NASA successfully tests a fully 3D printed turbopump

turbopompe-nasaThis is one of the cornerstones of a rocket engine. Turbopumps fueling the rocket engine and fuel combustion. Critical mechanical parts that revolves at high speed. For the first time, NASA has tested a turbopump designed to be fully manufactured by 3D printing. It managed to make it work to the blinding speed of 90,000 rpm. Similar in size to that of a washing machine motor at such a speed of rotation, the turbopump delivers over 4,542 liters of liquid hydrogen per minute. This is a key component of the rocket that will take one day man on Mars

45% fewer parts in this turbopump through 3D printing

A la droite du moteur fusée, la turbopompe imprimée en 3D.

To the right of the rocket engine, the turbopump printed in 3D.

Even the most demanding parts can now be produced with 3D printing, including rocket engines. SpaceX already produced the combustion chamber of the rocket engine SuperDraco via 3D printing process DMLS metal (metal laser sintering Direct). This engine has a thrust of 16,000 pounds (7.2 tonnes) and can be reignited multiple times during the flight. This time, NASA tested a turbopump conducted using the laser additive manufacturing technique called SLS (Selective Laser Sintering), a pump capable of feeding a rocket engine thrust of 35,000 pounds (nearly 35 tons). A key component of the engine of the rocket type II Space Launch System Block 143 tonnes as Nasa prepares to bring one day the man on Mars.

In addition to its performance, the turbo has the advantage to have 45% fewer parts than a product equivalent model with conventional processes. A simplification which obviously does not come at the sacrifice of reliability since the turbopump has passed the series of 15 flight simulations which it was submitted this summer.
 

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“Successful NASA Rocket Fuel Pump Tests Pave Way for 3-D Printed Demonstrator Engine”, NASA release, August 26, 2015

“SpaceX completes qualification testing superdraco thruster”, SpaceX press release, April 27, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

La Nasa a testé avec succès une turbopompe réalisée en impression 3D

turbopompe-nasaCe sont des pièces maîtresses d’un moteur de fusée : Les turbopompes alimentent le moteur fusée en carburant et comburant. Des pièces mécaniques critiques qui tournent à très haute vitesse pour délivrer de très hautes performances. Pour la première fois, la Nasa a testé une turbopompe entièrement conçue pour être fabriquée par impression 3D. Celle-ci est parvenue à la faire fonctionner à la vitesse ahurissante de 90.000 tours par minute. D’une taille comparable à celle d’un moteur de machine à laver, à une telle vitesse de rotation, la turbopompe délivre plus de 4.542 litres d’hydrogène liquide par minute. C’est un composant clef de la fusée qui amènera un jour l’homme sur Mars

45% de pièces en moins dans cette turbopompe grâce à l’impression 3D

A la droite du moteur fusée, la turbopompe imprimée en 3D.

A la droite du moteur fusée, la turbopompe imprimée en 3D.

Même les pièces les plus exigeantes peuvent désormais être produites grâce à l’impression 3D, y compris les moteurs fusée. SpaceX produit déjà la chambre de combustion de son moteur fusée SuperDraco via le procédé d’impression 3D métal DMLS (Direct metal laser sintering). Ce moteur offre une poussée de 16.000 livres (7,2 tonnes) et peut être rallumé à de multiples reprises lors du vol. Cette fois, la Nasa a testé une turbopompe réalisée selon la technique de fabrication additive laser dite SLS (Selective Laser Sintering), une pompe capable d’alimenter un moteur fusée de 35.000 livres de poussée (près de 35 tonnes). Un composant clef du moteur de la fusée de type Space Launch System Block II de 143 tonnes que prépare la Nasa pour amener un jour l’homme sur Mars.

Outre ses performances, cette turbopompe présente l’avantage de compter 45% de pièces en moins qu’un modèle équivalent produit avec des procédés traditionnels. Une simplification qui visiblement ne s’est pas faite au sacrifice de la fiabilité puisque cette turbopompe a passé avec succès la série de 15 simulations de vol auxquels elle a été soumise cet été.

Sources :

« Successful NASA Rocket Fuel Pump Tests Pave Way for 3-D Printed Demonstrator Engine », Communiqué Nasa, 26 août 2015

« SpaceX completes qualification testing superdraco thruster », communiqué SpaceX, 27 avril 2014

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.