NASA prepares drone flights to Mars

Drone-martienThis is still a first exploratory project and yet the concept is already well advanced, built a prototype. Engineers lab Swamp Works NASA Kennedy Space Center are working on a drone that could one day complement the work of Rover Curiosity type robots going to fly above the craters too steep for these machines. Extreme Access baptized Flyers, drones could one day roam the Martian air, the objective being a drone can carry several thousand flights during his lifetime. Problem: how to charge the batteries in this quadcopter?

Research on “space” drones were launched here 2 years

NASA is working on the idea of sending a quadcopter or rather more on the red planet to take pictures and to take samples to places inaccessible to robots. A technical challenge in many ways. First, the density of the Martian atmosphere is less than that of the earth. No doubt currently the propellers mounted on the prototype will be hard to take off the gear.

The Asteroid Prospector Flyer prototype test (Photo: NASA)

The Asteroid Prospector Flyer prototype test (Photo: NASA)

Battery charging is obviously another point to be treated for engineers. To overcome the various breakdowns and accidents, several drones will be sent to Mars as part of the same mission. The “lander” basis for UAVs. They will recharge it and submit their sampling. NASA must also solve the problem of the lack of GPS on the sister planet of earth. Drones will have to find their way to the lander on their own, without help from the earth. Beacon Radio, lasers or field reconnaissance, engineers will have to choose the most reliable option knowing that they hope to fly their drones thousands of times.

The project started here 2 years now on fundamental bricks and several types of drones multiple sizes are being considered. The Martian quadcopter should not use propellers but gas or steam jets to maintain flight and orientation. A prototype, dubbed Asteroid Prospector Flyer has been designed to operate in 0 gravity and could be used for operating astériodes. Drones in the conquest of space, it’s coming!

Translation : Google Translate

Source : “Extreme Access Flyer to Take Planetary Exploration Airborne”, NASA, july 30, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

La Nasa prépare des vols de drones sur Mars

Drone-martienCe n’est encore un premier projet exploratoire et pourtant le concept est déjà bien avancé, un prototype construit. Les ingénieurs du labo Swamp Works de la NASA du centre spatial Kennedy travaillent sur un drone qui pourrait un jour compléter le travail des robots de type Curiosity Rover en allant voler au-dessus des cratères bien trop pentus pour ces machines. Baptisés Extreme Access Flyers, des drones pourraient un jour sillonner l’air martien, l’objectif étant qu’un drone puisse réaliser plusieurs milliers de vols au cours de sa durée de vie. Problème : comment recharger les batteries de ce quadcopter ?

Les recherches sur les drones « spatiaux » ont été lancées voici 2 ans

La NASA travaille donc sur l’idée d’envoyer un quadcopter ou plutôt plusieurs sur la planète rouge afin de prendre des photos et d’effectuer des prélèvements aux endroits inaccessibles aux robots. Un défi technique sur bien des plans. D’une part, la densité de l’atmosphère martienne est plus faible que celle de la terre. Nul doute que les hélices actuellement montées sur le prototype auront bien du mal à faire décoller l’engin.

Le prototype Asteroid Prospector Flyer en test (Photo: NASA)

Le prototype Asteroid Prospector Flyer en test (Photo: NASA)

Le chargement des batteries est bien évidemment un autre point à traiter pour les ingénieurs. Pour palier aux pannes et accidents divers, plusieurs drones vont être expédiés sur Mars dans le cadre d’une même mission. Le « lander » servira de base pour les drones. Ils viendront s’y recharger et déposer leurs prélèvement. La NASA doit aussi résoudre le problème de l’absence de GPS sur la planète sœur de la terre. Les drones vont devoir retrouver leur chemin vers le lander par leurs propres moyens, sans aide de la terre. Balise radio, lasers ou reconnaissance de terrain, les ingénieurs vont devoir choisir l’option la plus fiable sachant qu’ils espère faire voler leurs drones plusieurs milliers de fois.

Le projet a démarré voici 2 ans maintenant sur les briques fondamentale et plusieurs types de drones de multiples tailles sont à l’étude. Le quadcopter martien ne devrait pas utiliser d’hélices mais des jets de gaz ou de vapeur pour se maintenir en vol et s’orienter. Un prototype, baptisé Asteroid Prospector Flyer a été conçu pour fonctionner en gravité 0 et pourrait être utilisé pour l’exploitation d’astériodes. Les drones à la conquête de l’espace, c’est pour bientôt !

Source : « Extreme Access Flyer to Take Planetary Exploration Airborne », NASA, 30 juillet 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.