The new SPHERES robots in orbit !

cubesatsThe new generation of robots SPHERES just arrived in the International Space Station. These cubes robots, whose brain is a smartphone, will enable Google to test a concept straight from science fiction: a myriad of inter-ENTERED them to accomplish a task robots. The first generation, based on Nexus S, dated 2011. The new robots will benefit from the Google 3D vision of Tango project.

Android smartphones in free flight

The new generation of SPHERES cubsat, with its Google Tango brain.

The new generation of SPHERES cubsat, with its Google Tango brain. (Credit: NASA)

It is in 2011 that the first “cubsat” small cube-shaped robots were sent into orbit in the International Space Station, ISS. These are then fitted as a Nexus S smartphone as a brain. Propelled by jets of carbon dioxide, these robots could move the reports to each other, get training solution were validated during parabolic flights. New SPHERES robots just been delivered by the Cygnus capsule to the ISS.
These new robots are equipped with a Google Tango smartphone. They will be both more powerful, have more sensors, and especially 3D vision experimental smartphone. The astronauts will start scanning within traditionally very crowded, their station. And the robots will have a three-dimensional map of their environment, they can then deploy and develop training in this small universe. As to cleaning the station instead of astronauts, is asking a lot for those flying cubes. By cons, NASA suggests scenarios where they could engage in noise measurements, quality and airflow or video instruments.

Sources : “Astronauts to Test Free-Flying “Housekeeper” Robots”, NASA, 17 juillet 2014
“Synchronized Position Hold, Engage, Reorient, Experimental Satellites (SPHERES)”, NASA, 15 juillet 2014
“NASA to send 3D Google smartphones for robots to space station”, Reuters, 7 juillet 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Mobile, Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Les nouveaux robots SPHERES sous Google Tango sont en orbite

cubesatsLa nouvelle génération de robots SPHERES vient d’arriver dans la station spatiale internationale. Ces cubes robots, dont le cerveau est un smartphone, va permettre à Google d’expérimenter un concept tout droit venue de la science fiction : une myriade de robots interconnectés entres-eux pour accomplir une tâche. La première génération, basée sur des Nexus S, datait de 2011. Les nouveaux robots bénéficieront de la vision 3D du projet Google Tango.

Une formation de smartphones Android en apesanteur dans l’ISS

Un cubesat SPHERES de nouvelle génération, avec un Google Tango pour cerveau.

Un cubesat SPHERES de nouvelle génération, avec son Google Tango pour cerveau. (Crédit: NASA)

C’est en 2011 que les premier « cubsat », petits robots en forme de cube ont été envoyé en orbite, dans la station spatiale internationale, l’ISS. Ceux-ci n’était alors équipé que d’un smartphone Nexus S en guise de cerveau. Propulsés par jets de gaz carbonique, ces robots pouvaient se déplacer les uns par rapports aux autres, se mettre en formation La solution avaient été validée lors de vols paraboliques. Les nouveaux robots SPHERES viennent d’être livrés par la capsule Cygnus à l’ISS.

Ces nouveaux robots sont équipés d’un smartphone Google Tango. Ils vont être à la fois plus puissants, disposer de plus de capteurs, et surtout de la vision en 3D du smartphone expérimental. Les astronautes vont commencer par scanner l’intérieur, traditionnellement très encombré, de leur station. Les robots disposeront ainsi d’une carte en trois dimensions de leur environnement Ils pourront ensuite se déployer et évoluer en formation dans ce petit univers. Quant à faire le ménage dans la station à la place des astronautes, c’est beaucoup demander pour ces cubes volants. Par contre, la NASA évoque des scénarios où ceux-ci pourraient se livrer à des mesures de bruit, de qualité et de flux d’air ou de vidéosurveillance des instruments.

Sources : « Astronauts to Test Free-Flying “Housekeeper” Robots », NASA, 17 juillet 2014
« Synchronized Position Hold, Engage, Reorient, Experimental Satellites (SPHERES) », NASA, 15 juillet 2014
« NASA to send 3D Google smartphones for robots to space station », Reuters, 7 juillet 2014

[This article is an english translation made with the Google Translate service]

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Mobile, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.