Project Irides: Microsoft places the virtual reality in the Cloud

OculusThe processing power is a thorny aspect of virtual reality, including for eyewear designers. This is the key to a good immersion condition in the virtual world. If the onboard power is insufficient to display the 3D scene, latency, that is, the delay of posting images of the 3D scene based on the movements of the wearer of the bezel elongates. More images in choppy, a virtual universe shifted and it is an immersive effect that soars. Many of those who tried the first models of Oculus experienced a feeling of seasickness due to latency. 30 ms of latency are enough to make the uncomfortable scene. For Microsoft researchers, there is a solution, the Cloud.

Microsoft pushes its Azure Cloud to run 3D games and applications of VR

A few days ago, Microsoft Research researchers published details of its technology Kahawai. It can alleviate the graphics chip an Xbox or a cellphone to display complex 3D scenes. some of the treatment are transferred to a server in the Cloud. Kahawai uses the Microsoft Azure Cloud Computing service to calculate the 3D scenes and then send back them in the form of h.264 video easily display by a few powerful terminal. The approach applies to video games, but also virtual reality where it could provide an answer to this need for low latency time.
Microsoft-Project-IridesMicrosoft wants to apply this approach to the game, but also to virtual reality helmets. These, which should remain light can have an electronics very powerful, less than reattach them to a powerful PC, as is the case of the Oculus. In the demonstration presented by researchers, researchers have reduced latency in a 120 ms 3D scene to 13 ms only. There again, the calculations were deported in the Cloud. The device therefore has unlimited computing power. Arises however latency introduced by Internet because if the scene can be calculated very quickly, we need to transmit the video stream via the Internet. Researchers have circumvented the constraint by anticipating the calculations based on the move initiated by the bearer of the headset. Images are calculated in advance, transmitted and it is the headset that displays if they correspond to the movement.
The Cloud, a solution to applications of virtual reality without limits of complexity and seasickness in the key? The solution, yet unimaginable a few years ago now seems possible.

Translation : Bing Translation

Source :

“Irides: Attaining Quality, Responsiveness and Mobility for Virtual Reality Head-mounted Displays”, vidéo Microsoft Research, May 1, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in 3D and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Project Irides : Microsoft place la réalité virtuelle dans le Cloud

OculusLa puissance de traitement est un aspect épineux de la réalité virtuelle, notamment pour les concepteurs de lunettes. C’est la condition clef à une bonne immersion dans le monde virtuelle. Si la puissance embarquée est insuffisante pour afficher la scène 3D, le temps de latence, c’est à dire le délai d’affichage des images de la scène 3D en fonction des mouvements du porteur des lunettes s’allonge. Des images de plus en plus en saccadées, un univers virtuel décalé et c’est un effet immersif qui s’envole. Beaucoup de ceux qui ont essayé les premiers modèles d’Oculus ont éprouvé un sentiment de mal de mer à cause de cette latence. 30 ms de latence suffisent pour rendre la scène inconfortable. Pour les chercheurs de Microsoft, il existe une solution, le Cloud.

Microsoft pousse son Cloud Azure pour exécuter des jeux 3D et des applications de VR

Il y a quelques jours, les chercheurs de Microsoft Research publiaient les détails de sa technologie Kahawai. Celle-ci permet de soulager la puce graphique d’une Xbox ou d’un téléphone portable pour afficher des scènes 3D complexes. une partie des traitement sont transférés à un serveur dans le Cloud. Kahawai utilise le service de Cloud Computing Azure de Microsoft pour calculer les scènes 3D puis les renvoyer sous forme de flux vidéo H.264 facilement affichage par un terminal peu puissant. L’approche s’applique au jeux vidéo, mais aussi à la réalité virtuelle où elle pourraient apporter une réponse à ce besoin de faibles temps de latence.

Microsoft-Project-IridesMicrosoft veut appliquer cette approche au jeu, mais aussi aux casques de réalité virtuelle. Ceux-ci, qui doivent rester léger ne peuvent disposer d’une électronique très puissante, à moins de les rattacher à un PC puissant, comme c’est le cas des Oculus. Dans la démonstration présentée par les chercheurs, les chercheurs ont ramené le temps de latence d’une scène 3D de 120 ms à 13 ms seulement. Là encore, les calculs sont déportés dans le Cloud. Le dispositif dispose donc d’une puissance de calcul illimitée. Se pose néanmoins le temps de latence introduit par Internet puisque si la scène peut être calculée très rapidement, encore faut-il transmettre le flux vidéo via Internet. Les chercheurs ont contourné la contrainte en anticipant les calculs en fonction du mouvement engagé par le porteur du caque. Les images sont calculées à l’avance, transmises et c’est le casque qui les affiche si elles correspondent bien au mouvement.

Le Cloud, une solution vers des applications de réalité virtuelle sans limites de complexité et sans mal de mer à la clef ? La solution, encore inimaginable il y a quelques années semble maintenant possible.

Source :

« Irides: Attaining Quality, Responsiveness and Mobility for Virtual Reality Head-mounted Displays », vidéo Microsoft Research, 1 mai 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.