Is Onshape, the startup of Jon Hirschtick, the future of CAD?

OneshapeNo installation, use 100% in the cloud, accessible via browser, whether it is on PC, Tablet… smartphone. The OIC has much changed.
This week Oneshape opened its service in beta. A startup over who wants to upset a CAD market crushed by Autodesk, Dassault systems/Solidworks, Siemens PLM and PTC. A startup created not by a young entrepreneur with long teeth, but a size of the sector, Jon Hirschtick. One who had founded Solidworks in 1993 raised $ 64 million and spent 3 years developing Onshape.

A pioneer of CAD reinvents a market that he helped create

It is one of the pioneers of CAD that comes up in the battle. The former Director of the lab of MIT CAD in 86, then Director of the engineering of Computervision, Member of the Board of Directors of Revit Technology (software modeling for Architects), then Z Corp (pioneer of 3D printing). In 1993, he created Solidworks, Publisher of the eponymous CAD software, sold to Dassault Systemes in 1997. It was in November 2012 that Jon Hirschtick launches adventure Onshape.

The beta version of Oneshape suggests yet basic collaborative functions.

The beta version of Oneshape suggests yet basic collaborative functions.

A solution out with solutions of CAO traditional as it will totally online, used from a browser. Oneshape States solved the problem of performance and latency in the display of large 3D models in the browser via a hybrid display, calculated both in the cloud and on the client. the startup has taken 3 years to develop its technology and especially develop the (very) many features of a modern CAD tool. Difficult to judge on this point, the tool is in beta and it will take probably still years of work for Onshape developers to implement the set of automated tools of an Autodesk, but the Modeler already has multiple tools of modeling to create parts and assemblies. In addition, it is possible to load various file formats existing design, so CATIA v5, Solidworks, Autodesk Inventor, Pro/E and PTC Creo’s, as well as the standards of the market (STEP, IGES, JT).
In the purest model freemium, Onshape is currently available in 3 mode. The first is free but limited to 5 documents “private”. It will seduce without doubt students, professionals to the needs (very) limited and especially the makers. Professional packages start at $ 100 per month and per user.
Onshape will create a disruption in the CAD market or be redeemed before?
 

Translation : Bing Translator
 

Source : “Introducing Onshape Beta” By Jon Hirschtick, Onshape Blog, March 9, 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in CAO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Onshape, la startup de Jon Hirschtick, invente-t-elle le futur de la CAO ?

OneshapeAucune installation, une utilisation 100% dans le cloud, accessible via navigateur, que ce soit sur PC, tablette… smartphone. La CAO a bien changée.

Cette semaine Oneshape a ouvert son service en beta. Une startup de plus qui veut bouleverser un marché de la CAO écrasé par Autodesk, Dassault Systèmes/Solidworks, Siemens PLM et PTC. Une startup créé non pas par un jeune entrepreneur aux dents longues, mais une pointure du secteur, Jon Hirschtick. Celui qui avait fondé Solidworks en 1993 a levé 64 millions de dollars et passé 3 ans a mettre au point Onshape.

Un pionnier de la CAO réinvente un marché qu’il a participé à créer

C’est l’un des pionniers de la CAO qui revient dans la bataille. L’ancien directeur du labo de CAO du MIT en 86, puis directeur de l’engineering de Computervision, membre du conseil d’administration de Revit Technology (logiciel de modélisation pour les architectes), puis Z Corp (pionnier de l’impression 3D). En 1993, il créait Solidworks, éditeur du logiciel de CAO éponyme, revendu à Dassault Systèmes en 1997. C’est en novembre 2012 que Jon Hirschtick lance l’aventure Onshape.

La version beta d'Oneshape laisse entrevoir des fonctions collaboratives encore basiques.

La version beta de Oneshape laisse entrevoir des fonctions collaboratives encore basiques.

Une solution en rupture avec les solutions de CAO traditionnelle puisqu’elle sera totalement en ligne, utilisable depuis un navigateur. Oneshape affirme avoir résolu le problème des performances et de la latence dans l’affichage de gros modèles 3D dans le navigateur via un affichage hybride, calculé à la fois dans le cloud et sur le poste client. la startup a mis 3 ans pour mettre au point sa technologie et surtout  développer les (très) nombreuses fonctionnalités d’un outil de CAO moderne. Difficile de juger sur ce point, l’outil est en beta et il faudra sans doute encore des années de travail pour les développeurs de Onshape pour implémenter l’ensemble des outils automatisés d’un Autodesk, mais le modeleur dispose déjà de multiples outils de modeling pour créer les pièces et des assemblages. En outre, il est possible de charger divers formats de fichiers de conception existants, donc CATIA v5 , Solidworks, Autodesk Inventor, Pro/E et Creo de PTC, ainsi que les standards du marché (STEP, IGES, JT).

Dans la plus pure modèle freemium, Onshape est actuellement proposé selon 3 mode. Le premier est gratuit mais limité à 5 documents « privés ». Il séduira sans doute étudiants, professionnels aux besoins (très) restreint et surtout les makers. Les forfaits professionnels débutent à 100$ par mois et par utilisateur.
Onshape va-il créer une disruption sur le marché de la CAO ou sera-t-il racheté avant ?

Source : « Introducing Onshape Beta » By Jon Hirschtick, Blog de Onshape, 9 mars 2015

 

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans CAO, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.