A PlayStation 1 processor reached Pluto

New-HorizonsMongoose-V is the name of the processor in New Horizons, the NASA probe that has just reached Pluto. This name will probably tell you anything, it is the spatial version of the R3000, the processor that powered the PlayStation 1, the model sold in 1994/1995.

Launched in January 2006, the probe has just flown back Pluto and unpublished photos of her who was the ninth planet of the solar system. His somewhat hardened PlayStation processor only operates 12 MHz. Any smartphone is better, but it is always brave and he just browse nearly 6.4 million kilometers. Not bad for this ancient computer!

R3000, an outdated RISC processor on earth, but to the point of the Pluto technology

Synova Mongoose 5

The American Synova has achieved a hardened version for space MIPS R3000 processor, a version called Mongoose-V.

Images sent from the vicinity of Pluto by the New Horizons probe make each media. So it took nine years for this NASA probe arrives at his goal, a dwarf planet that was downgraded from its status as the ninth planet in the solar system in 2006. This record flight is also an opportunity to measure progress in terms of microprocessors. his Mongoose-V is a hardened version for the space of the RISC processor that powered the PlayStation 1, but the model of this processor, the MIPS R3000, R2000 successor of the first RISC processor, made the beautiful hours workstations Dec and Silicon Graphics, machines which we owe the films CGI such as the Abyss, Terminator 2 and Jurassic Park.
With its version clocked at 12 MHz only, against 33.8 MHz for the PlayStation, this 32-bit processor has equipped various satellites and probes NASA Earth Observing 1 which (EO-1) launched in November 2000 or the twin STEREO satellites to viewing the sun, launched in 2006.
Translation : Google Translate

Source :

“NASA Missions Have Their Eyes Peeled on Pluto”, Nasa, July 9, 2015

“Did you know there are nine secret items hidden on Pluto craft New Horizons?”, Phys.org, January 12, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Un processeur de PlayStation 1 a atteint Pluton

New-HorizonsMongoose-V, c’est le nom du processeur qui équipe New Horizons, la sonde de la NASA qui vient d’atteindre Pluton. Ce nom ne vous dira sans doute rien, c’est la version spatiale du R3000, le processeur qui équipait la PlayStation 1, le modèle commercialisé en 1994/1995.

Lancé en janvier 2006, la sonde vient de survoler Pluton et ramener des photos inédites de celle qui fut  la neuvième planète du Système solaire. Son processeur de PlayStation quelque peu durcis ne fonctionne qu’à 12 MHz. N’importe quel  smartphone fait mieux, mais celui-ci est toujours vaillant et il vient de parcourir près de 6,4 millions de kilomètres. Pas si mal pour cette antiquité informatique !

R3000, un processeur RISC démodé sur terre, mais à la pointe de la technologie plutonienne

Synova Mongoose 5

L’américain Synova a réalisée une version durcie pour l’espace du processeur MIPS R3000, une version baptisée Mongoose-V.

Les images envoyées depuis le voisinage de Pluton par la sonde New Horizons font la unes des médias. Il a donc fallu 9 ans pour que cette sonde de la Nasa arrive à son but, une planète naine qui a été déclassée de son statut de neuvième planète du système solaire en 2006. Ce vol record est aussi l’occasion de mesurer les progrès accomplis en termes de microprocesseurs. Son Mongoose-V est une version durcie pour l’espace du processeur RISC qui équipait la PlayStation 1, mais le modèle de ce processeur, le MIPS R3000, successeur du R2000, premier processeur RISC, a fait les belles heures des stations de travail Dec et Silicon Graphics, des machines auxquelles on doit les images de synthèse de films tels que The Abyss, Jurassic Park et Terminator 2.

Avec sa version cadencée à 12 MHz seulement, contre 33.8 MHz pour la PlayStation, ce processeur 32 bits a équipé divers satellites et sondes de la NASA, dont Earth Observer 1 (EO-1) lancé en novembre 2000 ou les deux satellites jumeaux STEREO d’observation du  soleil, lancés en 2006.

Source :

« NASA Missions Have Their Eyes Peeled on Pluto », Nasa, 9 juillet 2015

« Did you know there are nine secret items hidden on Pluto craft New Horizons? », Phys.org, 12 janvier 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.