MegaBots launches a Kickstarter campaign to fund the robot “Team USA”

Megabots-Mk-II-vs-KuratasIn early July, the US MegaBots defied Suidobashi Heavy Industries in a fair fight.
Challenge accepted by the Japanese. Both manufacturers will compete to their foals in June 2016. A kind of synthesis between the fascination of arms of some, stronger robotic culture to the other, this fight will not be a first of its kind for one detail, exceptional size these robots.
A fighting giant robots will decide between the two countries and to prepare robot this big fight, MegaBots wants to raise between $ 500,000 and $ 1.5 million to ensure the final victory.

A combat robots exceptional in size

Le Kuratas de Suidobashi Heavy Industries sera le challenger du Megabots Mr. II.

Le Kuratas de Suidobashi Heavy Industries sera le challenger du Megabots Mr. II.

In the US, the Robot Fighting League (RFL) was established in 2002. These robots fighting are not new, and TV shows such as Robot Wars took the baton in both the United States than in the United -um where the BBC broadcasts the program Robot Wars. The FRA (Fighting Robot Association) groups together several championships or rather series of events mounted on fighting robots.

This challenge MegaBots vs Suidobashi Heavy Industries looks more like a wrestling match as robotics challenge such as the DARPA Challenge. The robots are controlled so there will be no combat algorithms and artificial intelligence. In June 2016, it will be far enough from fighting robots mentioned in the science fiction film Real Steel released in theaters in 2011.

A KickStarter campaign that promises to be a success

La

La “Team USA” et la version Mk.II du robot de combat Megabots.

The challenge is, remains to MegaBots to finalize its combat robot. “Team USA” must improve its robot to take the shock against the Japanese Kuratas. The company launched a crowdfunding campaign on Kickstarter . The initial goal is to raise $ 500,000. A sum which should be promptly reached and exceeded as the designers hope the robot. Indeed, they devised a series of improvements that could increase investment to $ 1.5 million.

New armor, improved power, new hydro and even improving the speed, the Mk. II for the win. MegaBots account in particular turn to Howe & amp; Howe Technologies, the amazing American startup that, after designing robots and various vehicles for films like GI Joe wants “uberiser” the defense sector with high-performance low-cost armored vehicles. Its tracked platform could propel the robot MegaBots at a speed twice higher than that of Kuratas.

If MegaBots manages to raise $ 1 million, its engineers would fit into their robot equilibrium algorithms developed by IHMC Robotics for the DARPA Robotics Challenge. For $ 250,000 more, they might rethink the robot’s cockpit with a NASA team to improve pilot safety. Finally, if the final envelope reached $ 1.5 million, the company will appeal to designers Fonco Creative Services to transform the work (which still looks a bit like a construction machine, it must be admitted) by film star as R2D2 and C-3PO.

Translation : Google Translate

Source : “Team USA” seeks $500k on Kickstarter for ultimate robot battle with Japan”, FastCompany, August 18, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

MegaBots lance sa campagne Kickstarter pour financer le robot de la « Team USA »

Megabots-Mk-II-vs-KuratasAu début du mois de juillet, l’américain MegaBots défiait la Suidobashi Heavy Industries en un combat loyal.
Défi accepté par le japonais. Les deux constructeurs vont faire s’affronter leurs poulains en juin 2016. Sorte de synthèse entre la fascination des armes des uns, forte culture robotique pour les autres, ce combat ne sera pas une première du genre, à un détail près, la taille exceptionnelle de ces robots.
Un combat de robots géants va départager les deux pays et pour préparer son robot à ce grand combat, MegaBots veut lever entre 500.000 $ et 1,5 million de dollars pour s’assurer la victoire finale.

Un combat de robots exceptionnel par leur taille

Le Kuratas de Suidobashi Heavy Industries sera le challenger du Megabots Mr. II.

Le Kuratas de Suidobashi Heavy Industries sera le challenger du Megabots Mr. II.

Aux Etats-Unis, la Robot Fighting League (RFL) a été créée en 2002. Ces combats de robots ne sont donc pas nouveaux et les émissions de TV telles que Robot Wars ont pris le relai, tant aux Etats-Unis qu’au Royaume-Uni où la BBC diffuse l’émission Robot Wars. La FRA (Fighting Robots Association) regroupe en Angleterre plusieurs championnats ou plutôt séries d’événements montés sur des combats de robots.

Ce défi MegaBots vs Suidobashi Heavy Industries tient plus du combat de catch que du défi robotique tel que le DARPA Challenge. Les robots sont pilotés donc il ne s’agira pas d’un combat d’algorithmes et d’intelligences artificielles. En juin 2016, on sera assez éloigné des combats de robots évoqués dans le film de science fiction Real Steel sorti sur les écrans en 2011.

Une campagne KickStarter qui s’annonce déjà comme un succès

La

La « Team USA » et la version Mk.II du robot de combat Megabots.

Le défi est lancé, reste à MegaBots à finaliser son robot de combat. La « Team USA » doit améliorer son robot pour tenir le choc face au Kuratas japonais. L’entreprise a lancé une campagne de crowdfunding sur Kickstarter. L’objectif initial est de lever 500.000 $. Une somme qui devrait être rapidement atteinte et dépassée comme l’espèrent les concepteurs du robot. En effet, ils ont imaginé toute une série d’améliorations qui pourraient porter l’investissement à 1,5 million de dollars.

Nouveaux blindages, amélioration de la puissance, nouvelle hydraulique et encore amélioration de la vitesse de déplacement, le Mk. II vise la victoire. MegaBots compte notamment se tourner vers Howe & Howe Technologies, l’étonnante startup américaine qui, après avoir conçu les robots et véhicules divers pour des films comme GI Joe veut « uberiser » le secteur de la défense avec des véhicules blindés haute-performances à bas prix. Sa plateforme chenillée pourrait propulser le robot MegaBots à une vitesse deux fois supérieure à celle du Kuratas.

Si MegaBots parvient à lever 1 million de dollars, ses ingénieurs aimeraient intégrer dans leur robot les algorithmes d’équilibre développés par  IHMC Robotics pour le DARPA Robotic Challenge. Pour 250.000 $ de plus, ils pourraient repenser le cockpit du robot avec une équipe de la NASA pour améliorer la sécurité du pilote. Enfin, si l’enveloppe finale atteint 1,5 million de dollars, l’entreprise pourra faire appel à des designers de FonCo Creative Services pour transformer leur réalisation (qui ressemble encore un peu à un engin de chantier, il faut bien le reconnaître) en star de cinéma, comme R2D2 ou C-3PO.

Source : « Team USA » seeks $500k on Kickstarter for ultimate robot battle with Japan », FastCompany, 18 août 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.