Robots and 3D printing, the builders of tomorrow?

MiniBuildersThe images have made around the world. A Chinese businessman who built 10 houses in 24 hours thanks to 3D printing. A huge printer that produced the prefabricated panel from recycled materials. Cost of amounts less than $ 5,000 for a 200 m2 House, if one is not looking at the finish, the case is unbeatable. It may be possible to do better, much better. The Spaniards of the IAAC proposes a more ambitious approach: combining Robotics and 3D printing.

Giant 3D printer or a myriad of robot-printers?

2

To achieve his feat, Ma Yihe de Yingchuang New Materials has resorted to a 3D printer large format. 10 m x 6.6 m x 150 m, 3D printer, it is the plant itself. Approach totally opposite from that of the researchers at the Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia: IAAC. Also believe in 3D printing as a technology of the future for the building, but the MiniBuilders project team adopted a radically different approach. Rather than building a giant 3D printer, these were designed robots of small size which, designed to work in a group may produce on the ground building geometry and size not limited by the printer 3D itself.
7The Minibuilders team has designed 3 types of robots 3D printing. The first built the base walls, the second enhance them up to the desired height, the third is able to mount vertically to ensure finishes. These three Minirobots are controlled and powered a master robot in concrete. For the moment, it is that of prototypes, the main robot has only to an Arduino board as “brain” and, according to the presented videos, that controls a robot at a time. One can imagine in the future of the myriads of small robots, all controlled and coordinated by a robotic head of work too.

Sources :

“These Cute Little Drones Could 3-D Print a House”, Wired, June26, 2014
“The 3D printing revolution: Architects promise anything from a new floor to an entire skyscraper”, TheIndependant, June 19 2014
“Giant 3D printer creates 10 full-sized houses in a DAY: Bungalows built from layers of waste materials cost less than £3,000 each”, DailyMail, April 28, 2014
“Chinese firm 3D prints 10 full-sized homes in a day – Video”, ConstructionEnquirer, April 28, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D, Robotique and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Robots et imprimantes 3D, les bâtisseurs de demain ?

MiniBuildersLes images ont fait le tour du monde. Un industriel chinois qui bâtit 10 maisons en 24 heures seulement grâce à l’impression 3D. Une énorme imprimante qui a permis de produire les panneau préfabriqués a partir de matériaux recyclés. Coût de revient inférieur à 5.000$ pour une maison de 200 m2, si on est pas regardant sur les finition, l’affaire est imbattable. Il est peut-être possible de faire mieux, beaucoup mieux. Les espagnols de l’IAAC propose une approche plus ambitieuse : combiner robotique et impression 3D.

Imprimante 3D géante ou mini-robots imprimeurs ?

2

Pour réussir son tour de force, Ma Yihe de Yingchuang New Materials a eu recours à une imprimante 3D grand format. 10m x 6.6m x 150m, l’imprimante 3D, c’est l’usine elle-même. L’approche totalement inverse de celle des chercheurs de l’Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia: IAAC. Eux-aussi croient en l’impression 3D comme une technologie d’avenir pour le bâtiment, mais l’équipe du projet MiniBuilders a adopté une approche radicalement différente. Plutôt que de construire une imprimante 3D géante, ceux-ci on conçu des robots de petite taille qui, conçus pour travailler en groupe pourront produire sur le terrain des bâtiments aux géométries et de taille non limitée par l’imprimante 3D elle-même.
7L’équipe Minibuilders a conçu 3 types de robots l’impression 3D. Le premier construit la base des murs, le second les rehaussent jusqu’à la hauteur voulue, le troisième est capable de monter verticalement pour assurer les finitions. Ces trois Minirobots sont contrôlés et alimentés en béton par un robot maître. Pour l’instant, il ne s’agit encore que de prototypes, le robot principal n’est doté que d’une carte Arduino comme « cerveau » et, d’après les vidéos présentées, ne contrôle qu’un robot à la fois. On peut imaginer dans le futur des myriades de petit robots spécialisés, tous contrôlés et coordonnés par un chef de travaux lui-aussi robotisé.

Sources :

« These Cute Little Drones Could 3-D Print a House », Wired, 26 juin 2014
« The 3D printing revolution: Architects promise anything from a new floor to an entire skyscraper », TheIndependant, 19 juin 2014
« Giant 3D printer creates 10 full-sized houses in a DAY: Bungalows built from layers of waste materials cost less than £3,000 each », DailyMail, 28 avril 2014
« Chinese firm 3D prints 10 full-sized homes in a day – Video », ConstructionEnquirer, 28 avril 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.