Marussia F1 liquidation: the failure of the 100% digital team

Marussia-F1In receivership since 1 month, the Formula 1 team Marussia F1 has been declared bankrupt by the court administrator.
Released by his Russian sponsor, team Bianchi no longer align its cars at the start of the grand prix world championship. A failure due to lack of sponsors of the team, but also the failure of a 100% digital strategy.

A F1 racing team launched in 2010 by Richard Branson

In 2009, while the flamboyant Richard Branson wants to create a Formula 1 team in the colors of the Virgin group, so he bought the team Manor Motorsport , present only in Formula Renault and Formula 3 Euroseries. It will participate in the championship 2010. The idea of ​​the manager is to focus on the digital and innovation to compete with the big teams of the plateau have the financial means light years historical teams. Virgin Racing has no factory to produce shells and pieces of the car, but only a few 3D printers to create prototypes of parts before outsource their production. Another important difference, the team does not have a wind tunnel, the working tool no.1 F1 teams.

This is Monaco Jules Bianchi scored the one and only points scored by the team in its history.

This is Monaco Jules Bianchi scored the one and only points scored by the team in its history.

The aerodynamics of the cars in F1 is so important that all the teams have invested tens of millions of euros in the construction and in the operation of huge blowers. The bet is bold, but it will be lost. For his first two seasons, the young team advanced in last place in the world championship. HPC and the computer 72 TeraFlops Virgin Racing is not enough engineers to create a competitive car. In 2012, the team must turn to McLaren to gain access to the blower. The team is then taken over by his main sponsor Marussia Motors and Marussia F1 becomes. Now under Russian flag, the target of the small team to get on the podium at the first Grand Prix coming to compete in Sochi in 2014. The team rose slightly in the standings in 2011 and 2012, occupying the 10th place in the championship, but it will reach the Monaco Grand Prix this year for Jules Bianchi inscribe the first two points of the history of écurie.Ce never be the only points scored by the Russian team has been placed in liquidation and its entire staff fired.

Sources :

“End of the line as Marussia ceases trading, closes its doors”, MotorSport, November 7, 2014

“The IT crowd: CFD at Marussia F1”, TheEngineer, Mai 28, 2012

“Interview: Nick Wirth, technical director, Marussia Virgin F1 team”, Computing, February 24, 2011

“High-performance computing drives high-performance F1 cars to success”, ComputerWeekly, July 2012

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Marussia F1 en liquidation : l’échec de l’écurie 100% numérique

Marussia-F1En redressement judiciaire depuis 1 mois, l’écurie de formule 1 Marussia F1 vient d’être déclarée en faillite par son administrateur judiciaire.

Lâchée par son commanditaire russe, l’équipe de Jules Bianchi n’alignera plus ses voitures au départ des grands prix du championnat du monde. Un échec du au manque de sponsors de l’équipe, mais aussi l’échec d’une stratégie 100% numérique.

Une écurie lancée par Richard Branson en 2010

En 2009, alors que le flamboyant Richard Branson veut créer une écurie de formule 1 aux couleurs de son groupe Virgin, il achète alors l’équipe Manor Motorsport, présente uniquement en Formule Renault et Formule 3 Euroseries. Celle-ci va participer au championnat 2010. L’idée du manager est de miser sur le numérique et l’innovation pour rivaliser avec les plus grosses écuries du plateau qui disposent de moyens financiers à des années lumières des équipes historiques. Virgin Racing ne dispose pas d’usine pour produire les coques et les pièces de la voiture mais uniquement de quelques imprimantes 3D pour créer les prototypes de pièces avant de sous-traiter leur production. Autre différence importante, l’écurie ne dispose pas de soufflerie, l’outil de travail n°1 des écuries de F1.

C'est à Monaco que Jules Bianchi a inscrit les seuls et uniques points marqués par l'équipe dans toute son histoire.

C’est à Monaco que Jules Bianchi a inscrit les seuls et uniques points marqués par l’équipe dans toute son histoire.

L’aérodynamique des monoplaces est tellement importante en F1 que les écuries ont toutes investies des dizaines de millions d’euros dans la construction puis dans l’exploitation d’énormes souffleries. Le pari est osé, mais il sera perdu. Pour ses deux premières saisons, la jeune écurie pointe en dernière place du championnat du monde. Le calcul intensif et le calculateur de 72 TeraFlops de Virgin Racing ne suffit pas aux ingénieurs à créer une voiture compétitive. En 2012, l’écurie doit se tourner vers McLaren pour avoir accès à la soufflerie. L’écurie est ensuite reprise par son principal sponsor, Marussia  Motors et devient la Marussia F1 Team. Désormais sous drapeau russe, l’objectif fixé à la petite équipe est de monter sur le podium à l’occasion du premier grand prix qui vient de se disputer à Sotchi en 2014. L’équipe progresse légèrement au classement en 2011 et 2012, occupant la 10ième place du championnat, mais il faudra atteindre le grand prix de Monaco de cette année pour que Jules Bianchi inscrive les deux premières points de toute l’histoire de l’écurie.Ce sera les seuls points jamais inscrits par l’équipe russe qui vient d’être placée en liquidation et l’ensemble de son personnel licencié.

Sources :

« End of the line as Marussia ceases trading, closes its doors », MotorSport, 7 novembre 2014

« The IT crowd: CFD at Marussia F1 », TheEngineer, 28 mai 2012

« Interview: Nick Wirth, technical director, Marussia Virgin F1 team », Computing, 24 février 2011

« High-performance computing drives high-performance F1 cars to success », ComputerWeekly, Juillet 2012

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.