Electric aircraft: NASA tests a new approach

LEAPTechAt the last salon du Bourget, Airbus presented its E-Fan, light aircraft powered by two Kort driven by 2 motors with a power of 60 kW. NASA also funds research projects on electric propulsion of aircraft light. The LEAPTech project contrasts with the usual aircraft configurations. This 4-seater aircraft has not less than 20 motors and as many propellers. Better, these propellers are folding when the phase of flight does not require full power. This is what NASA calls the distributed electric propulsion.

Multiple motors to blow on the wing

CFD Simulation from the flow of the stream of the propellers on the profile of the wing.

CFD Simulation from the flow of the stream of the propellers on the profile of the wing.

How not to think these multirotors drones where designers multiply the propellers and electric motors to increase the burden of their devices. With its LEAPTech approach, NASA tests the concept on an fixed wing aircraft. For now, his wing equipped with engines Vingts is being tested on a truck after having passed the test of the blower.

This mode of propulsion, if it keeps its present promises multiple benefits. In addition to the low impact of a failure engine on flight, dispose of the propellers of small size on the length of the wing allows increase the pressure of the air on the wing at low speed. Engineers can must design a wing optimized for cruise flight. Joby Aviation is working on the prototype of the LEAPTech on behalf of NASA. It is made on the basis of the small twin-engine Tecnam P2006T. The LEAPTech will be a comparable to the Cirrus four ‘traditional’ SR22 will weigh 3,000 pounds against 3.4000 for the SR22 and its wing area will be that of 5.1 m2 against 13.5 m2 for the classic single-engine. Only concession on its rival, the slightly lower top speed. Regarding autonomy, the LEAPTech will be able to fly on 370 km in 100% electric and 740 km in hybrid mode.

Joby S2

Le concept S2 de Joby Aviation.

In addition, researchers are working on propellers with broad blades turning at low speed, thus less noisy than traditional propellers. They are foldable and come to drown in the pods when the corresponding electric motors are stopped. NASA and Joby Aviation ambition does not stop at this light aircraft. A two-seater convertible half & S2 is already in the cards. In a year or two, it might attempt to take to the air thanks to its… 16 propellers.

 
Translation : Bing Translator
 

Sources :

“The Next Big Thing”, Flying, December 30, 2014

“NASA Plans Tests Of Distributed Electric Propulsion”, AviationWeek, July 10, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Avion électrique : La NASA teste une nouvelle approche

LEAPTechLors du dernier salon du Bourget, Airbus a présenté son E-Fan, avion léger propulsé par deux hélices carénées entraînées par 2 moteurs électriques d’une puissance de 60 kW. La NASA finance aussi des projets de recherche portant sur la propulsion électrique d’avion légers. Le projet LEAPTech tranche avec les configurations des avions habituels. Cette appareil de 4 places compte en effet pas moins de 20 moteurs électriques et autant d’hélices. Mieux, ces hélices sont repliables lorsque la phase du vol n’exige pas la pleine puissance. C’est ce que la NASA appelle la propulsion électrique distribuée.

De multiples moteurs électriques pour souffler sur l’aile

Simulation CFD de l'écoulement du flux des hélices sur le profil de l'aile.

Simulation CFD de l’écoulement du flux des hélices sur le profil de l’aile.

Comment ne pas penser à ces drones multirotors où les concepteurs multiplient les hélices et les moteurs électriques pour accroître la charge  de leurs appareils. Avec son approche LEAPTech, la NASA teste le concept sur un appareil à aile fixe. Pour l’instant, son aile équipée de vingts moteurs est en cours de test sur un camion après avoir passé l’épreuve de la soufflerie.
 
Ce mode de propulsion, s’il tient ses promesses présente de multiples avantages. Outre le faible impact d’une panne moteur sur le vol, disposer des hélices de petite taille sur toute la longueur de l’aile permet accroître la pression de l’air sur l’aile à basse vitesse. Les ingénieurs peuvent doit concevoir une aile optimisée pour le vol de croisière. Joby Aviation travaille sur le prototype du LEAPTech pour le compte de la NASA. Celui-ci est réalisé sur la base du petit bimoteur Tecnam P2006T. Le LEAPTech sera un quadriplace comparable au Cirrus SR22 « traditionnel » pèsera 3.000 lb contre 3.4000 pour le SR22 et sa surface alaire ne sera que de 5,1 m2 contre 13,5 m2 pour le monomoteur classique. Seule concession faite sur son rival, la vitesse de pointe légèrement inférieure. Quant à l’autonomie, le LEAPTech pourra voler sur 370 km en mode 100% électrique et 740 km en mode hybride.

Joby S2

Le concept S2 de Joby Aviation.

En outre, les chercheurs travaillent sur des hélices à larges pales tournant à basse vitesse, donc moins bruyantes que  les hélices traditionnelles. Celles-ci sont repliables et viennent se noyer dans les nacelles lorsque les moteurs électriques correspondant sont arrêtés. L’ambition de la NASA et de Joby Aviation ne s’arrête pas à cet avion léger. Un avion convertible biplace mi-avion mi-hélicoptère S2 est déjà dans les cartons. Dans un an ou deux, il pourrait tenter de prendre l’air grâce à ses… 16 hélices.

 

Sources :

« The Next Big Thing », Flying, 30 décembre 2014

« NASA Plans Tests Of Distributed Electric Propulsion », AviationWeek, 10 juillet 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.