Should we be afraid of artificial intelligence? Stanford launches a comprehensive study

IAIn recent weeks, some alarmist statements were relayed by the media about the potential dangers of artificial intelligence. Statements has taken seriously since they emanate not unbridled imagination SF novelists or a few charlatans in evil in the media. Elon Musk and Stephen Hawking evoke nothing less than the end of the human species. Others, like Eric Horvitz believe that its impact will be positive and a source of progress for humanity. Stanford researchers will try to arbitrate between these two visions.

Military robotics is that the emerged part of the problem

Never a scenario to the Terminator, with an artificial intelligence, the Skynet, which turns against his creator to destroy it with an army of robots, has never been also frequently mentioned in the press. That’s also brilliant minds that Stephen Hawking or Elon Musk (per elsewhere investor in Vicarious, one of the startups in advanced in the development of artificial intelligence!) evoke in turn such a scenario of Revelation gives actually think. It is true, military artificial intelligence is a real ethical problem. Drones strike daily in the Middle East, in Afghanistan. Of the terrestrial armed robots begin to arrive in arsenals, but for the time being it is the man who still press the button at the time of shoot. Discussions at the United Nations focuses on a possible ban of autonomous military robots in their decisions.

Eric Horvitz at TEDx Austin 2014.

Eric Horvitz at TEDx Austin 2014.

If the risk that such robots are someday released one day or another on battlefields is real, the risks posed by the rise of artificial intelligence and software in our daily lives more broadly raises more question. The study by the AAAI (Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence), directed by Eric Horvitz, Co-Director of Microsoft Research sought a evolve the dangers of artificial intelligence in the long term. In addition to these military applications, their study points a number of potentially dangerous applications: domestic robots, autonomous cars, are the most obvious, but an intelligence artificial ‘malicious’ could well empty your Bank via Tools e-commerce account, or even intelligent agents who will be posing as humans for purposes of extortion. Finally, researchers suggest the risk of addiction people with virtual being. A phenomenon already portrayed by Spike Jonze in his film “Her” in 2013 and as it starts to be the case in Japan where the idea of a marriage between a human and a robot is already beginning to be mentioned.

No simple solution to the rise inevitable artificial intelligences

How to accompany the rise of artificial intelligence in our societies? The answer is far from simple. Implementation of rules inspired by the 3 rules of Asimov in the robots and software agents will only solve part of the problem because criminals and dictators to keep well to implement this type of electronic ‘scruples’ in their achievements. This first study was conducted from 2008 to 2009 and strength and to see that nothing has yet really changed on this plan both on the side of researchers, industrialists or regulation. Eric Horvitz has just relacer an initiative, the ‘ One Hundred Year Study on Artificial Intelligence . (AI100) “with Stanford University. An extensive program of study that will seek to assess how artificial intelligence will evolve in the long term, what will be its impact on democracy and our freedom, but also on the economy, the military balance, the crime.
The reflection is launched, it will probably never end.

 
Translation : Bing Translator
 

Sources :

“One-Hundred Year Study of Artificial Intelligence: Reflections and Framing”, Eric Horvitz, 2014

“Study to Examine Effects of Artificial Intelligence”, The New York Times, December 15, 2014

“Stephen Hawking warns artificial intelligence could end mankind”, BBC, December 2, 2014

“5 Very Smart People Who Think Artificial Intelligence Could Bring the Apocalypse”, Time, December 2, 2014

“Why Elon Musk is scared of artificial intelligence — and Terminators”, Washington Post, Novembre 18, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement, Robotique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Faut-il avoir peur de l’intelligence artificielle ? Stanford lance une étude

IACes dernières semaines, quelques déclarations alarmistes ont été relayées par les médias quant aux dangers potentiels de l’intelligence artificielle. Des déclarations a prendre au sérieux puisqu’elles n’émanent pas de romanciers de SF à l’imagination débridée ou de quelques charlatans en mal de médiatisation. Elon Musk et Stephen Hawking évoquent rien moins que la fin de l’espèce humaine. D’autres, comme Eric Horvitz estiment que son impact sera positif et une source de progrès pour l’humanité. Les chercheurs de Stanford vont tenter d’arbitrer entre ces deux visions.

