The quantum computer of D-Wave Systems crosses 1000 Qubits

D-Wave 1000Q (Courtesy of D-Wave Systems Inc.)The Canadian D-Wave Systems announced the commercial availability of its D-Wave Systems 2X, new generation of quantum computer. The first D-Wave machine had been unveiled in 2007 and its quantum processor while offering 16 Qubits. Since the builder regularly improves its processors and quantum computer of new generation that offers today’s offer, according to its designer, a power of more than 1,000 Qubits. The machine is theoretically capable of testing two 1000 power values simultaneously. Rather interesting when we want to crack an encryption code …

Moore’s Law applies now to the quantum computer

The technology developed since 1999 by the Canadian D-Wave Systems is always the heart of an expert battle but managed to raise $ 123.8 million since its inception, including from Goldman Sachs, Bank of Canada, Bezos Expeditions the investment fund of Jeff Bezos and yet in-Q-Tel, the CIA background. The previous generations of machines quantum D-Wave had been sold to Lockheed Martin and Google.

D-Wave Two and its 1,000 Qubits is officially sold. (Photo: Courtesy of D-Wave Systems Inc.)

D-Wave Two and its 1,000 Qubits is officially sold. (Photo: Courtesy of D-Wave Systems Inc.)

With the announcement of a quantum computer 2X Qubits with 1000, D-Wave manages to keep Moore’s Law well in this special field of quantum computer. In 2014, the Canadian marketing a model 512 Qubits, this year 1000 Qubits bar is crossed. But much more than classical computers, increasing the number of Qubits blew the available power exponentially (which gave birth to Rose’s law: “ La power of quantum computers (the number of qubits available) doubles every year. The difference is that, contrary to Moore’s law, doubling qubits leads also an increase in the computational power of machines.
According to its designers, this machine provides extremely significant performance gains. According to its own benchmark, the D-Wave Systems 2X will bring an acceleration by a factor of 600 on classical optimization algorithms.
Values ​​that few researchers can verify for themselves. According to the BBC, the cost of the D-Wave 2, the previous version which only had 512 Qubits was around 15 million. Like his maintains in operational conditions is not easy because its quantum processor works only within 15 Millikelvin, ie at a temperature close to absolute zero.
While the side of microprocessors “classic”, Moore’s Law seems to be ending, the quantum computer is one of the tracks followed even if the applications of such a machine, currently restricted to optimization problems or Code of cracking, still seem limited.

Translation: Google Translate

Sources :
“D-Wave 2X Quantum Computer Goes GA with 1000+ Qubits”, insideHPC, August 20, 2015
“The Quantum D-Wave 2 Is 3,600 Times Faster than a Super Computer”, Gizmodo, March 4, 2014
“D-Wave: Is $15m machine a glimpse of future computing?”, BBC News, May 20, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’ordinateur quantique de D-Wave franchit les 1000 Qubits

D-Wave 1000Q (Courtesy of D-Wave Systems Inc.)Le canadien D-Wave vient d’annoncer la disponibilité commerciale de son D-Wave 2X, ordinateur quantique de nouvelle génération. La première machine D-Wave avait été dévoilée en 2007 et son processeur quantique n’offrait alors que 16 Qubits. Depuis, le constructeur améliore régulièrement ses processeurs et l’ordinateur quantique de nouvelle génération qu’il propose aujourd’hui offre, selon son concepteur, une puissance de plus de 1000 Qubits. La machine est théoriquement capable de tester 2 puissance 1000 valeurs simultanément. Plutôt intéressant lorsqu’on veut cracker un code de chiffrement…

La loi de Moore s’applique à l’ordinateur quantique

La technologie développée depuis 1999 par les canadiens de D-Wave est toujours au coeur d’une bataille d’experts mais est parvenu à lever 123,8 millions de dollars depuis sa création, notamment auprès de Goldman Sachs, Bank of Canada, Bezos Expeditions, le fond d’investissement de Jeff Bezos et encore d’In-Q-Tel, le fond de la CIA. Les précédentes générations de machines quantiques D-Wave avaient trouvé preneur auprès de Lockheed-Martin et de Google.

Le D-Wave Two et ses 1000 Qubits est officiellement commercialisé. (Photo: Courtesy of D-Wave Systems Inc.)

Le D-Wave Two et ses 1000 Qubits est officiellement commercialisé. (Photo: Courtesy of D-Wave Systems Inc.)

Avec l’annonce d’un ordinateur quantique 2X avec 1000 Qubits, D-Wave parvient à tenir la loi de Moore dans ce domaine bien particulier qu’est l’ordinateur quantique. En 2014, le canadien commercialisait un modèle à 512 Qubits, cette année la barre des 1000 Qubits est franchie. Or, bien plus qu’en informatique classique, l’augmentation du nombre de Qubits fait exploser la puissance disponible de manière exponentielle (ce qui à donné naissance à la loi de Rose : « La puissance de l’ordinateur quantique (le nombre de qubits disponibles) double tous les ans. À la différence près, que contrairement à la loi de Moore, le doublement des qubits entraîne également une multiplication du pouvoir computationnel des machines. »
Selon ses concepteurs, cette machine apporte des gains de performance extrêmement significatifs. Selon son propre benchmark, son D-Wave 2X apportera une accélération d’un facteur 600 sur des algorithmes d’optimisation classiques.
Des valeurs que bien peu de chercheurs pourront vérifier d’eux-mêmes. Selon la BBC, le coût de du D-Wave 2, la version précédente qui ne comptait que 512 Qubits était de l’ordre de 15 millions de dollars. De même que son maintient en conditions opérationnelles n’est pas aisé puisque son processeur quantique ne fonctionne que sous 15 millikelvin, c’est à dire à une température proche du zéro absolu.
Alors que du côté des microprocesseurs « classiques », la loi de Moore semble toucher à sa fin, l’ordinateur quantique est l’une des pistes suivie même si les applications d’une telle machine, actuellement restreintes à des problèmes d’optimisation ou de crackage de code, semblent encore limitées.

Sources :
« D-Wave 2X Quantum Computer Goes GA with 1000+ Qubits », insideHPC, 20 aout 2015
« The Quantum D-Wave 2 Is 3,600 Times Faster than a Super Computer », Gizmodo, 4 mars 2014
« D-Wave: Is $15m machine a glimpse of future computing? », BBC News, 20 mai 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.