The U.S. Navy has tested disposable drones

CICADA Mark IIIAll armies are currently working on the concept of swarm of drones where the mission can be carried out successfully thanks to the use of multiple UAVs at low cost. NRL (Naval Research Laboratory) comes to test the CICADA Mark III, a miniature drone. A limited cost, this small drone without motor must be dropped from high altitude then gliding to its target and then issue its data until it is destroyed. This cicada holds more paper than the high drone aircraft. It might yet have civilian uses.

A mini-UAV project, presented at the Lab Day of the Pentagon

Drone Tempest

Attached to a weather balloon, the drone Tempest with its two CICADA hooked under his wings during tests at Yuma, Arizona. (Photo: U.S. Naval Research Laboratory)

The project was introduced at the Pentagon’s ‘lab day’ last week but the last test took place on 1 September last in Yuma, Arizona. To test the drone CICADA Mark III, the researchers have developed an ingenious device. To demonstrate that this little glider could be dropped of high altitude from a combat aircraft, they have installed 2 of these mini-drones under the wings of a drone barely larger, a Tempest, which was hooked to a meteorological balloon to train the together aloft. Come to 60,000 feet (more than 18,000 m), the Tempest was dropped and he was able to launch the CICADA 30 nautical miles (18 km) from the target. Each equipped with a GPS chip, the drones went arise within 50 cm of the assigned position. The drone designers believe that their creation can glide up to 74 km from the release point.
Consists of 10 pieces only, the CICADA (for Covert Autonomous Disposable Aircraft) is difficult to detect by radar because of its modest size and the absence of metal parts, the drone devoid of motor. This 3rd version has been especially stiffened and she would be able to withstand an acceleration of 10,000 g, making it possible to launch in a shell.

Le CICADA pourra être fabriquer en série au prix de 250 $ pièceThe CICADA can be produced in series at the price of $250 a piece

CICADA launch

CICADA away! (Photo: U.S. Naval Research Laboratory)

The cost of returned prototypes would be of the order of $1,000 a piece, but the NRL researchers believe that it will be possible to lower the production cost at $250 each. Still priced relatively high knowing that an airdrop directed from a C-130 Hercules could include up to 8,900 drones… a cloud of UAVs to more than $ 2.2 million.
In terms of applications, the military could detect the movements of troops on vast desert expanses in equipping these mini-drones of seismic sensors. With magnetic detectors, they could also detect submarines through airdrops over the ocean. Among the mentioned civil applications, meteorology: the CICADA could be dropped over the tornadoes then retransmit data speed and real time temperature.
Nevertheless these mini-UAVs have many limitations. Their low payload will limit the range of sensors and means of communication available. Thus, the CICADA is not capable of transmitting a video stream, which imposes a band too high network bandwidth. The researchers did not reveal what means of communication was currently has the drone, or even the duration of battery life.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Swarms of Mini-Drones Prepping for Remote Battle”, Discovery News, May 17, 2015

“‘Cicadas’: US military’s new swarm of mini-drones”, AFP pour BusinessInsider, May 15, 2015

“It’s a Bug, It’s a Plane, It’s a Flying Circuit Board”, Afcea, December 2011

“Autonomous Deployment Demonstration Program Completes Flight Testing”, NRL, December 5, 2011

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Le laboratoire de la marine américaine a testé des drones jetables

CICADA Mark IIIToutes les armées travaillent actuellement sur le concept d’essaim de drones où la mission pourra être effectuée avec succès grâce à l’emploi d’un grand nombre de drones à faible coût. Le NRL (Naval Research Laboratory) vient de tester le CICADA Mark III, un drone miniature. D’un prix de revient limité, ce petit drone sans moteur doit être largué de haute altitude puis planer jusqu’à sa cible puis émettre ses données jusqu’à ce qu’il soit détruit. Cette cigale tient plus de l’avion en papier que du drone ultra-performant. Il pourrait pourtant avoir des utilisations civiles.

Un projet de mini-drone présenté lors du « Lab Day » du Pentagone

Drone Tempest

Accrochés à un ballon météorologique, le drone Tempest avec ses deux CICADA accrochés sous ses ailes lors des tests menés à Yuma, dans l’Arizona. (Photo: U.S. Naval Research Laboratory)

Le projet vient d’être présenté lors du Pentagon’s « lab day » la semaine dernière mais les derniers test ont eu lieu le premier septembre derniers à Yuma, en Arizona. Pour tester le drone CICADA Mark III, les chercheurs ont imaginé un dispositif ingénieux. Pour démontrer que ce petit planeur pouvait être largué de haute altitude depuis un avion de combat, ils ont installé 2 de ces mini-drones sous les ailes d’un drone à peine plus gros, un Tempest, lequel a été accroché à un ballon météorologique pour entraîner l’ensemble en altitude. Arrivé à 60.000 pieds (plus de 18.000 m), le Tempest a été largué puis il a pu lancer les CICADA à 30 miles nautiques  (plus de 18 km) de la cible. Chacun équipé d’une puce GPS, les drones sont allé se poser à moins de 50 cm de la position assignée. Les concepteurs du drone estiment que leur création peut ainsi planer jusqu’à 74 km du point de largage.

Constitué de 10 pièces seulement, le CICADA (pour Covert Autonomous Disposable Aircraft) est difficile à détecter au radar du fait de sa taille modeste et de l’absence de pièces en métal, le drone étant dépourvu de moteur. Cette 3ième version a été particulièrement durcie et elle serait capable de supporter une accélération de 10.000 g, ce qui rendrait possible leur lancement dans un obus.

Le CICADA pourra être fabriquer en série au prix de 250 $ pièce

CICADA launch

CICADA largé ! (Photo: U.S. Naval Research Laboratory)

Le coût de revient des prototypes serait de l’ordre de 1.000 $ pièce, mais les chercheurs du NRL estiment qu’il sera possible d’abaisser le coût de production à 250 $ pièce. Un prix encore relativement élevé sachant qu’un largage réalisé depuis un Hercule C-130 pourrait comprendre jusqu’à 8.900 drones… un nuage de drones à plus de 2,2 millions de dollars.

En termes d’applications, les militaires pourrait ainsi détecter les mouvements de troupes sur de vastes étendues désertiques en équipant ces mini-drones de capteurs sismiques. Equipés de détecteurs magnétiques, ils pourraient aussi repérer des sous-marins en réalisant des largages au-dessus de l’océan. Parmi les applications civiles évoquées, la météorologie : les CICADA pourraient être larguées au dessus des tornades puis retransmettre des données de vitesse et température en temps réelle.

Néanmoins ces mini-drones présentent de nombreuses limites. Leur faible charge utile va limiter le panel de capteurs et de moyens de communication disponibles. Ainsi, le CICADA n’est pas capable de transmettre un flux vidéo, ce qui impose une bande passante réseau trop élevée. Les chercheurs n’ont pas révélé de quels moyens de communication était actuellement doté le drone, ni même la durée de vie de la batterie.
Sources :

« Swarms of Mini-Drones Prepping for Remote Battle », Discovery News, 17 mai 2015

« ‘Cicadas’: US military’s new swarm of mini-drones », AFP pour BusinessInsider, 15 mai 2015

« It’s a Bug, It’s a Plane, It’s a Flying Circuit Board », Afcea, décembre 2011

« Autonomous Deployment Demonstration Program Completes Flight Testing », NRL, 5 décembre 2011

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.