénéficier de ce procédé, le brevet n’ayant été déposé qu’en 2012. La F1 sera un bon banc d’essai pour voir si les pièces produites via impression 3D tiennent leurs promesses en termes de performances.

Sources : « Boeing and Lotus Team up to Create Super Strong Carbon Fiber Reinforced 3D Printing Method », 3DPrint.com, 15 juillet 2014
« Method of reinforcement for addiive manufacturing », Brevet US 2014/0050921 A1, The Boeing Company, 20 février 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, Automobile, Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.