A Mindstorms robot with the brain of a digital worm

ConnectomThis robot, made in Lego Mindstorms EV3, is more innovative than it seems. Its behavior is simple: when it encounters an obstacle, it stops, turns. Nothing very extraordinary if it is is not a program that controls this robot, but a worm brain that makes it react in this way, or rather a digital replica of Caenorhabditis elegans, a simple worm. It is very well known researcher in molecular biology that have made it a model organism. The OpenWorm project strives to model this modest living digitally in all its aspects, including its nervous system.

Neurons to guide a robot, a relatively old idea

OpenWorm

Neurons to guide a robot, a relatively old idea

In any good novel of science fiction, robots are equipped with a brain that allows them to a greater or lesser autonomy of decision. Artificial brain which distinguish them from the industrial robots or vacuums of today. The idea of installing an artificial place neural network and place of a classical computer in the head of a robot is not new. Professor Kevin Warwick of the University of Reading, Pope of the cyborg movement, operates some years ago of small robots controlled by rat neurons. The approach of Timothy Busbice, the creator of this robot head of worm, is different. It relies on the Connectome, a digital brain that very accurately simulates the “brain” of our Caenorhabditis elegans, one of the achievements of the OpenWorm research program.

C-Elegans, a relatively simple model worm

Gepetto

The environment multi-scale and receiving Geppetto, in Open Source license on the OpenWorm project site published.

Our worm, call C-Elegans, is someone who has been able to keep it simple. Biologically speaking. This consists in adulthood, only 1,031 cells. A figure very precise and constant from one individual to another. This 1,000 cells, 302 neurons. This will probably not suffice to allow him to discover the meaning of life, but it is precisely this extreme simplicity which interested researchers at the highest point. They got down to a complete documentation of this well being close to nothingness. All of the 19,099 genes of its 6 chromosomes were sequenced since 1998 and the OpenWorm project went well beyond even. In addition to a wiki which includes everything you always wanted to know about C-Elegans without daring to the requested, the project to modeled in 3D the beast in 3D (it’s the OpenWorm Browser project). Researchers have also modeled and simulated all of its internal structure, its “muscles” and its various intimate membranes. The Sibernetic project allows to see a worm simulate squirm with the same elegance that the true to break a path in a test tube. Researchers have even developed Geppetto, impressive simulation software for multiscale and receiving that will perhaps one day humanity to escape the zombie apocalypse prophesied by the writers of the “Walking Dead” series. Finally, the ‘ Connectome Engine ‘ project digitally simulates brain of the character. It is this software brain that animates this poor Mindstorms robot which would have probably liked best host.
This amazing research program OpenWorm has managed to raise $121.076 on Kickstarter in may 2014, evidence if needed still that man is magnanimous and despite the fate reserve them worms.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Are we on the brink of creating artificial life? Scientists digitise the brain of a WORM and place it inside a robot”, DailyMail, November 27, 2014
“A Worm’s Mind In A Lego Body”, I-Programmer, November 16 2014
 

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Un robot Mindstorms au cerveau de ver numérique

ConnectomCe robot, réalisé en Lego Mindstorms EV3, est plus innovant qu’il n’y parait. Son comportement est simple : Lorsqu’il rencontre un obstacle, il s’arrête, fait demi-tour. Rien de très extraordinaire, si ce n’est que c’est n’est pas un programme qui commande ce robot, mais un cerveau de ver qui le fait réagir de la sorte, ou plutôt une réplique numérique du Caenorhabditis elegans, un simple ver. Celui-ci est très connu des chercheur en biologie moléculaire qui en ont fait un organisme modèle. Le projet OpenWorm s’attache à modéliser ce modeste être vivant numériquement sous tous ses aspects, y compris son ridicule système nerveux.

Des neurones pour guider un robot, une idée relativement ancienne

OpenWorm

OpenWorm browser, un ver nu sur Internet.

Dans tout bon roman de science fiction, les robots sont dotés d’un cerveau qui leur permet une plus ou moins grande autonomie de décision. Des cerveaux artificiels qui les distinguent des robots industriels ou aspirateurs d’aujourd’hui. L’idée d’installer un réseau de neurones artificiels en lieu et place d’un ordinateur classique dans la tête d’un robot n’est pas nouvelle. Le professeur Kevin Warwick de l’université de Reading, pape du mouvement cyborg, fait fonctionner depuis quelques années déjà des petîts robots contrôlés par des neurones de rats. L’approche de Timothy Busbice, le créateur de ce robot à tête de ver, est différente. Celui-ci s’appuie sur le Connectome, un cerveau numérique qui simule très précisément le « cerveau » de notre Caenorhabditis elegans, l’une des réalisations du programme de recherche OpenWorm.

C-Elegans, un ver relativement simple à modéliser

Gepetto

L’environnement multi-échelles et multi-algorithmes Geppetto, publié en licence Open Source sur le site du projet OpenWorm.

Notre ver, appelons-le C-Elegans, est quelqu’un qui a su rester simple. Biologiquement parlant. Celui-ci se compose, à l’age adulte, de seulement 1.031 cellules. Un chiffre très précis et constant d’un individu à l’autre. Sur ce millier de cellules, 302 neurones. Ce sera probablement insuffisant pour lui permettre de découvrir le sens de la vie, mais c’est justement cette extrême simplicité qui intéresse au plus haut point les chercheurs. Ceux-ci se sont attelés à une complète documentation de cet être bien proche du néant. L’ensemble des 19.099 gènes de ses 6 chromosomes ont été séquencés depuis 1998 et le projet OpenWorm est allé bien plus loin encore. Outre un wiki qui regroupe tout ce que vous avez toujours voulu savoir sur le C-Elegans sans avoir osé le demandé, le projet à modélisé en 3D la bestiole en 3D (c’est le projet OpenWorm Browser). Les chercheurs ont aussi modélisé et simulé l’ensemble de sa structure interne, de ses « muscles » et de ses diverses membranes les plus intimes. Le projet Sibernetic permet ainsi de voir un ver simuler se tortiller avec la même élégance que le vrai pour se frayer un chemin dans un tube à essai. Les chercheurs ont même mis au point Geppetto, un impressionnant logiciel de simulation multi-échelles et multi-algorithmes qui permettra peut-être un jour à l’humanité d’échapper à l’apocalypse zombie prophétisée par les scénaristes de la série « Walking Dead ». Enfin, le projet « Connectome Engine » simule de façon numérique le cerveau du personnage.  C’est ce cerveau logiciel qui anime ce pauvre robot Mindstorms qui aurait sans douté souhaité meilleur hôte.

Cet étonnant programme de recherche OpenWorm est parvenu à lever 121.076 $ sur Kickstarter en mai 2014, preuve s’il en faut encore que l’homme est magnanime et dépit du sort que leur réserve les vers.

Sources :

« Are we on the brink of creating artificial life? Scientists digitise the brain of a WORM and place it inside a robot », DailyMail, 27 novembre 2014
« A Worm’s Mind In A Lego Body », I-Programmer, 16 novembre 2014
 

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.