After Toyota, Mercedes replaces robots by humans

Mercedes-Sindelfingen while sales of industrial robots are the fixed beautiful, Markus Schaefer, the Director of the production of Mercedes has announced that German industry would turn back for automation in its model factory in Sindelfingen.

Robots will have to give way to humans on the S class assembly line, far more versatile than their Cyber liners. An ad shock but not unprecedented. Toyota had arrived at the same conclusion a year earlier. Be careful however not to draw hasty conclusions.

The evenge of the blue-collar about robots

Those who see the future plants completely robotic and without human presence will have to reconsider their opinion. Mercedes will replace robots by workers on the Assembly line of the S-class, the top of the range of manufacturer prestigious. A detail that is not a catalog of options of this model is particularly rich and… Infinite Combinatorics of these options. D Mercedes-Sindelfingen-ouvriers erve of robotize in order to oversimplify the fitting of such a vehicle, which pushed Markus Schaefer to declare: “robots can manage the customization and multiple versions we have today. We earn money and preserve our future by employing more people.”

Mercedes revises its approach to its luxury vehicle Assembly, but the decision of the head does not cause the robotization of the production of less complex vehicles.

Toyota has shown the way in 2014

Toyota had made the same announcement of replacement of a few robots by workers at the Japan, but advanced reasons here a little less than a year its quite different. This is not the vehicles excessive customization that led the Japanese automaker to reconsider its approach to robotization. Mitsuru Kawai, veteran of the company, is to maneuver. Toyota-plant commissioned by Akio Toyoda to relearn ‘profession’ to young workers who swear by the robotisations and automata, it seeks to reinstate in the factories the spirit of the “Kami-sama”, these highly skilled workers able to hold multiple workstations and especially improve processes they mastered completely. These workers “gods” and the continuous “Kaizen” improvement approach are part of the House culture that allowed Toyota to become world number 1 and Akio Toyoda seeks to restore in its factories.

Shift from an approach where the worker is no longer only feed a machine or a robot an approach where humans can promote genuine knowledge and demonstrate initiative and flexibility, it is perhaps also the 4th industrial revolution.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources:

“Why Mercedes Is Halting Robots’ Reign on the Production Line”, Industry Week, February 25, 2016

Mercedes Boots Robots From the Production Line”, BloombergBusiness, February 25, 2016

“Toyota Veteran Rises to Corporate Office From Factory Floor”, The Wall Street Journal, March 27, 2015

“Toyota is becoming more efficient by replacing robots with humans”, Quartz, April 7, 2014

Humans Replacing Robots Herald Toyota’s Vision of Future”, BloombergBusiness, April 7, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Après Toyota, Mercedes remplace à son tour des robots par des humains

Mercedes-SindelfingenAlors que les ventes de robots industriels sont au beau fixe, Markus Schaefer, le directeur de la production de Mercedes vient d’annoncer que l’industriel allemand allait faire machine arrière en matière de robotisation dans son usine modèle de Sindelfingen.

Des robots vont devoir céder la place à des humains sur la chaîne de montage de la classe S, bien plus polyvalents que leurs doublures cybernétiques. Une annonce choc mais pas inédite. Toyota était arrivé à la même conclusion un an plus tôt. Attention toutefois à ne pas en tirer des conclusions hâtives.

La revanche des cols bleus sur les robots

A ceux qui voient des usines du futur totalement robotisées et sans présence humaine vont devoir revoir leur opinion. Mercedes va remplacer des robots par des ouvriers sur la chaîne d’assemblage de la Classe S, le haut de la gamme du prestigieux constructeur. Un détail qui n’en est pas un car le catalogue d’options de ce modèle est particulièrement riche et la combinatoire de ces options… infinie. DMercedes-Sindelfingen-ouvriersifficile de robotiser à outrance le montage d’un tel véhicule, ce qui a poussé Markus Schaefer à déclarer : « Les robots ne peuvent gérer la personnalisation et les multiples versions que nous avons aujourd’hui. Nous gagnons de l’argent et préservons notre futur en employant plus de personnes. »

Mercedes revoit son approche vis-à-vis du montage de ses véhicules de luxe, mais la décision du responsable ne remet pas en cause la  robotisation de la production des véhicules moins complexes.

Toyota avait montré la voie en 2014

Toyota avait fait la même annonce de remplacement de quelques robots par des ouvriers au Japon, mais les raisons avancées voici un peu moins d’un an son assez différente.  Ce n’est pas la personnalisation à outrance des véhicules qui a poussé le constructeur japonais à revoir son approche vis-à-vis de la robotisation. Mitsuru Kawai, vétéran de l’entreprise, est à la manœuvre. Toyota-plantMissionné par Akio Toyoda afin de réapprendre « le métier » aux jeunes ouvriers qui ne jurent que par la robotisations et les automates, celui-ci cherche à réinstaurer dans les usines l’esprit des « Kami-sama », ces ouvriers hautement qualifiés capables de tenir plusieurs postes de travail et surtout d’améliorer des processus qu’ils maîtrisent totalement. Ces ouvriers « dieux » et l’approche d’amélioration continue « Kaizen » font partie de la culture maison qui a permis à Toyota de devenir numéro 1 mondial et que Akio Toyoda cherche à restaurer dans ses usines.

Passer d’une approche où l’ouvrier ne fait plus qu’alimenter une machine ou un robot à une approche où l’humain peut valoriser un véritable savoir-faire et faire preuve d’initiative et de flexibilité, c’est peut-être aussi ça la 4ième révolution industrielle.

Sources :

« Why Mercedes Is Halting Robots’ Reign on the Production Line », Industry Week, 25 février 2016

« Mercedes Boots Robots From the Production Line », BloombergBusiness, 25 février 2016

« Toyota Veteran Rises to Corporate Office From Factory Floor », The Wall Street Journal, 27 mars 2015

« Toyota is becoming more efficient by replacing robots with humans », Quartz, 7 avril 2014

« Humans Replacing Robots Herald Toyota’s Vision of Future », BloombergBusiness, 7 avril 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.