Microsoft / Google: face to face in the Internet of things

Campus_MicrosoftThe high-tech titans have adopted strategies radically to address a potentially colossal market. Google has widely opened his wallet and multiplies chips shots to win quickly. Facing him, the world’s number one software proves strangely discreet. Microsoft lays his pieces one by one. Cloud service, incubator for startups, the American initiatives seem modest next to the stake. Microsoft hides his game?

Big bet of Google on the the Internet of things

s the Redmond giant moving next to the revolution of the Internet of things? Last week, Microsoft announced the creation of an incubator for startups in the area of the “home automation” on its Redmond campus. An initiative that seems well measured against the recent acquisitions of Google.

One can expect a rain of announcement this week at Google I/O. What will be the reply from Microsoft?

One can expect a rain of announcement this week at Google I/O. What will be the reply from Microsoft?

3.2 billion dollars invested to take control of Nest and her thermostat connected in February 2014, $ 555 million cash for the connected cameras of Dropcam here 3 days ago, Google is on the offensive, and not only to acquisitions coup. From the point of view innovations, we know probably more when the next Google I/O which takes place on 25 and 26 June in San Francisco. Expected ads on Android Wear, the ultra-light version of Android to the Wearables, as well as the connected watch motorcycle 360, that of LG, etc.

Do Microsoft hide his game on ‘wearables ‘?

Faced with this hyper-activity, Microsoft announced this incubator in partnership with American Family Insurance. On April 15, Microsoft had unveiled Microsoft Azure Intelligent Systems Service, a service Cloud Computing dedicated to connected objects, a service to collect their data.

The tracker of activity according to Microsoft, a patent filed in October 2012.

The tracker of activity according to Microsoft, a patent filed in October 2012.

A new Cloud product in a straight line with Big Data services already supported by the Microsoft Azure cloud. Although little face that Google has already achieved. The mystery still around remains on what the ‘ Internet of Things ‘ team prepare a Redmond. At the beginning of the year, a leaked information as what the team Windows Embedded had renamed the ‘Internet of Things Team’. ZDNet, analyzing profiles LinkedIn of the members of the team, concluded that it is working on the non-PC operating systems: tablets, smartphones, consoles, but also equipment industrial, automotive, consumer electronics and wearables. For the moment, no trace of a ‘Windows Wear» catalogue Microsoft Windows Embedded. Imagine that hundreds of millions of dollars swallowed up to support sales of Tablet Surface should inspire some caution to Satya Nadella, Microsoft’s new CEO.
Google pays the price very early positioning in this market still nascent connected objects, Microsoft probably has the same aims but more cautious. Which of the two will be in the end?

Translation : Bing Translation

Sources :

“Google’s Nest Buys Dropcam for $555 Million”, re/code, June 20, 2014

“Microsoft announces home automation accelerator to fast-track Internet of Things”, PCWorld, June 17, 2014

“Microsoft and American Family Insurance launch startup accelerator focused on home automation”, Communiqué Microsoft, June 17, 2014

“Microsoft dévoile Azure Intelligent Systems Service”, Developpez.com, April 28, 2014

“Microsoft staffs up its evolving Internet of Things team”, ZDNet, 11 février 2014

Patent on a Wearable Personal Information System filed by Microsoft on October 29, 2012, USPTO

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Microsoft / Google : face à face dans l’Internet des objets

Campus_MicrosoftLes titans de la high-tech ont adopté des stratégies radicalement pour aborder un marché potentiellement colossal. Google a ouvert largement son porte-feuille et multiplie les coups d’éclats pour s’imposer rapidement. Face à lui, le numéro un mondial du logiciel se montre étrangement discret. Microsoft pose ses pièces une à une. Service Cloud, incubateur de startups, les initiatives de l’américain semblent bien modestes en regard de l’enjeu. Microsoft cache-t-il son jeu ?

Google mise gros sur l’essor de l’Internet des objets

Le géant de Redmond est-il en train de passer à côté de la révolution de l’Internet des objets ? LA semaine dernière, Microsoft annonçait la création d’un incubateur de startups dans le domaine du « home automation » sur son campus de Redmond. Une initiative qui semble bien mesurée face aux dernières acquisitions de Google.

On peut s'attendre à une pluie d'annonce cette semaine lors de Google I/O. Quelle sera la réplique de Microsoft ?

On peut s’attendre à une pluie d’annonce cette semaine lors de Google I/O. Quelle sera la réplique de Microsoft ?

3,2 milliards de dollars investis pour prendre le contrôle de Nest et son thermostat connecté en février 2014, 555 millions de dollars cash pour les caméras connectées de Dropcam voici 3 jours de cela, Google est à l’offensive, et pas seulement à coup d’acquisitions. Du point de vue innovations, on en saura probablement plus lors du prochain Google I/O qui se tient les 25 et 26 juin à San Francisco. On attend des annonces sur Android Wear, la version ultra-light d’Android pour les Wearables, ainsi que sur la montre connectée Moto 360, celle de LG, etc.

Microsoft cache-t-il son jeu sur les « wearables » ?

Face à cette hyper-activité, Microsoft a donc annoncé cet incubateur en partenariat avec American Family Insurance. Le 15 avril dernier, Microsoft avait dévoilé Microsoft Azure Intelligent Systems Service, un service Cloud Computing dédié aux objets connectés, un service destiné à recueillir leurs données.

Le tracker d'actvité selon Microsoft, un brevet déposé en octobre 2012.

Le tracker d’actvité selon Microsoft, un brevet déposé en octobre 2012.

Un nouveau produit Cloud en droite ligne avec les services Big Data déjà supportés par le cloud Microsoft Azure. Bien peu de chose face à ce que Google a déjà réalisé. Le mystère reste encore entier sur ce que la team « Internet of Things » prépare a Redmond. Au début de l’année, une information a fuitée comme quoi l’équipe Windows Embedded avait été rebaptisée la « Internet of  Things Team ». ZDNet, analysant les profils LinkedIn des membres de l’équipe, en a déduit que celle-ci travaille sur les systèmes d’exploitation pour les non-PC : tablettes, smartphones, consoles, mais aussi équipements industriels, automobiles, électronique grand public et… wearables. Pour l’instant, pas de trace d’un « Windows Wear » au catalogue Microsoft Windows Embedded. On imagine que les centaines de millions de dollars engloutis pour soutenir les ventes de tablettes Surface doivent inspirer une certaine prudence à Satya Nadella, le nouveau PDG de Microsoft.
Google paye au prix fort son positionnement précoce sur ce marché encore naissant des objets connectés, Microsoft a probablement les même visées mais se montre plus prudent. Lequel des deux aura au final ?

Sources :
« Google’s Nest Buys Dropcam for $555 Million », re/code, 20 juin 2014
« Microsoft announces home automation accelerator to fast-track Internet of Things », PCWorld, 17 juin 2014
« Microsoft and American Family Insurance launch startup accelerator focused on home automation », Communiqué Microsoft, 17 juin 2014
« Microsoft dévoile Azure Intelligent Systems Service », Developpez.com, 28 avril 2014
« Microsoft staffs up its evolving Internet of Things team », ZDNet, 11 février 2014
Brevet de Wearable Personal Information System déposé par Microsoft le 29 octobre 2012, USPTO

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.