La robotique militaire n’est que la partie émergée du problème

Jamais un scénario à la Terminator, avec une intelligence artificielle, le Skynet, qui se retourne contre son créateur pour le détruire avec une armée de robots, n’a jamais été aussi fréquemment évoqué dans la presse. Que des esprits aussi brillants que Stephen Hawking ou Elon Musk (par ailleurs investisseur dans Vicarious, une des startups en pointe en intelligence artificielle) évoquent à leur tour un tel scénario d’apocalypse donne effectivement à réfléchir. C’est vrai, l’intelligence artificielle militaire pose un réel problème éthique. Des drones frappent tous les jours au Moyen-Orient, en Afghanistan. Des terrestres robots armés commencent à arriver dans les arsenaux, mais pour l’heure c’est l’homme qui appuie encore sur le bouton au moment de tirer. Des discussions à l’ONU porte sur une éventuelle interdiction de robots militaires autonomes dans leurs décisions.

Eric Horvitz lors du TEDx Austin 2014.

Eric Horvitz lors du TEDx Austin 2014.

Si le risque que de tels robots soient un jour lâchés un jour ou l’autre sur les champs de bataille est bien réel, les risques présentés par la montée en puissance de l’intelligence artificielle et plus largement du logiciel dans notre quotidien pose bien plus de question. L’étude réalisée par l’AAAI (Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence), dirigé par Eric Horvitz, co-directeur de Microsoft Research a cherché a évoluer les dangers de l’intelligence artificielle sur le long terme. Outre ces applications militaires, leur étude pointe un certain nombre d’applications potentiellement dangereuses : robots domestiques, voitures autonomes, sont les plus évidentes, mais une intelligence artificielle « malveillante » pourrait bien vider votre compte en banque via des outils E-Commerce, ou encore des agents intelligents qui se feront passer pour des humains à des fins d’extorsion de fonds. Enfin, les chercheurs évoquent le risque d’addiction de personnes avec des être virtuels. Un phénomène déjà dépeint par Spike Jonze dans son film « Her » en 2013 et comme cela commence à être le cas au Japon où l’idée d’un mariage entre un humain et un robot commence déjà à être évoqué.

Pas de solution simple face à la montée en puissance inéluctable des intelligences artificielles

Comment accompagner la montée en puissance de l’intelligence artificielle dans nos sociétés ? La réponse est loin d’être simple. L’implantation de règles inspirées des 3 règles d’Asimov dans les robots et les agents logiciels ne résoudra qu’une part du problème puisque malfaiteurs et dictatures se garderont bien d’implémenter ce type de « scrupules » électroniques dans leurs réalisations. Cette première étude avait été menée de 2008 à 2009 et force et de constater que rien n’a encore véritablement bougé sur ce plan tant du côté des chercheurs, des industriels ou de la réglementation. Eric Horvitz vient de relacer une initiative, la « One Hundred Year Study on Artificial Intelligence (AI100) » avec l’Université de Stanford. Un vaste programme d’étude qui va chercher à évaluer comment l’intelligence artificielle va évoluer sur le long terme, quels seront ses impacts sur la démocratie et notre liberté, mais aussi sur l’économie, les équilibres militaires, le crime.
La réflexion est lancée, elle ne s’achèvera sans doute jamais.

 

Sources :

« One-Hundred Year Study of Artificial Intelligence: Reflections and Framing », Eric Horvitz, 2014

« Study to Examine Effects of Artificial Intelligence », The New York Times, 15 décembre 2014

« Stephen Hawking warns artificial intelligence could end mankind », BBC, 2 décembre 2014

« 5 Very Smart People Who Think Artificial Intelligence Could Bring the Apocalypse », Time, 2 décembre 2014

« Why Elon Musk is scared of artificial intelligence — and Terminators », Washington Post, 18 novembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.