Towards an Open Source standard for bike connected?

OpenBikeGPS, locks, sensors in all genres and of course bikes to electric propulsion, connected cycling today is one made for many cyclists, be they sports or simply followers of “biking” to move in the city. The OpenBike American offers a unified platform to connect all electronic equipment a bike between them but also communicate this real network two-wheel with Cloud services. OpenBike, future cycling Linux?

 

An open and connected to the Cloud platform

Randall Jacobs - OpenBike

Randall Jacob, founder of OpenBike wants to develop an open bicycle computer architecture.


Startup hosted by Highway1, a San Francisco incubator dedicated to hardware communities, OpenBike is working on a technology platform that will enable all electronic equipment that will attach to a bike share a same battery, Exchange data over a network, and finally communicate with the Cloud. The idea of Randall Jacobs, the founder of OpenBike is to create an open platform called ONE which will, eventually, to OEMs to create cheaper products and to the free choice of equipment. According to the designer, this will help equip bikes turn signals, stop lamps, a trip computer and of course an essential outlet charger for smartphone.

OpenBike has entered into an agreement with Marin Bikes, an American bicycle Builder who will be the first to market a compatible bike. The extra cost reached even $300 for the bike. Smartphone support will be then sold for $20 and lights $80. What will be the actual strategy for opening OpenBike and licence under which ONE technology will be open, it remains still unclear. It’s the key to the success of the OpenBike project.

Source : “OpenBike Charges Phones, Lights, and Connects Your Bike to the Cloud”, IEEE Spectrum, May 26, 2016

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Vers un standard Open Source pour le vélo connecté ?

OpenBikeGPS, antivols, capteurs en tous genres et bien évidemment vélos à propulsion électrique, le vélo connecté est aujourd’hui une réalisé pour de nombreux cyclistes, qu’ils soient sportif ou simplement adeptes du « biking » pour se déplacer en ville. L’américain OpenBike propose une plateforme unifiée permettant de connecter tous les équipements électroniques d’un vélo entre eux mais aussi faire communiquer ce véritable réseau à deux roues avec des services Cloud. OpenBike, le futur Linux du cyclisme ?
 

Une plateforme ouverte et connectée au Cloud

Randall Jacobs - OpenBike

Randall Jacob, fondateur d’OpenBike veut mettre au point une architecture informatique ouverte pour les vélos.

Startup hébergée par Highway1, un incubateur de San Francisco dédié aux communautés hardware, OpenBike travaille sur une plateforme technologique qui permettra à tous les équipements électroniques qui vont venir se fixer à un vélo de partager une même batterie, échanger des données sur un même réseau et enfin communiquer avec le Cloud. L’idée de Randall Jacobs, le fondateur d’OpenBike est de créer une plateforme ouverte baptisée ONE qui permettra, à terme, aux équipementiers de créer des produits moins coûteux et aux d’être libre du choix des équipements. Selon le concepteur, cela permettra d’équiper les vélos de clignotants, de feux stop, d’un ordinateur de bord et bien évidemment d’une indispensable prise chargeur pour le smartphone.

OpenBike a passé un accord avec Marin Bikes, un constructeur de vélos américain qui sera le premier à commercialiser un vélo compatible. Le surcoût atteint tout de même 300 $ pour le vélo. Le support de smartphone sera ensuite commercialisé pour 20 $ et des feux 80 $. Quelle sera la stratégie réelle d’ouverture d’OpenBike et la licence sous laquelle sera ouverte la technologie ONE, cela reste encore flou. C’est pourtant la clé du succès du projet OpenBike.

Source : « OpenBike Charges Phones, Lights, and Connects Your Bike to the Cloud », IEEE Spectrum, 26 mai 2016

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.