Ready to take a driverless taxi?

Total Recall - JohnnyCabAfter the shock of the über rise, taxi drivers will soon have a new enemy: the robot. That thought still in the domain of science fiction is happening much faster than believed. The first Taxi robots are about to be tested in a small town in the Japan, the objective being ready for the Tokyo Olympic Games in 2020.

Robots taxi tests will start in Japan in 2016

robottaxiThe “Total Recall” of Paul Verhoeven film released in 1990 with Arnold Schwarzenegger is certainly not remained as a masterpiece of SF cinema, but it has some small technological gems. Among these, the Johnnycab, this robot taxi borrowed by the hero. The film is set in 2084, but robots taxi should appear in our daily lives much more quickly that science fiction authors had hoped. Japanese Robot Taxi, Inc. will start their robot Taxi tests in Kanagawa province South of Tokyo. As a first step, these taxis will carry 50 people from their homes to the city and for their return. A driver will be held at the wheel to ensure that the autonomous car parte not in the ditch. As a second step, the service will be expanded and available via an application type smartphone UberPop.
You call the Taxi through the application, a Cloud service will schedule the race. In the third phase of the project, it will be possible to hail taxis on the street. Then, once the games of 2020 past, the service will be generalized in several cities in the Japan.

The Japanese test, but Uber, again, is also actively working on this concept of robotic taxis. American has hired away one of the brains of the prestigious Carnegie Mellon University Robotics Laboratory to place at the head of its research project on autonomous cars. Travis Kalanick, CEO of über cache more willingness to replace the drivers of their cars, not insignificant cost item in the Business Model of über by robots. The State of Arizona is willing to open its roads to the autonomous ubercars. That’s Uber, Robot Taxi Inc. or even Zoox, California with his L4 project will be the first to launch a stand-alone taxi service? The technology race is well underway.

 

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Uber Could Be First to Test Completely Driverless Cars in Public”, IEEE Spectrum, September 14, 2015

“ロボットタクシーの車両を初公開しました”, Robot Taxi press release, August 26, 2015

“Meet Zoox, the Robo-Taxi Start-up Taking on Google and Uber”, IEEE Spectrum, May 20, 2015

“Uber gutted Carnegie Mellon’s top robotics lab to build self-driving cars”, TheVerge, May 19, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Prêts à prendre un taxi sans chauffeur ?

Total Recall - JohnnyCabAprès l’électrochoc des VTC Uber, les chauffeurs de taxi vont bientôt avoir un nouvel ennemi : le robot. Ce que l’on pensait encore du domaine de la science fiction est en train d’arriver beaucoup plus vite qu’on ne le pensait. Les premiers robots Taxi sont sur le point d’être testés dans une petite ville du Japon, l’objectif étant d’être prêts pour les jeux Olympique de Tokyo en 2020.

Les tests des robots taxi vont démarrer au Japon en 2016

robottaxiLe film « Total Recall » de Paul Verhoeven sorti en 1990 avec Arnold Schwarzenegger n’est certes pas resté comme un chef d’oeuvre du cinéma de SF, mais il recèle quelques petites perles technologiques. Parmi celles-ci, le Johnnycab, ce taxi robot emprunté par le héro. Le film se déroule en 2084 mais les robots taxi devraient apparaître dans notre quotidien bien plus rapidement que les auteurs de science fiction ne l’espérait. Les japonais de Robot Taxi, Inc vont ainsi démarrer les tests de leur robot Taxi dans la province de Kanagawa au sud de Tokyo. Dans un premier temps, ces taxis vont transporter 50 habitants de leurs domiciles jusqu’à la ville et pour leur retour. Un chauffeur se tiendra au volant pour veiller à ce que la voiture autonome ne parte pas dans le fossé. Dans un deuxième temps, le service sera élargi et disponible via une application smartphone de type UberPop.
Vous appelez le Taxi via l’application, un service Cloud va programmer la course. En troisième phase du projet, il sera possible de héler le taxi dans la rue. Ensuite, une fois les JO de 2020 passé, le service sera généralisé dans plusieurs villes au Japon.

Les japonais testent, mais Uber, encore lui, travaille aussi activement sur ce concept de taxis robotisés. L’américain a débauché l’une des têtes pensantes du laboratoire de robotique de la prestigieuse université Carnegie Mellon afin de le placer à la tête de son projet de recherche sur les voitures autonomes. Travis Kalanick, PDG d’Uber ne cache plus sa volonté de remplacer les chauffeurs de ses voitures, poste de coût non négligeable dans le Business Model d’Uber, par des robots. L’état de l’Arizona est disposé à ouvrir ses routes aux ubercars autonomes. Qui de Uber, Robot Taxi Inc. ou encore de Zoox, le californien avec son projet L4 sera le premier à lancer un service de taxis autonomes ? La course technologique est bien lancée.
 

Sources :

« Uber Could Be First to Test Completely Driverless Cars in Public », IEEE Spectrum, 14 septembre 2015

« ロボットタクシーの車両を初公開しました », Communiqué Robot Taxi, 26 aout 2015

« Meet Zoox, the Robo-Taxi Start-up Taking on Google and Uber », IEEE Spectrum, 20 mai 2015

« Uber gutted Carnegie Mellon’s top robotics lab to build self-driving cars », TheVerge, 19 mai 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.