Helicopter pilots soon “uberised” by drones?

HelifilmTo get from Nice airport to Monaco, nothing better than a helicopter ride. But if it is to rotate aerial views for an advertisement for a movie, whether it is to inspect the condition of a pipeline, a bridge, a railway track , the drone appears to be a formidable competitor to the helicopter. A study by the European Union believes that in the next 10 years, 10% of the value of the civil aviation market will be captured by drones, amounting to 15 billion euros per year that will pass driver to the robot.

Multiple aerial work tasks will be performed by drones

The operators of European helicopters are currently purchasing drones to not let some of their traditional markets escape.

The operators of European helicopters are currently purchasing drones to not let some of their traditional markets escape. (Photo: Airbus Helicopters)

He will be the UAV to the helicopter pilot that Uber is the taxi driver? They want it or not, they risk being dispossessed of many aerial work tasks that meet their logbook today. In addition to military applications, it is the governments that will show the most fond of drones. Coastguards, border guards and police missions will increasingly make use of drones. Even finding next fight against fires. The water bombers will not be replaced by drones soon, for reconnaissance flights against and watch over the forest will sooner or later. Third seekers sector, energy, either to inspect electrical distribution networks and oil infrastructure, the drone will get a place. This is already the case in agriculture via imaging of the plots, but this role will expand soon to application. 2,600 copies of RMax drone Yamaha are already actively used in this role in Japan and the Japanese hope now exported this miniature helicopter out of the archipelago. Other uses, such as telecom relay, climate monitoring and pollution levels, mapping and response to natural disasters will be more anecdotal.

European operators of helicopters in turn buy drones

HeliOptics

The drone has already established itself on the market of shooting, especially for film and advertising (Photo: HeliOptics)


If the progression of the military drone market is relatively predictable, it is far from the case of civil markets where regulatory developments will play a key role in the extent of its economic takeoff. For operators of civil helicopters, what to do? Burning drones which accompany this change? Questioned by AINonline Laurent Caillard, chief pilot and director of operations of Air Marine recommends that helicopter operators to purchase drones or rather RPAS (Remotely piloted aircraft systems as they are known among professionals), just as it did so to offer a wider range of services. The drones, complement the helicopter for some tasks, it seems pretty obvious although the drones will not replace helicopters to a number of tasks where accuracy is essential, including mountain flying, long-distance flights and transport of goods where the limit of 150 kg deprives flying robots of many application. Last, highlighted by Laurent Caillard, the low reliability of the drone that, with an average of an accident every twenty flight hours is limited to short flights.

Translation : Bing Translate

Sources :

“European Helo Operators Mull Using Drones”, AINonline, August 17, 2015

“Remotely Piloted Aviation Systems (RPAS) – Frequently Asked Questions”, Communiqué de presse de l’Union Européenne, April 8, 2014

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Les pilotes d’hélicoptères bientôt « uberisés » par les drones ?

HelifilmPour aller de l’aéroport de Nice à Monaco, rien de mieux qu’un petit tour d’hélicoptère. Mais s’il s’agit de tourner des vues aériennes pour une publicité, pour un film, s’il s’agit d’inspecter l’état d’un pipeline, d’un pont, d’une voie de chemin de fer, le drone apparaît comme un redoutable concurrent à l’hélicoptère. Une étude de l’Union Européenne estime que lors des 10 prochaines années, 10% de la valeur du marché de l’aviation civile va être captée par les drones, soit un montant de 15 milliards d’euros par an qui va passer du pilote vers le robot.

De multiples tâches de travail aérien vont être accomplies par des drones

Les opérateurs d'hélicoptères européens sont en train d'acheter des drones pour ne pas laisser certains de leurs marchés traditionnels s'échapper.

Les opérateurs d’hélicoptères européens sont en train d’acheter des drones pour ne pas laisser certains de leurs marchés traditionnels s’échapper. (Photo: Airbus Helicopters)

Le drone va-t-il être pour le pilote d’hélicoptère ce que Uber est au chauffeur de taxi ? Qu’ils le veulent ou non, ils risquent de se voir dépossédés de beaucoup de tâches de travail aérien qui remplissent aujourd’hui leur carnet de vol. Outre les applications militaires, ce sont les gouvernements qui vont se montrer les plus friands de drones. Garde-côtes, protections des frontières et missions de police vont de plus en plus faire appel à des drones. Même constat côté lutte contre les incendies. Les bombardiers d’eau ne seront pas remplacés par des drones de sitôt, par  contre les vols de reconnaissance et de surveillance au-dessus des forêts le seront tôt ou tard. Troisième secteur le plus demandeurs, l’énergie, que ce soit pour inspecter les réseaux de distribution électrique et les infrastructures pétrolières, le drone va se faire une place. C’est déjà le cas dans l’agriculture via l’imagerie des parcelles, mais ce rôle va s’étendre prochainement à l’épandage. 2.600 exemplaires du drone RMax de Yamaha sont déjà utilisés activement dans ce rôle au Japon et le japonais espère désormais exporté cet hélicoptère miniature hors de l’archipel. Les autres usages, comme les relais télécoms, la surveillance du climat et des niveaux de pollution, la cartographie et l’intervention lors de catastrophes naturelles seront plus anecdotiques.

Les opérateurs d’hélicoptères européens achètent à leur tour des drones

HeliOptics

Le drone a déjà su s’imposer sur le marché de la prise de vue, notamment pour le cinéma et la pub (Photo: HeliOptics)

Si la progression du marché des drones militaires est relativement prévisible, c’est loin d’être le cas des marchés civils où l’évolution des réglementations va jouer un rôle clé dans l’ampleur de son décollage économique. Pour les opérateurs d’hélicoptères civils, que faire ? Brûler des drones où accompagner ce changement ? Interrogé par AINonline, Laurent Caillard, chef pilote et directeur des opérations d’Air Marine recommande aux opérateurs d’hélicoptères d’acheter des drones ou plutôt des RPAS (Remotely piloted aircraft systems comme on les appelle chez les professionnels), tout comme il l’a fait afin d’offrir un panel de services plus large. Le drones, complément de l’hélicoptère pour certaines tâches, ça paraît assez évident même si les drones ne remplaceront pas les hélicoptères pour un bon nombre de tâches où la précision est essentielle, notamment le vol en montagne, les vols à longue distance et le transport de marchandises où la limite de 150 kg prive les robots volants de bon nombre d’application. Enfin, dernier point souligné par Laurent Caillard, la faible fiabilité du drone qui, avec une moyenne d’un accident toutes les vingts heures de vol reste limité aux vols de courte durée.

Sources :

« European Helo Operators Mull Using Drones », AINonline, 17 août 2015

« Remotely Piloted Aviation Systems (RPAS) – Frequently Asked Questions », Communiqué de presse de l’Union Européenne, 8 avril 2014

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.