Norway wants to impose electric aircraft for regional flights by 2040

Formerly a major exporter of oil and gas, Norway has positioned itself as the champion of electric means of transport. With 16% of vehicles sold in 2016, Norway is the most advanced country in its transition to electric vehicles, and now 50% of registrations in the country are electric or hybrid vehicles. However, the Nordic leaders do not intend to stick to land vehicles alone. Indeed, the country wishes to push commercial aviation towards electrification, with a particularly ambitious deadline: 2040.

100% of regional flights to be electric by 2040

Norway is the first country to adopt such a proactive approach to electricity. The Nordic country wants all regional flights to be operated by electric aircraft by 2040. All connections of less than 1.5 hours will have to switch to zero emission mode, i. e. not only regional flights, but also flights to neighbouring countries. Several steps were mentioned: a 19-seat airliner will have to be tested by Avinor, the Norwegian airport operators by 2025, with a first commercial flight to be conducted in 2030 before the ban on kerosene on regional flights in 2040. Norway is the first country to make such a commitment when there is as yet no aircraft capable of making such connections.

Numerous projects for electric-propelled airliners are under development. Wright Electric, chosen by Easyjet and Zunum Aero, supported by Boeing, are the most visible projects but currently, the only electric aircraft that can fly its mono or two-seater and no prototype electric line aircraft has ever been airborne. The aviation authorities have not yet even defined the certification rules to which these paper aircraft will have to adhere.

Sources:

“Norway aims to make all short-haul flights electric by 2040”, World Economic Forum, 19 January 2018

“Norway wants electric planes to take off next summer”, The Local, 24 November 2017

“First electric aircraft in Norwegian scheduled traffic within 10 years”, Norway Today, 1 September 2017

“Will the aircraft of the future be electric?”, The Workshop, June 28,2017

“Norway, champion of the electric car”, lesEchos, 30 March 2017

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

La Norvège veut imposer les avions électriques sur les vols régionaux dès 2040

Jadis gros exportateur de pétrole et de gaz, la Norvège se positionne comme le champion des moyens de transport électriques. Avec 16% des véhicules vendus en 2016, la Norvège est le pays qui est le plus avancé dans sa transition vers les véhicules électriques, et désormais 50% des immatriculations réalisées dans le pays sont des véhicules électriques ou hybrides. Néanmoins, les dirigeants du pays nordique ne comptent pas s’en tenir aux seuls véhicules terrestres. En effet, le pays souhaite pousser l’aviation commerciale vers l’électrification, avec une date butoir particulièrement ambitieuse : 2040.

100% des vols régionaux devront être électriques d’ici 2040

Dans sa marche vers le tout électrique, la Norvège est le premier pays a se doter d’une roadmap aussi volontariste. Le pays nordique veux que tous les vols régionaux soient réalisés en avion électrique à l’horizon 2040.

Toutes les liaisons de moins de 1h30 devront passer en mode sans émission, c’est à dire les vols régionaux, mais aussi ceux à destination des pays limitrophes. Plusieurs étapes ont été évoqués : un avion de ligne de 19 places devra être testé par Avinor, opérateurs des aéroports norvégiens, d’ici à 2025. Un premier vol commercial devra être mené en 2030 avant l’interdiction du kérosène sur les vols régionaux prévue pour 2040. La Norvège est le premier pays à prendre un tel engagement alors qu’il n’existe encore aucun appareil capable de réaliser de telles liaisons.

De multiples projets d’avions de ligne à propulsion électrique sont en cours de développement. Wright Electric, choisi par Easyjet et Zunum Aero, soutenu par Boeing, sont les projets les plus visibles mais actuellement, les seules avions électriques à pouvoir voler son des mono ou des biplaces et aucun prototype d’avion de ligne électrique n’a jamais pris l’air. Les autorités aériennes n’ont même pas encore définies les règles de certification auxquelles devront répondre ces avions de papier.

Sources :

« Norway aims to make all short-haul flights electric by 2040 », World Economic Forum, 19 janvier 2018

« Norway wants electric planes to take off next summer », The Local, 24 novembre 2017

« First electric aircraft in Norwegian scheduled traffic within 10 years », Norway Today, 1er septembre 2017

« L’avion du futur sera-t-il électrique ? », L’Atelier,  28 juin 2017

« La Norvège, championne de la voiture électrique », lesEchos, 30 mars 2017

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.