United Kingdom unveils its first autonomous car, the LUTZ

PODn automotive, our British neighbors are capable of the best and the worst. Jaguar type E, Aston Martin Vanquish to one side, Reliant Robin, Austin Allegro and Aston Martin Lagonda on the other. LUTZ Pathfinder, first autonomous car designed in Great Britain is that one and it is more than likely that Jeremy Clarkson, the presenter of Top Gear, will solve it its account soon.

However if its road performance are very modest and its questionable design, it will remain in history as the first British car designed to run independently.

The United Kingdom launched this year the first deployments to the public

Unveiled recently in London, the small LUTZ (for Low – carbon Urban Transport area) explored in a few months the streets and pedestrian areas of Milton Keynes, small town north of London for a first deployment test of autonomous vehicles.

This small LUTZ actually integrates the intelligence developed by researchers at the Mobile Robotics Group at the University of Oxford. To move at the speed of 15 Mph (24 km), the small pod needs 22 19 sensors different types, including cameras, radar, LiDAR.

LUTZ 2The LUTZ is not strictly speaking a traditional car, but a pod, a two-seater automated travel module. These “pods” can move in autonomous manner at low speed, including the pedestrian streets of Milton Keynes. The origin of the project, 100 pods were to be deployed, a number that seems to be revised downward. Initially 3 pods will be implemented in July in Milton Keynes to test the car but also gauge the reactions of the population. A broader deployment should take place at the end of year in Milton Keynes and Coventry. The RDM Group, the small vehicle manufacturer site, mentions the construction of 40 pods.

In addition, 8 automatic shuttle Meridian will be exploited in Greenwich. Shocking, these shuttles are provided by the french Navya Technology.

Rendez-vous in July 2015 in Milton Keynes to see the LUTZ at work.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“8 things about Oxford’s driverless tech”, Oxford Science Blog, February 11, 2015

“This is the Lutz pod, the UK’s first driverless car”, The Telegraph, February 11, 2015

“UK to lead development of driverless car technology”, Communiqué officiel du grouvernement, February 11, 2015

“Driverless cars to be introduced in Milton Keynes”, BBC, November 7, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Le Royaume-Uni dévoile sa première voiture autonome, la LUTZ

PODEn matière d’automobile, nos voisins britannique sont capable du meilleur comme du pire. Jaguar type E, Aston Martin Vanquish d’un côté, Reliant Robin, Austin Allegro et Aston Martin Lagonda de l’autre. La LUTZ Pathfinder, première voiture autonome conçue en Grande Bretagne est de celle-là et il est plus que probable que Jeremy Clarkson, l’animateur de Top Gear, lui réglera son compte prochainement.

Néanmoins si ses performances routières sont très modestes et son design discutable, celle-ci restera dans l’histoire comme la première voiture britannique conçue pour rouler de façon autonome.

Le Royaume-Uni lance cette année les premiers déploiements auprès du public

Dévoilée dernièrement à Londres, la petite LUTZ (pour Low-carbon Urban Transport Zone) sillonnera dans quelques mois les rues et zones piétonnes de Milton Keynes, petite ville au Nord de Londres pour un premier déploiement test de véhicules autonomes.

Cette petite LUTZ intègre en fait l’intelligence développée par les chercheurs du Mobile Robotics Group de l’université d’Oxford. Pour se déplacer à la vitesse maximale de 15 Mph (environ 24 km/h), le petit pod a besoin de 22 capteurs de 19 différents types, dont des caméras, radars, LIDARs.

LUTZ 2La LUTZ  n’est pas à proprement parler une voiture traditionnelle, mais un pod, un module biplace de déplacement automatisé. Ces « pods » pourront se déplacer de manière autonomes à petite vitesse, y compris dans les rues piétonnes de Milton Keynes. A l’origine du projet, une centaine de pods devaient être déployés, un nombre qui semble aujourd’hui être revu à la baisse. Dans un premier temps 3 pods vont être mis en place en juillet à Milton Keynes pour tester la voiture mais aussi évaluer les réactions de la population. Un déploiement plus large devrait avoir lieu en fin d’année à Milton Keynes et Coventry. Le site de RDM Group, le constructeur du petit véhicule, évoque la construction de 40 pods.

En outre, 8 navettes automatiques Meridian vont être exploitées à Greenwich. Shocking, ces navettes, seront fournies par le français Navya Technology.

Rendez-vous en juillet 2015 à Milton Keynes pour voir les LUTZ à l’oeuvre.

Sources :

« 8 things about Oxford’s driverless tech », Oxford Science Blog, 11 février 2015

« This is the Lutz pod, the UK’s first driverless car », The Telegraph, 11 février 2015

« UK to lead development of driverless car technology », Communiqué officiel du grouvernement, 11 février 2015

« Driverless cars to be introduced in Milton Keynes », BBC, 7 novembre 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.