Security patch for 2.2 million vehicles of the BMW Group

Rools-RoyceThe very powerful ADAC, the German automobile association researchers, have discovered one unfortunate security flaw in the embedded system BMW ConnectedDrive. This fault concerns all produced vehicles the Group equipped with embedded between March 2010 and December 2014.
Theoretically, it was enough a few minutes to open a BMW, a Mini or… a Rolls-Royce with a mobile phone. BMW ensures that the patch was launched via OTA discreetly and that the vehicles concerned, or 2.2 million vehicles, are now prevent access by car thieves. No callback in concession will only be realized by the manufacturer.

A patch launched prior to the public announcement of the security flaw

Sicherheitslücken01_600x400_225770

The ADAC researchers were the first to reveal a major vulnerability on the BMW on board computer.

The vulnerability publicly revealed by BMW and the ADAC involved 423,000 cars in Germany, 1.2 million in Europe and 2.2 million worldwide. A rather annoying flaw in the constructor that holds including the Rolls-Royce brand. Among the afflicted models of this flaw, the BMW Series 1 to 7, all Mini 3 and 5 doors and Rolls-Royce Phantom, spirit and Wrait.Si at BMW is assured that no function related to the safety of the vehicles was potentially exposed to hackers, the ConnectedDrive gave them access to all functions related to the onboard computer, including unlocking of the doors. To take advantage of this flaw, an attacker would set up a fake GSM network to intercept communications of the on-board system and carry out an attack “man in the middle”. A fault now filled by a security patch that finally implements HTTPS to secure the servers BMW ConnectedDrive system exchanges.
The ADAC has informed German manufacturer and Aussagen das Kraftfahrtbundesamt (KBA), the transport authority) before informing the public, leaving time for BMW to launch its patch. Have the constructor communicated on this security flaw if ADAC had not disclosed the matter to the big day?
 
Translation : Bing Translator
 

Sources :
“BMW fixes security flaw in its in-car software”, Reuters, January 30 2015
“Vom ADAC aufgedeckt – weltweit 2,2 Millionen Fahrzeuge betroffen”, ADAC

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Logiciel embarqué, M2M and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Patch de sécurité pour 2,2 millions de véhicules du groupe BMW

Rools-RoyceLes chercheurs de la très puissante ADAC, l’association allemande des automobilistes, ont découvert une malencontreuse faille de sécurité dans le système embarqué BMW ConnectedDrive. Cette faille concerne tous les véhicules produit le groupe équipés du système embarqué entre mars 2010 et décembre 2014.
Théoriquement, il suffisait de quelques minutes pour ouvrir une BMW, une Mini ou… une Rolls-Royce avec un téléphone portable. BMW assure que le patch a été lancé via OTA en toute discrétion et que les véhicules concernés, soit 2,2 millions de véhicules, sont désormais hors d’accès des voleurs de voiture. Aucun rappel en concession ne sera réalisé par le constructeur.

Un patch lancé avant l’annonce publique de la faille de sécurité

Sicherheitslücken01_600x400_225770

Les chercheurs de l’ADAC ont été les premiers à révélé une faille de sécurité majeure sur l’ordinateur de bord BMW.

La faille de sécurité révélé publiquement par BMW et l’ADAC concernait 423 000 voitures en Allemagne, 1,2 million en Europe et 2,2 millions dans le monde. Une faille plutôt gênante pour le constructeur qui détient notamment la marque Rolls-Royce. Parmi les modèles affligés de cette faille, les BMW Series 1 à 7, toutes les Mini 3 et 5 portes et encore les Rolls-Royce Phantom, Esprit et Wrait.Si, chez BMW, on assure qu’aucune fonction liée à la sécurité des véhicules n’était potentiellement exposé aux pirates, le ConnectedDrive leur donnait accès à toutes les fonctions liées à l’ordinateur de bord, y compris le déverrouillage des portes. Pour tirer profit de cette faille, un pirate devait mettre en place un faux réseau GSM pour intercepter les communications du système embarqué et réaliser une attaque de type « man in the middle ». Une faille désormais comblée par un patch de sécurité qui implémente enfin HTTPS pour sécuriser les échanges du système ConnectedDrive avec les serveurs BMW.

L’ADAC a informé le constructeur et le Aussagen das Kraftfahrtbundesamt (KBA), l’autorité des transports allemandes) avant d’en informer le public, laissant le temps à BMW de lancer son patch. Le constructeur aurait-il communiqué sur cette faille de sécurité si l’ADAC n’avait pas révélé l’affaire au grand jour ?

 

Sources :
« BMW fixes security flaw in its in-car software », Reuters, 30 janvier 2015
« Vom ADAC aufgedeckt – weltweit 2,2 Millionen Fahrzeuge betroffen », ADAC

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Logiciel embarqué, M2M, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.