A new on-board computer for the F-16

More than 40 years after its first flight, the F-16 from General Dynamics (now spent under the thumb of Lockheed-Martin) still the spearhead of many air forces. Including the US Air Force. Where the F-35, his successor budget overruns, attract the wrath of Donald Trump, the F-16 could well know a second youth, including in the United States. Lockheed Martin offers the F-16V, a modernized version that could afford to wait for the rise of the F-35. The Air Force has just asked Raytheon to replace its F-16 on-board computers to give them more versatility. The opportunity to revisit embedded this legend aircraft computing.

An on-board computer based on MIPS processors since the 1970s

The Modular Mission Computer (MMC), the F-16 edge, here in its version MMC5000 computer. (Photo: Raytheon).

The F-16 is not close to leaving the heavens. The American air force comes to give Raytheon the computer of its F-16 replacement market. It will be the fourth major generation of MMC (Modular Mission Computer) for the jet, which was built to more than 4,500 copies. The first generation, the MMC3000 relied on MIPS R3500, a 32-bit chip processors with 110,000 transistors and running at 12 MHz. We found this chip on the end of the 1990s HP9000 computers. The computer had 4 MB of memory RAM.

The MMC5000, the second generation of the F-16 computer, still relied on a chip MIPS, a RM5260 who was noticeably faster (with a 133 MHz to 150 MHz clock frequency) and above all it is a 64-bit chip. The memory was more than doubled, with 10 MB available.

Designated successor to the F-16, the F-35 is in the viewfinder of the president Donald Trump today. (Photo: Lockheed-Martin)

The MMC7000 that equips the more modern F-16, including all F-16 Europeans who benefited from the MLU (mid-life Update) modernisation, has always that 10 MB of memory but its RM7000A processor, designed in the early 2000s, works between 300 and 400 MHz. It delivers a theoretical power of the order of 800 MFlops.
What will be the chip that will equip the next version of the MMC? The information has not been released officially. Simply, Raytheon said it will offer a power multiplied by 2, while the memory capacity will be multiplied by 40. A quantum leap for the F-16, but a still modest power compared to that of a high-end smartphone… It will however allow the F-16 to embark new software to expand the types of weapons or receive new radars and other electronic equipment and wait as the F-35 to take his estate.

Translation : Bing Translator
Sources :
“U.S. Air Force selects Raytheon F-16 mission computer”, Communiqué de presse Raytheon, December 16, 2016
“Trump calls fighter jet costs ‘out of control'”, CNN, December 12, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique, Logiciel embarqué and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Un nouvel ordinateur de bord pour le F-16

Plus de 40 ans après son premier vol, le F-16 de General Dynamics (aujourd’hui passé sous la coupe de Lockheed-Martin) reste encore le fer de lance de nombreuses forces aériennes. Y compris l’US Air Force. A l’heure où les dépassements de budget du F-35, son successeur, attirent les foudres de Donald Trump, le F-16 pourrait bien connaitre une seconde jeunesse, y compris aux Etats-Unis. Lockheed-Martin propose notamment le F-16V, une version modernisée qui pourrait permettre d’attendre la montée en puissance du F-35. L’Air Force vient de demander à Raytheon de remplacer les ordinateurs de bord de ses F-16 afin de leur donner plus de polyvalence. L’occasion de revenir sur l’informatique embarquée de cet avion de légende.

Un ordinateur de bord basé sur les processeurs MIPS depuis les années 70

Le Modular Mission Computer (MMC), ordinateur de bord du F-16, ici dans sa version MMC5000 (Photo: Raytheon).

Le F-16 n’est pas près de quitter les cieux. L’armée de l’air américaine vient de confier à Raytheon le marché du remplacement des ordinateur de ses F-16. Ce sera ainsi la quatrième génération majeure de MMC (Modular Mission Computer) pour le jet qui a été construit à plus de 4.500 exemplaires. La première génération, le MMC3000 s’appuyait sur des processeurs MIPS R3500, une puce 32 bits comptant 110.000 transistors et fonctionnant à 12 MHz. On retrouvait cette puce sur les ordinateurs HP9000 de la fin des années 90. L’ordinateur disposait de 4 Mo de mémoire vive.

Le MMC5000, l’ordinateur de seconde génération du F-16, s’appuyait toujours sur une puce MIPS, un RM5260 qui était nettement plus rapide (avec une fréquence d’horloge de 133 MHz à 150 MHz) et surtout il s’agissait d’une puce 64 bits. La mémoire était alors plus que doublée, avec 10 Mo disponible.

Successeur désigné du F-16, le F-35 est aujourd’hui dans le viseur du président Donald Trump. (Photo: Lockheed-Martin)

Le MMC7000 qui équipe les F-16 les plus modernes, notamment tous les F-16 européens qui ont pu bénéficier de la modernisation MLU (Mid-Life Update),  ne dispose toujours que de 10 Mo de mémoire mais son processeur RM7000A, conçu au début des années 2000, fonctionne entre 300 et 400 MHz. Il délivre une puissance théorique de l’ordre de 800 MFlops.
Quelle sera la puce qui va équiper la prochaine version du MMC ? L’information n’a pas été diffusée officiellement. Raytheon a simplement précisé que celui-ci offrira une puissance multipliée par 2, tandis que la capacité mémoire sera multiplié par 40. Un saut quantique pour le F-16, mais une puissance encore modeste comparée à celle d’un smartphone haut de gamme… Elle permettra néanmoins au F-16 d’embarquer de nouveaux logiciels pour élargir les types d’armes ou encore bénéficier de nouveaux radars et autres équipements électroniques et attendre ainsi que le F-35 prenne sa succession.

Sources :
« U.S. Air Force selects Raytheon F-16 mission computer », Communiqué de presse Raytheon, 16 décembre 2016
« Trump calls fighter jet costs ‘out of control' », CNN, 12 décembre 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, Logiciel embarqué, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.