NASA thinks on IA and Blockchain for Next Interstellar Probe

Nasa is thinking about embarking artificial intelligence and a blockchain in its future space probes. This is the purpose of the RNCP research program (resilient networking and computing paradigm) which aims to develop the software platform that will equip the future probes of the American space agency. The aim is to create a reliable communication system in spite of the enormous distances for probes that will have to leave the solar system, probes that will have a capacity for autonomous action.

Direction : Alpha Centauris in… 2069

In December 2017, NASA revealed its intention to launch a probe to Centauri Alpha to explore an exoplanet near the nearest star near our solar system, more than 4 light-years away. The journey could last more than 40 years, which means that the probe must be autonomous thanks to artificial intelligence and fuzzy logic, especially to face faults that will inevitably occur during the flight. Another technological brick studied by Nasa engineers for its future spacecraft, the blockchain.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

At the head of this long-term research, Assistant Professor Jin Wei Kocsis of Akron University intends to implement a block chine to create a decentralized and secure data processing infrastructure to process and transmit the scientific data gleaned by the probe. The architecture imagined by the researcher will be of the SDN type (Software-Defined / defined by software) in order to be able to climb to scale throughout the mission. Data processing will need to implement Deep Learning and fuzzy logic to deal with the unexpected.

Obviously, such an architecture will have to be tried and tested before it can be launched to conquer Alpha du Centaure. Researchers will use a platform based on the IA Open Source Tensorflow solution, Ethereum, the Matlab/Simulink simulation software, and Mininet and NS3 to simulate the system on the ground. It will then be embarked on low-Earth orbiting satellites before heading into deep space.

Sources:

“Exclusive: NASA has begun plans for a 2069 interstellar mission”, NewScientist, 19 December 2017

“Researcher help NASA develop satellites that think on their own”, EurekAlert, 15 September 2017!

“RNCP: A Resilient Networking and Computing Paradigm for NASA Space Exploration”, NASA, August 15,2017

 

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique, , Intelligence artificiellle and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

La Nasa réfléchit à une IA et une blockchain pour sa prochaine sonde interstellaire

La Nasa réfléchit à embarquer de l’intelligence artificielle et une blockchain dans ses futures sondes spatiales. C’est l’objet du programme de recherche RNCP (resilient networking and computing paradigm) qui vise à mettre au point la plateforme logicielle qui équipera les futures sondes de l’agence spatiale américaine. L’objectif est de créer un système de communication fiable en dépit des distances colossales pour des sondes amenées à quitter le système solaire, sondes qui disposeront d’une capacité d’action autonome.

Direction Alpha du Centaure en… 2069

En décembre 2017, la Nasa révélait son intention de lancer une sonde à destination d’Alpha du Centaure afin d’explorer une exoplanète auprès de la plus proche étoile près de notre système solaire, c’est à dire à plus de 4 années-lumière. Le voyage pourrait durer plus de 40 ans, ce qui veut dire que la sonde doit être autonome grâce à l’intelligence artificielle et la logique floue, notamment pour faire face aux pannes qui ne manqueront pas de survenir lors du vol. Autre brique technologique étudiée par les ingénieurs de la Nasa pour ses futurs engins spatiaux, la blockchain.

A la tête de cette recherche à long terme, le professeur assistant Jin Wei Kocsis de l’université d’Akron compte mettre en oeuvre une blockchain pour créer une infrastructure de traitement de données décentralisée et sûre pour traiter et transmettre les données scientifiques glanées par la sonde. L’architecture imaginée par le chercheur sera du type SDN (Software-Defined / définie par logiciel) afin de pouvoir monter à l’échelle tout au long de la mission. Le traitement des données devra mettre en oeuvre le Deep Learning et la logique floue pour faire face à l’imprévu.

Bien évidemment une telle architecture devra être éprouvée avant d’être lancée à la conquête d’Alpha du Centaure. Les chercheurs vont utiliser une plateforme basée sur la solution d’IA Open Source Tensorflow, sur Ethereum, le logiciel de simulation Matlab/Simulink, ainsi que Mininet et NS3 afin de simuler le système au sol. Il sera ensuite embarqué dans des satellites en orbite basse avant de partir à l’assaut de l’espace profond.

Sources :

« Exclusive: NASA has begun plans for a 2069 interstellar mission », NewScientist, 19 décembre 2017

« Researcher helps NASA develop satellites that think on their own », EurekAlert!, 15 septembre 2017

« RNCP: A Resilient Networking and Computing Paradigm for NASA Space Exploration », NASA, 15 août 2017

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, Blockchain, Intelligence artificielle, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.