MIDCAS, a program to fly the drones in the air traffic

midcasAlready unattractive originally, the Alenia Aermacchi ucav Sky-Y implemented under research MIDCAS program now is downright awful.
Researchers have covered this poor device of multiple sensors so that it can fly in civilian air traffic safely, it means showing capable of performing an emergency avoidance manoeuvre. Led by the EDA (European Defence Agency), research MIDCAS for Mid Air Collision Avoidance System program coming to an end and the results are there.

A drone capable of evaluating its position relative to surrounding airplanes

CASA C 212 de la DGA

First flight of the MIDCAS system tests conducted on Casa C 212, the DGA flight test centre, before moving to the drone.

A drone that follows his flight plan, suddenly a small plane flying club is looming on the horizon. The pilot had not seen the drone and, unfortunately, devices are approaching inexorably, the disaster seems inevitable. For the drone operator, all goes well, the aircraft’s flight parameters are correct. Suddenly the drone spotted the aircraft approaching him and performs an avoidance manoeuvre. A simple childlike turn for any student pilot, a technical challenge for a drone.
It is at the Paris Air Show 2009 show that representing 5 European countries signed the Act of birth of the MIDCAS project, conducted under the auspices of the European Defence Agency. A 4-year project with a budget of EUR 50 million in which speakers not less than 11 European industrialists. Swedish Saab leads the project, in partnership with Sagem and Thales side french Airbus D & S Diehl BGT Defence, DLR and ESG side German, Alenia Aermacchi, Selex, CIRA for the Italy and finally Indra for the Spain.
First test flight campaigns were conducted in 2010 and 2011 on a piloted aircraft, a CASA C 212 flight test centre. It, large enough to accommodate a test bench. In the nose of the aircraft have been placed on the market and camera infrared sensors, algorithms were able to be validated prior to installing the equipment in a real drone, a Sky – Y. From December 2014, this drone began its test from the Italian base of Grazzanise flights.
Besides the camera, infrared sensors and radar, “cooperative” equipment, the drone was equipped with a FFI and ADS – B, “cooperative” equipment, that is to say capable of exchanging data with the surrounding planes, so much more data to process for the drone who can thus have a better vision of his environment (awareness), then the items to calculate the best path of avoidance.

The drone Alenia Aermacchi Sky - Y MIDCAS project with its sensors.

The drone Alenia Aermacchi Sky – Y MIDCAS project with its sensors.

While the project comes to an end, Peter Round, Director ‘Capability, Armament & Technology’ of the EDA considers that the project has produced tangible results, ” leverage critical to the development of UAVs in the European skies. . »

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “MIDCAS demonstrates progress for RPAS integration into civil airspace”, EDA press release, April 30, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

MIDCAS, un programme pour faire voler les drones dans le trafic aérien

midcasDéjà peu esthétique à l’origine, le drone Sky-Y d’Alenia Aermacchi mis en oeuvre dans le cadre du programme de recherche MIDCAS est maintenant carrément affreux.

Les chercheurs ont bardé ce pauvre appareil de multiples capteurs afin que celui-ci puisse voler dans le trafic aérien civil en toute sûreté, c’est à dire en se montrant capable de réaliser une manœuvre d’évitement en cas d’urgence. Mené par l’EDA (European Defence Agency), le programme de recherche MIDCAS pour Mid Air Collision Avoidance System touche à sa fin et les résultats sont là.

Un drone capable d’évaluer sa position par rapport aux avions environnants

CASA C 212 de la DGA

Les premiers tests en vol du système MIDCAS ont été réalisés sur le Casa C 212 du centre d’essai en vol de la DGA, avant de passer au drone.

Un drone qui suit son plan de vol, soudain un petit avion aéro-club se profile à l’horizon. Le pilote n’a pas vu le drone et, malheureusement, les appareils se rapprochent inexorablement, la catastrophe semble inéluctable. Pour l’opérateur du drone, tout va bien, les paramètres de vol de l’appareil sont corrects. Soudain le drone repère l’avion qui se rapproche de lui et effectue une manœuvre d’évitement. Un simple virage enfantin pour n’importe quel élève pilote, un défi technique pour un drone.

C’est lors du salon du Bourget 2009 que les représentant de 5 pays Européens ont signé l’acte de naissance du projet MIDCAS, mené sous l’égide de l’European Defence Agency. Un projet de 4 ans doté d’un budget de 50 millions d’euros dans lequel interviennent pas moins de 11 industriels européens. Le suédois Saab mène le projet, en partenariat avec Sagem et Thales côté français, Airbus D&S, Diehl BGT Defence, DLR et ESG côté allemand, Alenia Aermacchi, Selex ES, CIRA pour l’Italie et enfin Indra pour l’Espagne.

Les premières campagnes d’essai en vol ont été menées en 2010 et 2011 sur un appareil piloté, un CASA C 212 du centre d’essai en vol. Celui-ci, suffisamment large pour accueillir un banc de test. Dans le nez de l’appareil ont été placés des capteurs infrarouges du marché et de caméra, les algorithmes ont pu être validés avant d’installer les équipements dans un véritable drone, un Sky-Y. A partir de décembre 2014, ce drone a commencé ses vols d’essai à partir de la base italienne de Grazzanise.

Outre les les caméras, capteurs infrarouges et radar, des équipement « non-coopératifs », le  drone a été équipé d’un IFF et d’un ADS-B, équipements « coopératifs », c’est à dire capables d’échanger des données avec les avions environnants, donc beaucoup plus de données à traiter pour le drone qui peut ainsi avoir une meilleure vision de son environnement (awareness), puis les les éléments pour calculer la meilleure trajectoire d’évitement.

Le drone Alenia Aermacchi Sky-Y du projet MIDCAS bardé de ses capteurs.

Le drone Alenia Aermacchi Sky-Y du projet MIDCAS bardé de ses capteurs.

Alors que le projet arrive à son terme, Peter Round, directeur « Capability, Armament & Technology » de l’EDA estime que le projet a produit des résultats tangibles, « un levier critique à l’essor des drones dans les cieux européens.  »

Source : « MIDCAS demonstrates progress for RPAS integration into civil airspace », Communiqué de presse EDA, 30 avril 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.