Lufthansa wants to become operator of drones

LufthansaDeliveries by drones were interested until today e-merchants like Amazon, the operator of fast delivery like Fedex. Should now add to this list the airlines. Lufthansa is the first to unveil its ambitions in this sector, which has yet to be born. Lufthansa Aerial Services has signed a partnership agreement with the manufacturer of UAVs DJI to develop commercial applications that the company can offer its customers. Services that largely exceed the single delivery.

Lufthansa ambitions go far beyond the transport of freight by drone

It is a beautiful operation just to make Chinese Dong. It was chosen by Lufthansa to work on commercial services issued by drones.Lufthansa Industrial Service UAVIf logically that Lufthansa offers a delivery service of drones as he proposes already air cargo, the first tests carried out with Dong show the ambition of Lufthansa Aerial Services goes well beyond the air trades. Thus, the German has already carried out a pilot project in the field of inspection of wind turbines. Other experiments were performed for Fraport and DFS on Frankfurt airport facilities. Meanwhile, Lufthansa Technik has already completed inspections of the subsidiary maintains. The official release evokes inspections using thermal cameras over fields of wind turbine or solar panels, but also power lines, railway lines, pipelines.

Lufthansa ambition seems no limit since the communiqué also refers to agricultural applications, in the construction sector and yet the mining sector. The airline wants to embrace all of the business applications of UAVs. The first European airline is the first to show business ambitions in the area of UAVs. Will it be followed?

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Lufthansa Aerial Services and DJI join forces to develop commercial applications for drone technology”, Lufthansa press release, January 26, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Lufthansa veut devenir opérateur de drones

LufthansaLes livraisons par drones intéressaient jusqu’à aujourd’hui les cybermarchands comme Amazon, les opérateurs de livraison rapide comme Fedex. Il faudra désormais ajouter à cette liste les compagnies aériennes. Lufthansa est la première à dévoiler ses ambitions dans ce secteur qui reste encore à naître. Lufthansa Aerial Services vient de signer un accord de partenariat avec le constructeur de drones DJI afin de développer des applications commerciales que la compagnie pourra offrir à ses clients. Des services qui dépasseront largement la seule livraison.

Les ambitions de Lufthansa vont bien au delà du transport de fret par drones

C’est une belle opération que vient de réaliser le chinois DJI. Celui-ci  à été choisi par Lufthansa afin de travailler sur des services commerciaux délivrés par drones. Si la logique voudrait que Lufthansa propose un service de livraison par drones comme il propose déjà du fret aérien, les premiers tests réalisés avec DJI montrent que l’ambition de Lufthansa Aerial Services va bien au-delà des métiers de l’aérien. Lufthansa Industrial Service UAVAinsi, l’allemand a déjà mené un projet pilote dans le domaine de l’inspection des éoliennes. D’autres expérimentations ont été réalisées pour Fraport et DFS sur les installations aéroportuaires de Frankfort. De son côté, Lufthansa Technik a déjà réalisé des inspections des appareils dont la filiale assure la maintenance. Le communiqué officiel évoque des inspections au moyen de caméras thermiques, que ce soit sur des champs d’éolienne ou de panneaux solaires, mais aussi les lignes électriques, les lignes de chemin de fer, de pipelines.

L’ambition de Lufthansa semble sans limite puisque le communiqué évoque tout autant des applications agricoles, dans le secteur de la construction et encore le secteur minier. La compagnie aérienne veut embrasser l’ensemble des applications professionnelles des drones. La première compagnie aérienne européenne est la première à afficher des ambitions commerciale sur le secteur des drones. Sera-t-elle suivie ?

Source : « Lufthansa Aerial Services and DJI join forces to develop commercial applications for drone technology », Communiqué de presse Lufthansa, 26 janvier 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.