First ‘Detect and Avoid’ flights for the Camcopter S-100 drone

this is a key point of the integration of UAVs in the air space. Currently, in France the drones have not the right to fly above an altitude of 150 metres. The idea is to keep separate the air traffic of these turbulent drones. A reason has it, there’s no driver on Board that can identify another during the approach and avoid it, as should do any good pilot patented. A ‘Detect and Avoid’ function is nevertheless being tested in the Netherlands by constructor drones Schiebel.

The drone mark the arrival of the device in the vicinity and offers an its operator-avoidance manoeuvre

AIRICA project (for ATM Innovative PHSP Integration for Coast Guard Applications is part of the single European Sky initiative.) He studied the way in which we will be able to do the aircraft flown with drones. On 9 February Schiebel has unveiled the first images of the experimentation carried out on the Den Helder airport, an air base of the “Royal Netherlands Air Force”. the experiment was conducted in December 2015.

Schiebel Camcopter S-100 fitted with his bulky transponder under the fuselage, during the month of December 2015.

Schiebel Camcopter S-100 fitted with his bulky transponder under the fuselage, during the month of December 2015.

Schiebel engineers flew their drone Camcopter S-100 above the tracks and then to launched a Dutch Dornier Do-228 of the coast guard type aircraft near the drone and an Alouette III helicopter to ‘play’ several scenarios. The drone was equipped with an equipment type AirScout developed by NLR (laboratory of aerospace research) Dutch. To achieve identify aircraft flying in the vicinity but also be spotted by the air control and other aircraft, the Camcopter was equipped with a transponder of ADS-B type and could interrogate the transponders of other aircraft in order to know their location, their trajectory and speed. If the trajectory is considered threatening, the drone offers its operator to perform an evasive manoeuvre. These tests were considered successful by the participants. They open the way for ending the segregation between drones and traditional aviation.

Source : “S-100 flies with detect and avoid system”, ShephardMedia, February 9, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Premiers vols « Detect and Avoid » du drone Camcopter S-100

C’est un point clé de l’intégration des drones dans l’espace aérien. Actuellement, en France les drones n’ont pas le droit de voler au-dessus de 150 mètres d’altitude. L’idée étant de bien séparer le trafic aérien piloté de ces turbulents drones. Une raison a cela, il n’y a pas de pilote à bord qui puisse repérer un autre appareil en approche et l’éviter, comme doit faire tout bon pilote breveté. Une fonction « Detect and Avoid » est néanmoins en cours de test aux Pays-Bas par le constructeur de drones Schiebel.

Le drone repère l’arrivée d’un appareil et propose une manœuvre d’évitement à son opérateur

Le projet AIRICA (pour ATM Innovative RPAS Integration for Coast Guard Applications fait partie de l’initiative du ciel unique européen. Il étudie la façon dont on va pouvoir faire cohabiter les avions pilotés avec les drones. Le 9 février dernier Schiebel a dévoilé les premières images de l’expérimentation menée sur l’aéroport de Den Helder, une base aérienne de la « Royal Netherlands Air Force ». l’expérimentation a été réalisée en décembre 2015.

Le Schiebel Camcopter S-100 équipé de son encombrant transpondeur sous le fuselage, pendant les essais du mois de décembre 2015.

Le Schiebel Camcopter S-100 équipé de son encombrant transpondeur sous le fuselage, lors des essais du mois de décembre 2015.

Les ingénieurs de Schiebel ont fait voler leur drone Camcopter S-100 au-dessus des pistes puis à lancé un avion de type Dornier Do-228 des gardes côtes néerlandais à proximité du drone, puis un hélicoptère Alouette III afin de « jouer » plusieurs scénarios. Le drone était équipé d’un équipement de type AirScout développé par le NLR (Laboratoire de recherche aérospatiale néerlandais). Pour parvenir à repérer les aéronefs volant aux alentours mais aussi être repéré par le contrôle aériens et les autres avions, le Camcopter était équipé d’un transpondeur de type ADS-B et pouvait interroger les transpondeurs des autres appareils afin de connaitre leur position, leur trajectoire et leur vitesse. Si la trajectoire est jugée menaçante, le drone propose à son opérateur de réaliser une manœuvre évasive. Ces essais ont été jugés fructueux par les participants. Ils ouvrent la voie à une reglementation future levant la ségrégation entre drones et aviation traditionnelle.

Source : « S-100 flies with detect and avoid system », ShephardMedia, 9 février 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.