15 Dec 2017

Aerion vs Boom Supersonic: The supersonic race accelerates

Aerion Corporation has just announced that it has signed a partnership with Lockheed Martin to develop its supersonic AS2 business jet.

The American defense giant takes over from Airbus at the side of the startup to help him develop a supersonic that will compete with business jets thanks to its supersonic speed and a range of action that will allow him to make a Los Angeles / Paris of one go. Lire la suite

14 Dec 2017

Boeing Promises $2 Million for Best Jetpack

width=The challenge is up! High-flying engineers, mad inventors and daredevils are on the starting line to win the GoFly Prize. This challenge, essentially financed by Boeing, promises Jetpack’s top designers $2 million. The participants have two years to design the best equipment to turn a human being into a rocketeer ! Lire la suite

13 Dec 2017

The DHL & Dell Robotics Innovation Challenge 2017 won by Vecna Robotics

The American Vecna Robotics has just won the robotics challenge organized by DHL and Dell. His robot, the Tote Retrieval System (TRS) wins the $15,000 prize for a challenge at the DHL Innovation Center in Troisdorf, Germany, where the robot was to perform the “picking” of boxes of varying sizes and weights in a rack. The robot triumphed in the events and its designer hopes to market it as soon as 2018. Lire la suite

12 Dec 2017

Christmas of the future, as seen by Amazon

width=

Amazon UK has just published an astonishing study written by two futurists on their vision of what Christmas will be like in the future, and in particular what we will find on the Christmas table. Hydroponic culture, 3D-printed dishes will coexist with turkey and other traditional dishes. In the same way, technology is going to give Christmas decorations a whole new lease of life. Lire la suite

10 Dec 2017

AI soon to be better speed drone pilot than the human?

After chess, the Jeopardy, the Go game, researchers are now interested in a new sport, the FPV Racing, i. e. the drones race. Researchers at the JPL (Jet Propulsion Laboratory) in Pasadena, a NASA laboratory, have unveiled the results of more than two years of research and the result is stunning. Confronted with an experienced pilot, the IA doesn’t have the weight, but it does perform well on a rather complex course, and she rides this competition drone probably more quickly than many of us. Lire la suite

15 déc. 2017

Aerion vs Boom Supersonic : La course au supersonique s’accélère

Aerion Corporation vient d’annoncer avoir signé un partenariat avec Lockheed Martin afin de développer son avion d’affaire supersonique AS2.

Le géant américain de la défense prend le relais d’Airbus au chevet de la startup afin de l’aider à mettre au point un supersonique qui viendra concurrencer les jets d’affaire grâce à sa vitesse supersonique et un rayon d’action qui lui permettra de faire un Los-Angeles / Paris d’une traite. Lire la suite

14 déc. 2017

Boeing promet 2 millions de dollars au concepteur du meilleur Jetpack

Le défi est lancé ! Les ingénieurs de haut vol, les inventeurs fous et les casse-cou sont sur la ligne de départ afin de décrocher le GoFly Prize.

Ce challenge, essentiellement financé par Boeing, verra 2 millions de dollars de primes distribuées aux meilleurs concepteurs de Jetpack avec un concours basé sur des critères techniques et, bien évidemment, des évaluations en vol. Les participants ont deux ans pour concevoir le meilleur équipement pour transformer un être humain en rocketeer ! Lire la suite

13 déc. 2017

Le DHL & Dell Robotics Innovation Challenge 2017 remporté par Vecna Robotics

C’est l’américain Vecna Robotics qui vient de remporter le challenge robotique organisé par DHL et Dell.
Avec son système robotique, le Tote Retrieval System (TRS), il décroche les 15.000 $ du premier prix d’un challenge qui s’est déroulé au sein du DHL Innovation Center, à Troisdorf, en Allemagne et lors duquel le robot devait effectuer le « picking » de cartons de tailles et de poids variables dans un rack. Le robot a triomphé lors des épreuves et son concepteur espère le commercialiser dès 2018. Lire la suite

12 déc. 2017

Le Noël du futur, vu par Amazon

Amazon UK vient de publier une étonnante étude rédigée par deux futuristes sur leur vision de ce que seront les fêtes de Noël à l’avenir et notamment ce que nous trouverons sur la table du réveillon. Culture hydroponique, plats imprimés en 3D cohabiteront avec la dinde et autres plats traditionnels. De la même manière, la technologie va donner un sacré coup de jeune aux décorations de Noël. Lire la suite

10 déc. 2017

L’IA bientôt meilleure pilote de drone que l’humain ?

Après les échecs, le Jeopardy, le jeu de Go, les chercheurs s’intéressent désormais à un nouveau sport, le FPV Racing, c’est à dire la course de drones. Les chercheurs en IA du JPL (Jet Propulsion Laboratory ) de Pasadena, un laboratoire de la NASA, ont dévoilé  les résultats de plus de deux années de recherches et et le résultat est bluffant. Confronté à un pilote chevronné, l’IA ne fait pas le poids, mais elle se montre plutôt performante sur un parcours plutôt complexe et celle-ci pilote ce drone de compétition sans doute plus rapidement que bien d’entres-nous. Lire la suite