Cape Town police enlists surveillance drones

Drone OblivionOblivion in Elyseum through Clones, or the Almost Humans series, we see more and more police or para-military robots to pursue suspects in the streets… when the police are not themselves robots.
Science fiction in Hollywood but soon a reality for the inhabitants of the Cape, in South Africa. There will be no police robots in the immediate future, however of surveillance drones will traverse the city to hunt down the suspects. Local police conducted the first tests and comes to order from the New Zealand Dronetec to provide its first police drones.

Octopteres in the forces of order and soon of the fixed wing drones

The drone Dronetec W.A.S.P. Mk4 chosen by the Cape Town police has nothing design of Oblivion, nor their power drones. This octoptere will not be armed, however it will be covered multiple sensors, including an infrared camera that will allow him to follow the flight of suspects in middle of the night.

Thermal imaging embedded in the drone W.A.S.P. chosen by the Cape Town police.

Thermal imaging embedded in the drone W.A.S.P. chosen by the Cape Town police.

The role of the WASP will be to accompany intervention forces and monitor the scene from above to possibly begin pursuit of runaways possible. If the W.A.S.P. is octoptere, its 8 motors are mounted on 4 masts. The performance announced by the New Zealand manufacturer is impressive. The drone can take air about thirty minutes and displays a top speed of 100 km/h with its load.
Besides his camera video, an infrared camera and a projector LED, JP Smith, the head of security for mayor of Cape Town evokes the possibility of equipping the drone of a type system Shotspotter to detect gunshots, as well as a plate reader license. Finally, the police could also equip drones with fixed wings for autonomy on larger area. As for the aerial shot, the drone gradually replaces the helicopter in less demanding conditions.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Crime-fighting drones for the City of Cape Town”, MyBroadband, May 11, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

La police du Cap se dote de drones de surveillance

Drone OblivionD’Oblivion à Elyseum en passant par Clones, ou la série Almost Humans, on voit de plus en plus de robots policiers ou para-militaires poursuivre les suspects dans les rues … quand les policiers ne sont pas eux mêmes des robots.

De la science-fiction à Hollywood mais bientôt une réalité pour les habitants du Cap, en Afrique du Sud. Il n’y aura pas de robots policiers dans l’immédiat, par contre des drones de surveillance vont parcourir la ville afin de traquer les suspects. La police locale a mené les premiers tests et elle vient de passer commande auprès du néo-zélandais Dronetec pour lui fournir ses premiers drones de police.

Des octoptères dans les forces de l’ordre et bientôt des drones à ailes fixes

Le drone Dronetec W.A.S.P. Mk4 choisi par la police du Cap n’a rien du design des drones d’Oblivion, ni de leur puissance. Cet octoptère ne sera pas armé, par contre il sera bardé de multiples capteurs, dont une caméra infrarouge qui va lui permettre de suivre la fuite de suspects en pleine nuit.

L'imagerie thermique embarquée dans le drone W.A.S.P. choisi par la police du Cap.

L’imagerie thermique embarquée dans le drone W.A.S.P. choisi par la police du Cap.

Le rôle du WASP sera d’accompagner les forces d’intervention et surveiller la scène d’au-dessus pour éventuellement se lancer à la poursuite d’éventuels fuyards.  Si le W.A.S.P. est octoptère, ses 8 moteurs ne sont montées que sur 4 mats. Les performances annoncées par le constructeur néo-zélandais sont impressionnantes. Le drone peut tenir l’air une trentaine de minutes et affiche une vitesse de pointe de 100 km/h avec sa charge.

Outre sa camera vidéo, une caméra infrarouge et un projecteur LED, JP Smith, le responsable de la sécurité à la mairie du Cap évoque la possibilité d’équiper le drone d’un système de type Shotspotter pour détecter les coups de feu, ainsi qu’un lecteur de plaque minéralogiques. Enfin, la police pourrait s’équiper aussi de drones à ailes fixes pour bénéficier d’une autonomie sur zone plus grande. Tout comme pour la prise de vue aérienne, le drone remplace petit à petit l’hélicoptère dans les conditions les moins exigeantes.

Source : « Crime-fighting drones for the City of Cape Town », MyBroadband, 11 mai 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.